We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2014 VISIT”
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bretagna
Ranked #130 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Bretagna June 4 through June 7. Hotel Bretagna was formerly a palace and sits on Lungarano Corsini facing the Arno River. We booked a double classic room which was small but had a nice bathroom with double shower heads and plenty of hot water. The hotel has a small balcony (and a larger balcony off the breakfast area) where we sat enjoying our evening wine and watching all the action on the street below. This is a popular area for young and old alike with plenty of restaurants and shopping. If you turn left exiting the hotel, you will run into the Ponte Vecchio area. Turning right on Ponte Vecchio will lead you to an area selling jewelry; and there is a market (store) where you can shop with the locals and purchase food and beverages at a good price. Turning left on Ponte Vecchio will lead you to another popular area with numerous restaurants, shops and cafes. You must stop at all'Antico Vinaio (www.allanticovinaio.com) for a made-to-order panini...best panini on the planet!

Hotel Bretagna serves breakfast from 7:30-10:00 a.m. The selection is plentiful with fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, sausage, fresh mozzarella, Italian meat/cheeses, breads, excellent pastries, cereal, juices. They will even make you a cappuccino upon request. Breakfast is served in an elegant room reminiscent of the palace it once was.

Lastly, the staff was friendly and helpful. Sylwia and Giulia answered all of our questions; gave us advice on sites to see and restaurants for our consideration. I enjoyed a chocolate left daily in our room; and upon departure Giulia remembered I liked it and gave me some to enjoy on our train to Venice. I would highly recommend Hotel Bretagna!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bkjk1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting so nice and detailed review about our hotel.
It's Always a big pleasure for us reading feedbacks like yours.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed especially our location, our balconies and our breakfast.
The biggest satisfaction for us is reading the names of our receptionists, it's nice to know that you remeber their names. Sylwia and Giulia remembers you and they will be glad to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bretagna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed in a Junior Suite on the fourth floor with views over the town and river. When we arrived we immediately sensed that this was such a lovely place with tremendous people that we asked to extend our stay from 5 days to 8 and fortunately we were able to do that. The greatest drawcard to the Bretagna is not the location or building, but its people. Everyone who worked there was simply wonderful to us. The people at the reception were warm, friendly, genuinely interested in us and our country, and nothing was too much trouble for them. When I became unwell one evening they had a doctor in my room in less than 20 minutes. I will never forget their care and concern. Even though the malady was not serious and quickly resolved it can be frightening for older people like me to be sick away from home and I was mightily impressed with their ability to resolve the problem. Everyone from the breakfast staff, room cleaners, and suppliers to the hotel who I would meet early in the morning were professional, interesting, warm people who did their work with a flair that many in the Australian hospitality sector could do well to observe. The building itself is beautiful and there are balconies outside reception and at the other end of the dining room for guests to chill out. Our room was large, clean and supplied with everything we needed and had sublime views over the town and river. Breakfast was above average with a good variety of produce and much of it sourced locally. The location is perfect and within easy walking distance to the historical treasures, shops, restaurants and everything else; in particular the train station and laundromats. For what they offered to us, they charge a very reasonable price. We will definitely go back when we can as they made this leg of our family holiday a magical experience.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 4th floor
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Amazing location (very close to city center), and very helpful reception. They try to make the rooms old-fashioned (Bretagna-style), and they do a good job at it.

Things to consider:
- The bathroom is separate from the bedroom
- Wifi is very slow
- When I was there (June) there were mosquitos.

But overall a great hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheesecakes42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We had a night and a half in Florence between the Sardinia and Tuscany legs of our spring holiday, so we really just wanted a reasonable room central to the historic sights. The location was fantastic. Make sure that you head towards the Oltarno (south of the river) for something a little less crowded for drinks and dinners.

We were placed in the new annex, the Palazzo Alfieri, and for my very modern tastes it was perfect. Freshly remodeled and furnished in a slick modern way. Breakfast is standard European hotel fare, did the job but nothing special.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank sarahmstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I cannot recommended this hotel highly enough! The location is central, on the river, close to the Ponte Vecchio, all the major attractions are within easy walking distance. The public rooms are beautiful, the view from the balcony is delightful. The choice of delicious things to eat for breakfast was amazing. But the best things is the wonderful staff, receptionists, breakfast staff and the hard working cleaners, everyone of them contribute to making this a warm, friendly, fantastic place to stay. My very special thanks to Julia, you made me feel very special and helped make this a very memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Valerie,

Thank you very much for posting your positive comment on TripAdvisor.
It was indeed a pleasure to read your wonderful review and we are pleased to know that we have met your expectations.
Our staff is happy to read such a positive comment about their service.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Hotel Bretagna soon.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great location, staff friendly, room decent size and clean. Good choice if you want something central and you can walk within the city. Breakfast was good,pretty standard eggs, bacon, fruit etc they kept our bags behind reception as we had some free time before going to train station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time writing a review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to know that your stay was enjoyable and that you appreciated our location, our breakfast and our staff service.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had a very enjoyable time at the Hotel and exploring Florence. It is now officially in my wonderful memories section!!
The Hotel is in a lovely position right on the river and I easily navigated all the wonderful piazzas as a single traveller and found my way back fine.

Room Tip: My room was the only issue as it was uninspiring and had seperate bathroom. However it was a minor...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senoritagalesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed so much your stay with us.
Hoping to see you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 411 in Florence
1,553 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#192 of 411 in Florence
413 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#72 of 411 in Florence
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#82 of 411 in Florence
799 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#47 of 411 in Florence
456 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 411 in Florence
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Address: Lungarno Corsini 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $109 - $1,077 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing