We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bretagna
Ranked #103 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful spot for a hotel, right on the river, near the Ponte Vecchio bridge. Extremely close to all of the major attractions; Uffizi, Palazzo Pitti all of the major shopping streets, we couldn't have been happier. The staff were so helpful and cheery, they brightened the day. Breakfast buffet had a great selection of foods; croissants straight from the oven. The staff even had a special gluten free pack for my husband. The rooms were clean and tidy with an enormous bed, good if you've argued. Only downside was the entrance which was a little offputting, but that was a very.minor thing. Good value, lovely break.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Ms. Elaine,

Thank you so much for such positive feedback!!
Your wonderful words are the best compliments for us and we are really proud of them.
It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at Hotel Bretagna and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warms regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    424
    102
    37
    26
See reviews for
200
537
77
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have just stayed at the Bretagna in Florence. Location was perfect. From the moment we checked in until we checked out, the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. Our room (room # 8 ) was very big in size with high ceilings and old world decor. Breakfast was very substantial and delicious. The view from the balcony at reception was amazing - overlooking the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio. Location was excellent for sight seeing. All in all a perfect Hotel to enjoy Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your rave review, it's always a pleasure to read such a positive feedback.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, location,your room and the food.
We would be happy to host you again during a future stay if your plans bring you back to Firenze.
Warms regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

One of the best locations in Firenze. A modest and clean hotel, with a kind and helpful staff. A precious little balcony at reception, overlooking the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio. I recommend this charming hotel in the historic centre of the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALS270143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are very glad to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel included the central location which we know how important is to make easier visiting the city.
We really hope there'll be another chance to have you here soon.

Best wishes,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We just left the hotel today morning... wow, nothing to criticise! The location is great, the hotel has a small balcony with direct view of the ponte vecchio, we even bought something to eat and a bottle of wine, and they allowed us to stay at the balcony, enjoying the view.
We had some issues with the airline, as we didn´t get our luggage, and both Martina & Giulia really helped us and cared about us. They are great value staff!!!!!!!
We stayed at the historic rome, woww... you feel like living in 1800, great experience!!
The only thing, the shower is a little bit small. But not that bad....
EXCELLENT STAY!! Really recommend it!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed the room, our balcony and the location, just in the heart of Firenze. Most of all though we are especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff, I always feel is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel. We look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very pleased with unpretentious yet clean, comfortable hotel. Staff friendly, helpful professional in all areas. I had a single room with decent sized, small double bed and newly refurbished bathroom. I loved the little balcony at Reception with geraniums overlooking the Arno. Only big enough for 2 though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review.
We are glad to know you loved the hotel and had a good stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great location in downtown Florence.

+ Large room
+ Impressive view over the Arno river
+ Great staff
+ Good breakfast
- Unstable WiFi connection

We can recommend this charming hotel in the historic centre of Florence.

Room Tip: "A room with a view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ubnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest
,
Truly appreciate your review. It is so pleasing to read that we met all expectations on service, location and accommodation.
Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you once again in the future.

Very best regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is located very good in the center of Florence with a nice view to the river and the ponte vecchio.

I can only recomend the historic suite!! It is amazing!! It is like if you were sleeping in a castle!

The staff is very friendly and we had a great time.

Room Tip: Get the historical suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#78 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#37 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#67 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#47 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Property: Hotel Bretagna
Address: Lungarno Corsini 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing