We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for living not for holiday, Far from city center” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Porta al Prato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Porta al Prato
Ranked #83 of 276 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for living not for holiday, Far from city center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Perfect management with very large and clean rooms. room was pretty large. There is a computer with free access to internet in the lobby. Good for living not for holiday, Far from city center I think it was ok

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacardizm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    58
    44
    18
    10
See reviews for
42
48
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at Porta Al Prato, during our stay at Florence. It is centrally located and everything at close proximity... But the interiors of this Hotel/studio apartment scared me out. It looked a it haunted to me, though in the day it's all sunny and nice , in the night it's drop dead silent and empty.. For a person like me who is scared of darkeness this was horrible..

On the bright side, they do have a prepared pantry for you in the room for your next days breakfast inclusive of your stay, on other days you might want to visit a supermarket which is around the corner to store up a few snackers. The Manager who attended to us was Sanjeeva who was very helpful and very patient as he explained everything and marked all the places to see and shop on the map, which made it really simple to understand. We had a nice time walking on the streets of Florence, exploring and absorbing the Tuscan heat..

On the negatives , the net doesn't work, actually, though Sanjeeva mentioned it works , it doesn't. It works in flashes which is next to not working.
The air conditioners also don't work well, they need servicing.. In our room we had 2 airconditioners out of which one was working fine and the other wasn't at all..
Also the lobby and the corridors of the room side get really quiet and it tends to feel very spooky... serious.
If I happen to stay here again , would love a brighter facing or looking room... ( I guess to each his own)

On the whole , not a bad one... And specially on tight budgets. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Payal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location and proximity to public transport.
Firenze SMN is only a few hundred metres away. The hotel is only 1 stop and a short walk from the train station on the tram. The electric buses C2 and C3, which are near the tram stop, will take you to Uffizi gallery, and the Duomo, respectively.
Bar Pasticceria, which is at the end of the street towards the tram stop, is where we bought our breakfast. Friendly staff, great food and coffee, and great prices.
The rooms aren't the best. We had a single bed and a sofa bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGFlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Staff are very helpful and nice room. but the only thing is the wifi wasn't working when we were staying.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank lung0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Me & my wife stayed there 2 nights in une 2012.
The room seemed amazing at first: a fuly equipped kitchen, large living room, nice shower, 2 A
\Cs, flat TV screen and a terrace.
But when you look closer, it's not as attractive as it first seems... The bath thub had a lot of other guest's hair (yuk!), one A\C was almost impossible to operate and so was the hot\cold water mixture in the shower... you just couldn't get it mixed - it was either too hot or freezing cold!
When we tried to talk to the receptionist the next day about the shower, we had another problem - he didn't speak English and was rude! So we somehow managed to explain to him we had a problem with the hot water in the room and he should send someone to olle and fix it - He didn't.
There was also another receptionist (much nicer I might add) - he also didn't speak English... he gave us a pasword to a WIFI internet - it didn't work, we didn't even bother to complain.
I do want to praise a female receptionist (can't remember her name) who was very helpful to us from the moment we arrived and gave us a map and a suggestion for a walk in Florence that covered most of the city - it was amazing and we thank her for that!

So in total, not a very good hotel and not a horrible one either - choose it only if it suits your budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EladAvigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

When I booked hotel I was looking for the high speed Internet. Internet did not work in this hotel. Woman in the reception explained "all italians don';t work in the weekend that is why it is not possible to access to Wi-fi ")))So if you are looking for the Internet book another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

The residency apt block of apt is designed for travellers and I must say I was very impressed the the size of the apt. Two bedrooms living room with dining area kitchen and bathroom for €90 a night . (not per person ). Fabulous value for money. The rooms are divided by partitions rather than walls but ideal if keeping a ear out for the kids. Also curtains for privacy not doors but was fair for only two of us travelling but if sharing with mates or another couple ... could be embarrassing. Towels and shower soaps all included. There is a 24 hour reception also which for security was excellent. We arrived at 11 am from Venice and check in was 2pm. Bags all made safe and looked after at reception until check in. A walk in to old Florence takes about 40 mins if you wish which we did by following the river and into the old part where all the tourists swarmed. However team stop 5 mins away direct to train station or bus stops close by to apt. The staff were very nice and spoke thankfully good english as my Italian was not good.

The apt is a great place to stay away from the tourist area and the hassle but close enough to get to when needed.
I would highly recommend this apt as a safe location to stay for all couples and with children. I would defo stay again if I returned to Florence . Regards and enjoy your stay. Danny783

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
AC Hotel Firenze
#152 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#261 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
La Corte dei Principi
La Corte dei Principi
#235 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residence Leopoldo
#39 of 276 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
PopArtment
#24 of 276 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Quadra Key Residence
#99 of 626 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Porta al Prato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Porta al Prato

Property: Residence Porta al Prato
Address: Via del Ponte Alle Mosse 16, 50144, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 276 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Porta al Prato 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Residence Porta al Prato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Porta Al Prato Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing