We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Santa Croce
Ranked #112 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon and pretty much everything was perfect. The service we got from the receptionist/concierge was the best I've ever had in any hotel! The rooms were spacious and had a small walk in closet with room for our suitcase. The housekeeping service was just perfect. We would leave the hotel at 8 pm for dinner and come back and find our room tidied and towels changed. The only thing I would have preferred to have was more light in the bedrooms. Rooms were very dim which might be a positive thing for other people, but I prefer more brightness. The shower was also very complicated with water coming from all directions, but definitely not a big issue!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenio R, General Manager at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you again for having chosen Relais Santa Croce as part of your italian Honeymoon,
we are glad that you have enjoyed your visit and let us thank you for the positive comment about our Team and Location.
we have really appreciated your feedback and suggestion, that surely will help us to improve our level of service.
looking forward to welcoming you back soon, please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance you might need.
best regards.
E. Rigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    68
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
55
211
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

On arrival, we were walked to our room by a very professional lady at the reception.
We had a suite, that was more of an appartment, spacious, bright, comfortable, with beautiful furniture. And the bathroom, luxurious in every aspect.
The warm welcome, the knowledge of the receptionist and concierge, the breakfast layout and quality, the lounges, the decoration, the subtle Tuscan colours, the carved ceilings, the location: I just fell in love with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nour E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenio R, General Manager at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Lady,

first of all let me say thank you for your comments, I think you make a really Picture of our Property, I remain and hope to welcoming you in next future at Relais Santa Croce again.
best regards.
E Rigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Hotel is situated a block from Santa Croce Church were Micheangelo is buried and just a short walk to the center of town. Upon entering you are greeted by the doorman and taken to the reception that is on the second floor. The staff is pleasant and well informed. The hotel was a residence and still feels and looks like one. It is dominated by a beautiful courtyard filled with light and greenery. There and antiques and sculptures enough without overcrowding. The rooms are ample with luxurious bedding & sheets. The bathroom is well appointed and has sufficient closet/storage space.We did not dine in (there are so many nice restaurants nearby) but we did have drinks in the lovely bar which felt as if we were in someone's magnificent home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed in this hotel recently. The hotel itself is a converted palace and it shows. Very spacious with large impressive common areas. Upon arrival we were given a tour of the hotel's common parts (including an original roof by Leonardo da Vinci!) and also a quick guide around our room and it's facilities which I have never experienced when arriving at a hotel before. The room was very spacious and clean with plenty of storage space and a very comfortable bed with choice of different sized pillows. Every day our room was cleaned twice and sheets were changed every day unless we requested them not to be. We were left a foodie treat every day in our room from chocolate dipped strawberries to cupcakes, a very nice touch. The only let downs in this hotel were the overly expensive restaurant, chargeable WiFi at 14 euros a day and no in room tea or coffee making facility. An iron in the room would have been helpful too however I understand Italian law doesn't allow, so this was acceptable. The hotel was extremely quiet with no hustle and bustle of other guests (in fact we only really ran into one other guest during our stay) which was refreshing after coming in from walking around a very busy and tiring Florence all day. All in all a very pleasant stay and would highly recommend. Florence itself is fantastic so you won't spend too much time in your hotel anyway!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinksqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Lovely hotel in a nice location, close to all major sights and attractions.

Rooms are lovely and are nice and spacious, over complicated shower but that's not a major issue. Beds are huge and comftable and decor is nice. No free wifi which is a HUGE bug bare as the rates per night are through the roof 14 euros per day for this service ( day light robbery )

Breakfast is way to much at 25 euros per person, there are bakeries galore in town so don't waste your money, dinner the same trust me you won't regret it!

Staff friendly and attentive so overall the only issue is wifi, oh rooms are not the best at keeping noise out as this is a converted house, you can hear people walking around upstairs and downstairs but don't let that put you off ( I use ear plugs anyhow lol )

Overall if you get a good package deal then go for this hotel, otherwise it's not worth the asking rate on a night per night basis!



  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ak_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenio R, General Manager at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Sir,
we are happy to have welcomed you at Relais Santa Croce and, we thank you for having chosen our Hotel.
thank you for your positive comments, however we are sorry to learn that your stay with us did not meet all your expectations.
our mission is to ensure the highest level of Costumers service and satisfaction, and for this reason we appreciate receiving feedback from all of our Guest.
we hope you will chose to stay with us again in the future.
best regards.
Eugenio Rigo General Manager Relais Santa Croce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Comfortable & quiet with a good location. The staff were helpful & pleasant . Comfortable bed with crisp cotton sheets . Annoyingly breakfast & wifi were extra which seemed excessive on a room rate of 500 euros per night .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

This was my second time staying at this hotel, and it did not disappoint. The location is perfect - away from the noise of the center, but just a 5-min walk from the center. The hotel is located in a former palace, and has beautifully retained the elegance of the past. Breakfast, if you can get it included, is a quiet start to the day, and the common areas are a wonderful place to relax. The rooms are clean, modern, and feel like home, with beautiful marble bathrooms, and an amazing steam shower. Doubles come with free robes & slippers. I'm a bit of a germaphobe, and I must say that I didn't feel uncomfortable with any part of the rooms. If you're staying in Florence, this is definitely your best bet.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jedilori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#146 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#29 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Hotel Regency
#140 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Santa Croce

Property: Relais Santa Croce
Address: Via Ghibellina 87, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Florence
#67 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#69 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#94 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Santa Croce 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect balance between the luxury of a bygone era and modern comforts In the historic centre of Florence, an eighteenth century residence hosts the exclusive, refined Relais Santa Croce, a luxury hotel in Florence. Surrounded by its sumptuous furnishings and frescoed ceilings, you will be assisted by highly professional staff of this hotel in Florence and delighted by the evocative nature of this truly extraordinary location in which luxury and refinement are the predominant features. It is the ideal destination for those seeking the intimacy of a private residence in Florence. The hotel restaurant, Guelfi e Ghibellini, offers innovative, seasonal regional menus. Furthermore, situated within the same building as the Relais Santa Croce is the Enoteca Pinchiorri, a three-star Michelin restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Santa Croce Florence
Relais Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing