We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, ideal for students”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #361 of 422 Hotels in Florence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay, ideal for students”
Reviewed April 9, 2010

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. From the beginning onwards, the staff were exceedingly pleasant and helpful. We arrived at 9am asking to store our luggage (as check-in is 2pm) to find our room was already ready for us. The hotel, rooms and bathroom were very clean and the breakfast was good, if a little limited. By UK standards the hotel is not a four star hotel, much more a high two star/low 3 star hotel, in that the decor is very dated, the walls between neighbouring rooms and corridors are very thin, the garden view is more a large tree and some overgrown grass (but the hotel does neighbour some beautiful olive groves) and the corridors look like a hospital ward! But the service from the reception staff would warrant a four star rating.

The location of the hotel is not in the centre of Florence, it is approximately 30mins walk away, but there are exceedingly good bus connections (about two minutes away from the hotel) to and from the station and the centre of town, and to the neighbouring town of Fiesole .

My girlfriend and I are both students, and this hotel was great for us. It is comfortable and exactly what we wanted, but in comparison to other luxury hotels we've stayed in, in London and Vienna, this does not warrant four stars. If you're looking for luxury then perhaps the Florence Savoy would be better suited to you; if you're looking for a comfortable hotel, at a reasonable price, then book this one, but book it on lastminute.com or other last minute agencies for a much more reasonable price. If we had paid £400 for our stay we would have been disappointed, but we paid £200 which was far more reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brit1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    24
    30
    27
See reviews for
12
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We got a warm welcome at this Hotel.It was a nice place with beautiful cosy rooms perfect for your honeymoon.The room size was ok but it was very neat and clean and had all the facilities required.Overall a good place to stay...

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Arxana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortsel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Ask for the 4th floor or go to the common terrace on this floor. You have there a unique view on Florence! We stayed several times in the center of the city. This hotel outside the center is quiet unique, with space, a quiet surrounding and a lovely garden. Ther are four different bus lines to the center, just ten minutes away. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is fine. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mortsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki Region, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Unfortunately l expected a better hotel. The rooms are terrible, haven't been renovated for a long time. the bathroom and the shower look old, dirty and rusted. We have requested and paid for a room with view put they gave us one on the back side of the hotel.The view from the communal veranda was nice though ( the veranda was dirty, the floor was full of cigarette-ends)
Breakfast was a disaster. The hotel has great potentials of becoming a jewel but the current situation is disappointing.Our room has enough space. It's far from the city centre and there are no convenient bus routes. It's not easy to walk from the main attractions back to the hotel because of the up hill.
It's quite. Make sure you have with you anti-mosquito products!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fay_SKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

This is an old property outside of Florence. The food was very bad. The rooms were small and basic. Free internet. There are many better hotels in Florence within its price range. Not a good choice.

  • Liked — Free internet
  • Disliked — Room and food.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JustinodelValle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2008

I loved this hotel. Very quaint, a long walk up the steps to the hotel. We were on the 4th floor with a balcony and a breath taking view of Florence. The 4th floor had a common terrace that we hung out in with the kids, You could see centeral Florence. Breakfast was typical, beds comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lots of steps
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redartmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

I quite enjoyed my stay at the President Hotel, which is located on a quiet hill outside the center of Florence.

The hotel staff was very friendly. Moreover, the rooms were ok; very clean but for the rest nothing special. I would say more 3* than 4*. The hotel in general and the rooms in particular have quite a retro feeling to them, which is not necessarily bad but I think that the property would benefit from a renovation.

Please be aware that this hotel is not located in the center so for this reason not ideal for tourists I would say. On the flip side the fresh air on the hill on which the hotel is located, is a welcome change to the smog and heat of Florence during the summer months.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Della Robbia
#197 of 422 in Florence
190 reviews
Hotel Emma
#253 of 422 in Florence
287 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#251 of 422 in Florence
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ungherese
#206 of 422 in Florence
254 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#28 of 422 in Florence
1,086 reviews
Conference Florentia Hotel
#365 of 422 in Florence
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Via della Piazzuola 36bis, 50133, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is a classic style hotel, with modern technology and every comfort. It’s an ancient palace of 1869 restored and turned into a hotel in 1986, located near Piazza della Libertà on so-called avenues of Florence, absolutely close to the historic city center and the congress site of Fortezza da Basso, Palazzo dei Congressi and Palazzo degli Affari. The cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore is just at 15 minute walk away and the central train station Santa Maria Novella is only 3 kms far or 10 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing