We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.”
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bretagna
Ranked #133 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We chose this hotel as it was close to the town centre and close to the train station. It was only a 10 min walk from the station to the hotel and it is situated along the river which is beautiful. We liked this hotel because of its decor, traditional styled and beautiful rooms and friendly service provided by the staff. We had a standard room with a double bed and shower room. The room was clean and spacious. We had breakfast for 10 euros, there was a wide selection of choices and we thought it was value for money. The staff showed us the best places to visit including most of the piazzas and cathedral. The Ponte Vecchio was only a 3 min walk away. We were surrounded by beautiful architecture, lots of great restaurants and gelaterias. A few recommendations for lunch: gustapizza and al antico vanioi. And for delicious ice cream gelateria santa trinita. We could occasionally hear the people in the next room but it was quiet most of the time. There is a small lounge area, where the hotel provided tea and croissants as an afternoon treat. Good value for money. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Angela,

We are delighted to read such a positive review on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed any aspect of your stay: location; decor and style; staff service; breakfast and restaurant recommendations.
With your comment you managed to describe very well our efforts.

Thank you again for your words...

We hope to see you soon in our hotel.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Fabulous location - 5 mins from the Uffizi; 2 mins from fashion street; on the river with a view of the Ponte Vecchio. Small hotel with gorgeous ceilings. Front desk staff was exceptional - very friendly and efficient. We had a 5-star stay in this 3-star hotel, despite the unassuming entrance. We will be back - to Florence and the Hotel Bretagna.

Room Tip: Get a fourth floor room for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive review with the Community of TripAdvisor.
We are glad yo know that you enjoyed our location, hotel atmosphere and our staff service,

We hope to welcoming you soon back.

Best regards,

Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

excellent service. This is a lovely place.
very nice staff. beautiful interiors. located at the arno river
we came from train station to the hotel by taci, 10 euros. then we realized that we could walk. actually in florence you can walk everywhere.
hotel enterance is a little bad but then you wilk realize its because of its age.
it was good stay for ne, my wofe and 4 years old daughter

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RezaToghraee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Ms. Reza,

Thank you very much for this positive review on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our historic palace 700 years old.
Florence is a small city but is so rich of art that is impossible to get bored.

We hope to see you soon again!

Warms regards,

Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Very cozy place to be in. Just make sure about the amount blocked in your bank when you will book online. There was NO problem with the payment eventually but the blocked amount that the hotel has made never appeared in bank account. This is just informational. I don't know whose mistake is it, hotel or my bank! Also the breakfast is very very very nice and tasty!!!
Thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpann244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Gust,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdviosr.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel and our breakfast.
To guarantee reservations we make a preautorizathion, this means that we block the amount of the first night. This procedure is not a payment. The amount remains blocked for 20 days, after this time our bank release it. If the amount is not released within 20 days we sugguest our guests to call their bank account manager.
We hope that now everything is clear, if is not please contact us personally by phone or email.

Kind regards,

Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Booked 2 junior suite rooms with river views and was very disappointed. The rooms were old and tired only slightly larger than a standard double with very small showers and in no way match their web photos. The ground floor entry constantly smelt of raw sewerage, the bar is only open when reception staff have time, twice we were told they were too busy. I realise this is a 3 star hotel but it should be better than this.

Room Tip: junior suites in the annex are poor quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear client,
Regarding your review we would like to underline, for clarification for all other clients and users of TripAdvisor, that the rooms you have booked are two complitely renovated Junior Suites with River view and Jacuzzi Bathtub. We are very perplexed that you describe the rooms as shabby, especially because they are both 30 mq and the size of the rooms is clearly written in the room description. The rooms include many facilities and have a great view of the Ponte Vecchio and Arno River.
Regarding the bar, we offer the service of breakfast but Hotel Bretagna is not a "lounge Bar". Of course we always try to do our best to satisfy our client but we woluld like to rimind you that the bar service we offer is an additional duty.
Hotel Bretagna is a 3 stars Hotel and we offer many services that our previous customers have loved. Sincerely, after reading your review, this is probabily not your appropriate category.
All the best
The Hotel Bretagna stuff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had a lovely 3 days in this hotel. Perfect location on the river just a few mins walk from the Ponte Vecchio. Wonderful front desk staff who were such a help and nothing too much trouble. breakfast good and car parking easily arranged from here. Close walk to all the points of interest in Florence. Dont miss the fabulous cakes at tea time! And for sure the most comfortable beds throughout our Italy adventure.

Room Tip: For superior double for best value and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anna850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Anna,

Thank you so much for sharing your review with the community of TripAdvisor,
We are happy to know that you enjoy your 3 days stay with us.
It's nice to learn that you enjoy our location, our breakfast and our teatime!
We are looking forward to welcome you back at Hotel Bretagna.

Warms regards,

Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were staying for 2 days on 25th & 26th December and definitely got a good deal for these dates. The location of the hotel was absolutely fantastic making the popular tourist destinations as well as the S.M Novella station easily accessible by walk. The hotel receptionists were extremely helpful and passionate in providing information about Florence itself as well as warning us about planning the trip to Pisa on the holiday. While, we had booked a standard economy double room for the 2 of us, the room size was small but neat and clean. We were happy with the bathroom as it was spacious, clean and had modern sanitary fixtures. Breakfast was basic and sufficient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarang9982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your positive comment on TripAdvisor.
We are more than glad to know that you enjoyed our location, your room and especially our service.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you back soon!

Very best regards,

Fabrzio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 410 in Florence
1,566 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#71 of 410 in Florence
622 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#184 of 410 in Florence
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#39 of 410 in Florence
1,780 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#44 of 410 in Florence
460 reviews
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#86 of 410 in Florence
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Address: Lungarno Corsini 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $93 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing