We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic location”
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bretagna
Ranked #114 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Historic location”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I made a mistake in booking, but the staff were more than accommodating. We had a great stay in a historic building that was a close walk to all the major sites. The staff pointed out the best places to eat, and labeled everything we should see on a map.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nast70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    425
    102
    37
    27
See reviews for
200
538
78
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

For the beginning I'll start with the crew, Because for me it's the most important thing.
Family feeling is the first thing you feel when you enter the hotel.
They were extremely nice and willing to help with any thing.
We were asking them about the night life and Museums. We received a detailed explanation with a map and many marked suggestions.
The hotel is located exactly in the middle of the "Action", 10 minute walk from any "Must attraction"
Rooms are very comfy with Florence atmosphere in the air.
The breakfast is typical for Italy- Great coffee , Fresh bread Croissant, etc...

Definitely will recommend to friend!

See you next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Lovley hotel and perfect service. Thank you Martina Martina and sylwia and more for a nice stay. The hotel has à good location and à historical feel to it. The bridge is close by and il domo is a 5minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is within walking distance of everything you'll want to see in Florence! The service was great. Our room was very basic but clean. We did have issues each night with mosquitoes though and on our last night asked for a plug in mosquito zapper, they called it a mat which

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markise52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed in Hotel Bretagna in September 2012. We enjoyed our stay over 7 days and recommend this hotel in Florence.
We would particularly like to thank Martina and all the staff for their friendliness and local knowledge as this made our stay so memorable.
Our juniour suite had sweeping views of the Arno and my friends have commented on the sunset snaps from our window. Colours were amazing!
After a long day of walking around the city it was so restful to return to our room and spa...did I mention we could see Basilica Di Santo Spirito from our spa and listening to the bells was so beautiful! We really loved our first time in Florence and staying here was a great choice. Grazie Mille!

Room Tip: juniour suites all have view of the Arno magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robby56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend and it was perfect, an easy walk from the railway station and great views over the Arno. The staff were so friendly and gave us a list of nearby restaurants, nothing was too much trouble.
There is a balcony just off reception and we would come back and sit outside with a glass of wine and watch the world go by. There was also a comfortable lounge with internet access.
The breakfast was amazing with a fantastic choice so no need for lunch. I would certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodloversedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel Bretagna is in the best possible location for your stay in Florence. The staff was helpful beyond the call of duty and the breakfast was excellent. My bed was HARD which caused some back pain, but this is better than too soft.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#66 of 422 in Florence
593 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 422 in Florence
1,494 reviews
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#67 of 422 in Florence
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#42 of 422 in Florence
1,727 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#48 of 422 in Florence
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Property: Hotel Bretagna
Address: Lungarno Corsini 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing