We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Warm hotel near to the Main places” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bretagna
Ranked #79 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warm hotel near to the Main places”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very well located, near Ponte Vecchio. The staff was very friendly and willing to help in every detail. The room was Ok with a garden view but the bathroom was very small. The morning breakfast was very good, buffet style.
My only problem was the weather, very rainy Florence during march!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CXB_Col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABRIZIO B, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us!
Unfortunately this year the weather wasn't so good as usually but we hope to welcome you again in summer!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    391
    95
    30
    23
See reviews for
187
490
65
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We really loved the hotel. It was sunny, and we stayed at the balcony of the main reception, having a beer and admiring the fantastic vew of Arno River and Ponte Vecchio! From the hotel, It's possible too walk to the main attractons of the historical center. The staff was great and indicated a very good reetaranto for me and my wife to go at St. Valentino's day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonardoJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having never been to Europe and travelling alone I was a bit nervous about my accommodations.
I stayed at the Hotel Bretagna and found it to be an exceptional experience in every way.
The room was spacious (historical junior suite), comfortable and my home away from home.
Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and the staff was helpful and friendly. The room was cleaned thoroughly every day.
I do not need to consider staying anyplace else the next time I return to Florence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne AU
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Like many hotels in the area, the Hotel Bretagna seems, to the outsider, to be a series of rooms shoehorned into a rabbit warren. A function of using a building for a purpose way outside its design parameters.
So be prepared to enter on the ground floor, go to reception on one level, find your room on another level and mosey down to breakfast on another.
Overall, this is a little big hotel. The whole experience falls somewhere in between the polished glitz of a large place and the intimacy of a smaller venue.
Having said that, the staff are friendly and helpful and it's a no hassle experience and if you can get a decent rate it's good value.

Room Tip: Owing to the old building syndrome, room sizes vary enormously. If a river view is important prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woofsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here with my 8 year old son only for one night. This hotel was perfect. It is located right on the river with a view of the Ponte Vecchio. The rooms are simple and clean, the beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are large. The front desk people are extremely helpful and will figure your entire stay out for you if you want them to. The service is parallel to staying at the Ritz Carlton. Everything is within walking distance from this hotel. We even walked with our luggage to and from the train station. Not a problem. I wish we could've stayed here for many more nights. It was the best experience we had on our entire 2 week trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the bathroom ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had a such a pleasant stay at Hotel Bretagna. The location is excellent for exploring Florence as the hotel is situated one bridge away from the Ponte Vecchio. Round the corner is Via Tournabuoni, where all the brands like Prada, Ferragamo and Gucci are located.

The room I had was a little small, but clean and nice. The bathroom was modern and obviously refurbished. There was a little flat screen TV on the wall and wi-fi connection in the room.

The breakfast was very good by European standards. Hot scrambled eggs, sausages and boiled eggs were available apart from the usual continental fare.

The staff were very helpful, especially when my friend came to visit me and he had to drive into the restricted zone. In Florence, the city centre is restricted and if you drive into the zone without a pass, there's a Euro 80.00 fine. The hotel receptionist arranged for a waiver so that my friend could drive in.

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel when in Florence!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoequeen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Hotel Bretagna, choosing to stay in 2 different rooms during the trip. For the first 2 nights we stayed in the room with the beautifully frescoed ceiling. The room was massive, and while sparcely furnished, had all of the essentials. Most of your time in that room will be spent admiring the ceiling and the massive ornate fireplace (does not function for obvious safety reasons). The following 2 nights we stayed in a room with a view of the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio, which also had a wonderful jaccuzi tub! We were able to experience the best of both sides of the hotel and would definitely recommend it. The breakfast was delicious and the breakfast room also had a beautiful frescoed ceiling. The location could not be beat, just a few steps from the Ponte Vecchio and all the sights and sounds of Florence. Also, if you stay at this hotel or anywhere near, just a few steps down street is Bistro del Mare which provided us with one of our best meals in Italy, for a superb price and great ambiance.
All in all an excellent hotel right on the Arno, and a short few minute walk from the train station!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmanphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,610 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#42 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#55 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Property: Hotel Bretagna
Address: Lungarno Corsini 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing