We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff, WARNING: air con doesn't work” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bretagna
Ranked #93 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sirmione
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, WARNING: air con doesn't work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

- very helpful reception staff! Best we've encountered in Italy
- ok clean
- very good location

- air con didn't work. VERY HOT IN THE NIGHT!
We were told by a receptionist that the hotell owners speculate regarding reducing the power of the AC, in order to save money. Our advice is: the hotels *are actually* able to increase the power of the AC. You may therefore have to complain a few times to make the hotel turn on the power sufficiently in order to lower the temperature.

The air con system is set at a too high minimum temperature, without the customer's possibility to lower the temperature below what the hotel have decided for you.

- not good breakfast

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    422
    101
    36
    24
See reviews for
196
531
76
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is part of a grand palazzo and comfortably furnished. It had a lovely atmosphere and character, so don't expect a modern finish.Our room was quiet as it was off the inner courtyard. The breakfast buffet was good and there was a lovely little balcony with a view of the Ponte Vecchio. Great location for sightseeing.

Room Tip: We had a large quiet room off a gallery around an inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizthussu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review, it's always a pleasure to read such a positive feedback.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and the ancient style of the hotel.

We would be happy to host you again during a future stay if your plans bring you back to Firenze.

Very warms regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel have. The most friendly staff,you can find, three lovly girls always with one smile,,very good location , the room is good ....the breckfast is normally ,i Will be there for vacation again ,i Was with my family and Was a good experience

Room Tip: Excellent service nice location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos felipe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Carlos Felipe,

Thank you so much for your kind review!
We really appreciate your kind words for our front office staff and we are glad to know you enjoyed the location and your room.

We hope to have you back as our guest very soon!

Warms regards from all of us,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Bretegna in Florence for the past two nights. We really enjoyed it. We had a quad room, which was quite large and included a modern bathroom. Breakfast is included and is very good. Staff is very friendly and speak excellent English. Only downside was that the air conditioner had trouble keeping up with the July heat in Florence. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobDigInTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing such a kind feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your room, bathroom, breakfast and especially our staff.
Regarding the air con we are planning to buy some new ones.
July is the warmest month in Florence so it may be difficult to get refreshed after a long day under the sun.

We hope to welcoming you soon to Florence.

Best regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
288 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The room was very small.The staff was just friendly. They speak English but though I asked for an upgrade, NOT for free as we stayed 4 nights, they did not even react so I don't know if my message was clear: that I wanted to pay for the upgrade! I also explainend that we were not all the time in the room but......it is hard to stay in such a small room. Perfect location because its close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiseleRoosLaDiosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

An historic Hotel in a perfect location with a small central balcony with the most beautiful view overlooking the Arno River.

The staff are excellent and helpful in every way and speak perfect English.

This is our second visit and we will most certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Wendy,

Thank you so much for writing such a kind feedback!
We hope to see you again at our balcony!

Warms regards,

Fabrizo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hi,

We booked this hotel last minute for a day trip to Florence, (it was our first visit to the city).

When you first enter from the street and make your way to the small elevator you really don't know what to expect; but that all changes once the doors open and you are greeted to the sight of a beautiful reception overlooking the Arno river.

The staff on the reception were really friendly; they noticed from my feeble attempt at "buongiorno" that it was better to communicate in English to me.
Originally we had booked a normal room, but on check-in they asked if we'd like to upgrade (for a lesser price than on the web) to a junior sweet that comes with a river-front view and the all-important jacuzzi that mends those tired legs after a day of sightseeing.
We took it and were absolutely amazed by the room. High ceilings, beautiful details, spacious and impeccably clean. It was really worth the little bit extra.

Also at the reception they were nice enough to give a map and personally detailed a walking route to see as many of the attractions as possible.
As for location - the hotel is at the centre of everything - it couldn't have been better.

100% recommendation for the hotel - anyone who takes the advice and stays there won't be disappointed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dylan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Dylan,

Thank you so much for your kind words!

Your wonderful words are the best compliments for us and we are really proud of them.
Our team do always their best to assure a pleasent and relaxing stay to all of our guests.

We will be very pleased to welcome you back in our hotel.

Warms regrads from all of us,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#61 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#63 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Property: Hotel Bretagna
Address: Lungarno Corsini 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing