We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria
Ranked #177 of 641 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carouge, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent but....”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Excellent location in Florence...the room was gorgeous with a partial view on the Piazza, the breakfast was perfect in a beautiful dining room, the staff was very nice and helpful.

In fact the only "but" would be 2 recommendations: as the floors are in wood, it would be advisable to leave a note in the rooms mentionning that guests should avoid walking with heels, not only it will protect the beautiful floors but it will prevent from annoing the guests who have rooms in the lower floors, another solution would be to provide slippers.
The second advise would be the following: upon departure we were kindly given a leaflet. We read this leaflet with great interest, especially the background story on how the owners created this Residenza. We would advise to put a copy of the story in each room as we were sorry not to know it during our stay, it would have given an additional charm to this lovely place...

Congratulation to the owners who have felt in love as we did with this beautiful place. We will come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoniaeAlessandro, Owner at Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Friends,

Thank you so much for your review and for your suggestions that we will try to use at our Inn.
Usually our guests can find slippers in each bathrooms ,probably the Lady above your room did not notice them.......
We know about this problem, that's way we decide to put carpets on the woodden floors and provide the guests with slippers.
For sure to avoid any inconvenience we will let our clients know about this matter.
Thank you so much for the second suggestion, we will add a brochure in each room, so our guests will know our story once they arrive at our Home. We really thank you for sharing with us the emotions that every day this Home give to us and our guests. This is a special place and we are so glad that you understood our love for it, that's why we have decided to open our Home to our friends around the world.
Thanks again,
Sonia and Alessandro Pini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    31
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
108
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

When my sister and I were planning our first trip to Florence we were immediately impressed by the friendly and accomodating responses to our many emails/questions from Monica about the Residenza d'Epoca. We wanted to make sure we picked the perfect place for our first time and could not have been happier with our choice. We spent four fantastic nights here and would recommend to anyone that wants to experience that 'home away from home' feeling, look no further! I spent two days alone before my sister arrived and Monica and Sebastian made sure I had my maps for shopping and dinner reservations that satisfied beyond belief. No question was silly. The amount of time taken to make sure we were completely satisifed and happy made us feel like we were the only guests staying here and our happiness their priority. In fact, because our ability to follow directions had much to be desired, Sebastian walked us to a restaurant so we wouldn't get lost. The beds were super comfortable, the bathrooms were modern with great water pressure, satellite TV in English so we could catch up on current events and the most incredible delicious breakfast to start our day. Monica and Sebastian were always available and so friendly. Lastly, the location is PERFECT! You can walk everywhere and if you do taxi, it is very inexpensive. Not one negative thing to say and would recommend to anyone. We can't wait to go back. Thanks for everything Monica and Sebastian! You are the role models for customer service and satisfaction! Grazie, Adele and Annemarie.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I spent two glorious nights here. We were able to walk to everything! The Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi was right outside our door as was Dante's house! The food was amazing for breakfast and plenty of it. The host was very helpful with restaurant reservations, directions etc. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matereleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family was in Florence at the end of July and we had a wonderful experience at this terrific hotel. Perfectly situated, airy and comfortable rooms, wonderful bathrooms, great breakfasts with eggs cooked to order, and most of all, a wonderful staff. Sebastien and Monica were extremely helpful, friendly, and made our stay a warm, personal experience. We look forward to returning here, and highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdanziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoniaeAlessandro, Manager at Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your warm message!It was great to welcome your family at our Home.
Looking forward to meeting you on a future occasion,
Ciao Monica and Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a true Italian experience. The location could not be any better! The best museums are right out the door. The building is beyond romantic and beautiful in every way. We stayed in the Galileo room and it was worth every penny. The bed is a work of art. The room is much larger then typical in Italy and the brick shower is so cool. You feel like you are staying in a castle. The breakfast is served upstairs in a beautiful room on a long antique table. We had fresh eggs, bacon and crepes and lots of fruit with fresh juice. Additionally, the people who run this place are very informative and nice. We will b back!

Room Tip: We love the Galileo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoniaeAlessandro, Manager at Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Ciao Michelle,
Thank you thank you tahnk you for your review! A presto
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed for two nights in the Gallileo room in early July, in the midst of a stifling heat wave in Florence. The hotel is conveniently located on a small side street just off the Piazza della Signoria, right beside the Gucci Museum, 200m from the Palazzo Vecchio, in other words, close to everything – the Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio, L’Academia, the Duomo, the banks of the Arno river, and southern shore (for access to Michaelangiolo plaza and the Boboli Garden) and incredible shopping. What’s most remarkable is that the hotel is incredibly quiet. We didn’t hear a thing – this despite massive crowds of people in the square, and concerts every night. Remarkable. The room was very spacious, with a great shower. Clean, a very comfortable bed, nice sitting area and table, and very effective and efficient AC. The entire hotel is non-smoking (very important to us). Walls are thick, so you don’t hear people in adjoining rooms. Monica and Sebastian at the front desk were very helpful with local tips, maps, and with making restaurant reservations and tour/museum bookings. There is a small common room with lots of reading material (books, magazines in all languages) and they even provide you with a local Frommer’s guidebook. There are water coolers on every floor, making it easy to refill bottles, and the thoughtful carafes provided (along with tea and coffee) in the rooms. The dining room is on the third floor with one large, common table for everyone. If there is one minor quibble, it is about breakfast. We prefer buffet style, as we prefer to serve ourselves. Here, it’s more like a B&B. Breakfast starts with sliced fruit, juice, and rolls, followed by an offer of an omelet or cereal. It’s not clear, though, what you’re going to be getting. As is the case with many small hotels, there are narrow stairs (at least one story, up to three if you’re on the top floor) and a small lift. However, the staff was there to help with luggage. In all, we had a marvelous stay, and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkerBordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoniaeAlessandro, Manager at Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you very much for this review, we are happy thay you had a nice stay with us.Thanks also for your advices about breakfast , they will help us to get it better.
A presto and hope to see you again,
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was a very nice place to stay and it was in a great location. Check in and out was very easy. The rooms and bathroom were large and nice. Our bed was not very comfortable and the pillows were really flat but that is the only bad experience. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The air conditioner could of worked a little better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimKUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoniaeAlessandro, Manager at Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for this review, we are glad you loved our Inn and your room! Sorry for the pillows, if we knew it we could change, but thank you very much for letting us know.
WArm Regards,
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#166 of 411 in Florence
408 reviews
Uffizi
Palazzo Uguccioni
Palazzo Uguccioni
#45 of 301 in Florence
99 reviews
Uffizi
La Casa del Garbo
La Casa del Garbo
#41 of 641 in Florence
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#5 of 301 in Florence
560 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#80 of 641 in Florence
301 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
#56 of 641 in Florence
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria

Property: Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria
Address: Via Dei Magazzini 2/4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 641 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza d`Epoca In Piazza Della Signoria Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing