We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly and great value”
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bretagna
Ranked #131 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here with my 8 year old son only for one night. This hotel was perfect. It is located right on the river with a view of the Ponte Vecchio. The rooms are simple and clean, the beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are large. The front desk people are extremely helpful and will figure your entire stay out for you if you want them to. The service is parallel to staying at the Ritz Carlton. Everything is within walking distance from this hotel. We even walked with our luggage to and from the train station. Not a problem. I wish we could've stayed here for many more nights. It was the best experience we had on our entire 2 week trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the bathroom ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had a such a pleasant stay at Hotel Bretagna. The location is excellent for exploring Florence as the hotel is situated one bridge away from the Ponte Vecchio. Round the corner is Via Tournabuoni, where all the brands like Prada, Ferragamo and Gucci are located.

The room I had was a little small, but clean and nice. The bathroom was modern and obviously refurbished. There was a little flat screen TV on the wall and wi-fi connection in the room.

The breakfast was very good by European standards. Hot scrambled eggs, sausages and boiled eggs were available apart from the usual continental fare.

The staff were very helpful, especially when my friend came to visit me and he had to drive into the restricted zone. In Florence, the city centre is restricted and if you drive into the zone without a pass, there's a Euro 80.00 fine. The hotel receptionist arranged for a waiver so that my friend could drive in.

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel when in Florence!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoequeen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Hotel Bretagna, choosing to stay in 2 different rooms during the trip. For the first 2 nights we stayed in the room with the beautifully frescoed ceiling. The room was massive, and while sparcely furnished, had all of the essentials. Most of your time in that room will be spent admiring the ceiling and the massive ornate fireplace (does not function for obvious safety reasons). The following 2 nights we stayed in a room with a view of the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio, which also had a wonderful jaccuzi tub! We were able to experience the best of both sides of the hotel and would definitely recommend it. The breakfast was delicious and the breakfast room also had a beautiful frescoed ceiling. The location could not be beat, just a few steps from the Ponte Vecchio and all the sights and sounds of Florence. Also, if you stay at this hotel or anywhere near, just a few steps down street is Bistro del Mare which provided us with one of our best meals in Italy, for a superb price and great ambiance.
All in all an excellent hotel right on the Arno, and a short few minute walk from the train station!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmanphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

visit florence.
this hotel is very cosy but has very nice night view.
you can enjoy very closely to Arno river and see the beautiful bridges in the evening.
location is very centeral so you can easily go the church Domo, uffizi museum and becchio.
the rooms have just finished renovation so it is very clean and i like the shower booth.
also, staff is really cool. when i was staying there, i had a little problem in my travel plan so i had to find a room. without reservation, one of the staffs helped me and suggested a very nice room on special price. actually that day i was very depressed and very hard time for long journey but she gave me priceless care and i still keep her present with good memory in florence.

ps. breakfast is really dope. i learned prune and like scramble with morning coffee.

Room Tip: shower booth is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here in February 2012, I just ran across the receipt, so I thought I would give them a review. It was a very nice hotel. We stayed in a Junior Suite, it was very big, two nice beds, a nice bathroom, and a large window overlooking the Arno River. The room was very nice, clean and spacious. The staff was also very nice. The breakfast was great!. The hotel is facing the Arno River one bridge away from the Ponte Vecchio ( Old Covered Bridge) about a mile and a half from the train station. Well within walking distance of all the main attractions. We paid $ 119 Euros per night, so not the cheapest, but I thought it was worth it. I enjoyed the Hotel Bretagna, I would definitely stay there again, and would highly recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unckyherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very friendly and helpfull staff - we had only one day in Florence and they assisted with what to see and enjoy in the city. Huge, clean and comfortable room! Beautiful setting, very central - near station, shops and the Uffizi!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnemieCloete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Didn't want to leave at the end.
Separate thanks to Gulia.

- Great staff. Very helpful
- Spacious rooms
- Central location
- Reasonable price
- Parking was provided at a good rate

Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hash_baby_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 410 in Florence
1,565 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#68 of 410 in Florence
622 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#184 of 410 in Florence
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 410 in Florence
1,779 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#43 of 410 in Florence
459 reviews
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#88 of 410 in Florence
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Address: Lungarno Corsini 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $94 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing