We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria
Ranked #157 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2009

This hotel was a gem located in a very popular piazza. It was walking distance to every museum and church we wanted to see, which was very nice since Florence is a great walking city. The hotel itself was very quiet inside, despite it's location in the busy Piazza della Signoria. We had the Vespucci room, which was quite large and very clean. The bed was king size, but I must say, very firm (however we found every bed in Italy to be too firm for our liking). We didn't watch a lot of television, but SKY TV was included in our room, but it didn't work very well. Made-to-order breakfast was included, and it seemed specifically to cater to Americans...eggs cooked to order with bacon, toast and coffee, along with fruit and yogurt. There was also a computer terminal right outside the dining room with full internet access at no charge, which was very convenient. The reservation manager, Monica was extremely friendly and helpful, and made us feel very comfortable during our stay. She even made advance reservations for us for the Uffizi Gallery and the Accademia Museum a month before our stay. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if we were to return to Florence. It was our favorite of the traditional hotel rooms we stayed at during our two week vacation in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulisaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 234 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

We recently returned form a whirl wind one month stay in Italy. As B&B owners ourselves we are very selective when choosing a lodging. Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria greatly impressed us, our room was beautiful, very clean, the bed comfortable, very spacious, and enormous bath. The location is probably the best available in Florence. The staff and owners were very kind, and accommodated our every whim, wine and flowers in the room, excellent dining recommendations with reservations made for us, exact directions, and all reservations prebooked for the Museums. Please splurge on this hotel, it's worth it. The value and accommodations are well matched. Breakfast was lovely and delicious! This lodging host a lovely cliental, and this also makes for a nice stay, the common areas are well appointed, with much literature available regarding Florence. With the recommendations of the staff we found to have the most elegant offerings in FLorence, for Art, Shopping and DIning it really was our favorite City! , and opportunity to escape throngs of tourists. Grazie!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Residenza d'Epoca was perfectly located in Florence. It was easy to walk anywhere in the historical part of the city.
We had an apartment on the top floor with kitchen living room combined and a seperate bedroom with a loft with a single bed.
It was everything we could wish for.
Breakfast was served in a large very classy dining room. Almost intimidating in it's elegance. Eggs juice, cereal, fruit etc.
Being on the top floor involved a lot of stairs however there was an elevator made for one that runs in the middle of the spiral stairs.
There was wi fi and a computer available for guests.
We really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travelers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

First the positives (and they are important positives): Location,is perfect; Amazing breakfast and beautiful breakfast room. Rooms were also large and clean. Negatives: Staff? 3 flights up (and then down)...and no help with luggage!? Perhaps we were spoiled at our hotel in Rome where they were warm and genuine, but, here we felt that we were a bother to the staff. A/C was weakest of all hotels/B&B's we stayed in making it very uncomfortable in summer heat. And, the bathroom looked great, but, the shower/tub were a slippery step down and not useable unless you sat on the floor and scooted to the edge...even then, it flooded the bathroom Would we stay again? Yes - but mainy for the location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feezakeeotrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

This is a steal for the price. The rooms are large, current and tasteful with antique furnishings and oriental rugs and the bathrooms are designer appointed tile and marble. The amenities are better than many 5-star hotels, the staff affable, well-informed and obliging. Free drinks anytime and 3-course breakfasts served in a lovely dining room at a huge family-style table. Any request gets immediate attention and virtually everything is done with no thought of an additional charge. It's almost like being in a friend's home and the family, Sonia, Alessandro and their childen, is there to oversee everything and insure warm hospitality.
Step outside and you're in the political heart of Florence with the Palazzo Vecchio and the Uffizzi just across the Piazza and everything within 15 minutes walk or less.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCafficianado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Our stay at IN Piazza della Signoria could not have been nicer. The staff is wonderful and the rooms lovely. We were a traveling party of 3 and they upgraded us to a suite, with kitchenette. I just wish we could have stayed longer. Perfect location at the Piazza dela Signoria, yet quiet. Breakfast was included and it is served family style. Home made breads, jams and choice of eggs, bacon etc. , fresh fruite. When we checked out they gave us a gift of the homemade jam served at breakfast.
Can't say enough wonderful things about this B & B.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We booked the Umberto Apartment for our family. It was located on the top floor of the hotel. We had a livingroom with sofa that made into double bed, bathroom, bedroom with double bed and loft with single bed. There is also a refrigerator and stove area in the livingroom. Our view over the Piazzo della Signoria was wonderful (see pics.) The bathroom was very nice with wonderful products. There is no housekeeping service unless you specify that you desire it and then it is an extra charge. The location is perfect, right by the Uffizi and walking distance to everything. The front desk is wonderful, great help with dinner recommendations, etc. It is great to be right in the Piazzo della Signoria, which is home to many famous statues and a fun night time scene. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Uffizi
Palazzo Uguccioni
Palazzo Uguccioni
#64 of 318 in Florence
102 reviews
Uffizi
La Casa del Garbo
La Casa del Garbo
#35 of 657 in Florence
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
#31 of 657 in Florence
621 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#3 of 318 in Florence
577 reviews
Uffizi
Soggiorno Antica Torre
Soggiorno Antica Torre
#202 of 657 in Florence
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria

Address: Via Dei Magazzini 2/4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $197 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza d`Epoca In Piazza Della Signoria Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing