We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent launch pad to explore Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Porta al Prato
Ranked #110 of 310 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent launch pad to explore Florence”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went in late October and got amazingly lucky with the weather. We hired bikes from "Florence By Bike". Got a couple of road bikes for €30/day. Absolutely fantastic idea. Able to see "real" Italy. Cycled to Sienna, Fiosole & Impruneta. Just beware that Florence is somewhat in a ditch. Cycling anywhere requires a long slog up some nasty hills. The pay-off is worth it for the incredible views, and 50km/hour down-hill free-wheeling . Also to be aware is that some train companies consider a bike, an additional passenger and charge you accordingly.

The apartment was perfect for us, as we wanted a cheap(ish) launch pad to go and explore Florence/Tuscany. It was entirely adequete, but don't expect any frills.

Positives: Spacious apartment, kitchenette, bath with shower, two balconies! 24 hour/check-in. Underground locked parking - with plenty of space for bikes! Very clean. Good location - 20 mins walk from town-center. Relatively inexpensive *(There is a €4/per night/per person tax that is paid on arrival just to be aware of) Flat screen TV. Automated wake-up service.
Negatives: Thin walls to the outside - *Noise of traffic pushed the ratings down*. Retro-decor (but not that bad).

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, which suited us fine as there was a lift from the basement *(where we kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jzm6mhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    67
    48
    20
    13
See reviews for
50
60
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel in September, 2012. As for the rooms, they look much prettier on the pictures, than in the real life. When you see them, it's hard not to get a somewhat despondent feeling: colours are dark and don't look right togehter, the furniture, surely, has seen better days. But I didn't care much, since I only needed some place to sleep at night, after long hours of exploring Florence.
The fridge was a real trouble, though, 'cause it was making a terrible noise and I couldn't switch it off. Everytime it sounded like a crushing helicopter, so I had to take all the shelves out, just to decrease the sound.
The service as such was limited and not staff was not entirely friendly, but I didn't care much, either.
WiFi was a problem. It's free and available in the rooms, but you cannot access https: sites, that is, check you e-mail or buy anything online, tickets, e.g. - big inconvenience, if you are on your way. I managed to solve the problem at the PC in the hall on the groud floor.

Location was ok, just 20 minutes from the Duomo - Santa-Maria del Fiore and 10 minutes at most from Santa-Maria Novella railway station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Perfect management with very large and clean rooms. room was pretty large. There is a computer with free access to internet in the lobby. Good for living not for holiday, Far from city center I think it was ok

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacardizm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at Porta Al Prato, during our stay at Florence. It is centrally located and everything at close proximity... But the interiors of this Hotel/studio apartment scared me out. It looked a it haunted to me, though in the day it's all sunny and nice , in the night it's drop dead silent and empty.. For a person like me who is scared of darkeness this was horrible..

On the bright side, they do have a prepared pantry for you in the room for your next days breakfast inclusive of your stay, on other days you might want to visit a supermarket which is around the corner to store up a few snackers. The Manager who attended to us was Sanjeeva who was very helpful and very patient as he explained everything and marked all the places to see and shop on the map, which made it really simple to understand. We had a nice time walking on the streets of Florence, exploring and absorbing the Tuscan heat..

On the negatives , the net doesn't work, actually, though Sanjeeva mentioned it works , it doesn't. It works in flashes which is next to not working.
The air conditioners also don't work well, they need servicing.. In our room we had 2 airconditioners out of which one was working fine and the other wasn't at all..
Also the lobby and the corridors of the room side get really quiet and it tends to feel very spooky... serious.
If I happen to stay here again , would love a brighter facing or looking room... ( I guess to each his own)

On the whole , not a bad one... And specially on tight budgets. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Payal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location and proximity to public transport.
Firenze SMN is only a few hundred metres away. The hotel is only 1 stop and a short walk from the train station on the tram. The electric buses C2 and C3, which are near the tram stop, will take you to Uffizi gallery, and the Duomo, respectively.
Bar Pasticceria, which is at the end of the street towards the tram stop, is where we bought our breakfast. Friendly staff, great food and coffee, and great prices.
The rooms aren't the best. We had a single bed and a sofa bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGFlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Staff are very helpful and nice room. but the only thing is the wifi wasn't working when we were staying.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank lung0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Me & my wife stayed there 2 nights in une 2012.
The room seemed amazing at first: a fuly equipped kitchen, large living room, nice shower, 2 A
\Cs, flat TV screen and a terrace.
But when you look closer, it's not as attractive as it first seems... The bath thub had a lot of other guest's hair (yuk!), one A\C was almost impossible to operate and so was the hot\cold water mixture in the shower... you just couldn't get it mixed - it was either too hot or freezing cold!
When we tried to talk to the receptionist the next day about the shower, we had another problem - he didn't speak English and was rude! So we somehow managed to explain to him we had a problem with the hot water in the room and he should send someone to olle and fix it - He didn't.
There was also another receptionist (much nicer I might add) - he also didn't speak English... he gave us a pasword to a WIFI internet - it didn't work, we didn't even bother to complain.
I do want to praise a female receptionist (can't remember her name) who was very helpful to us from the moment we arrived and gave us a map and a suggestion for a walk in Florence that covered most of the city - it was amazing and we thank her for that!

So in total, not a very good hotel and not a horrible one either - choose it only if it suits your budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EladAvigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
AC Hotel Firenze
#161 of 412 in Florence
1,191 reviews
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#253 of 412 in Florence
535 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#151 of 412 in Florence
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Meridiana
#276 of 412 in Florence
365 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#260 of 412 in Florence
251 reviews
Quadra Key Residence
#96 of 650 in Florence
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Porta al Prato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Porta al Prato

Property: Residence Porta al Prato
Address: Via del Ponte Alle Mosse 16, 50144, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 310 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Porta al Prato 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Porta al Prato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Porta Al Prato Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing