We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Porta al Prato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Porta al Prato
Ranked #80 of 279 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location and proximity to public transport.
Firenze SMN is only a few hundred metres away. The hotel is only 1 stop and a short walk from the train station on the tram. The electric buses C2 and C3, which are near the tram stop, will take you to Uffizi gallery, and the Duomo, respectively.
Bar Pasticceria, which is at the end of the street towards the tram stop, is where we bought our breakfast. Friendly staff, great food and coffee, and great prices.
The rooms aren't the best. We had a single bed and a sofa bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGFlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    60
    44
    18
    10
See reviews for
44
48
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Staff are very helpful and nice room. but the only thing is the wifi wasn't working when we were staying.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank lung0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Me & my wife stayed there 2 nights in une 2012.
The room seemed amazing at first: a fuly equipped kitchen, large living room, nice shower, 2 A
\Cs, flat TV screen and a terrace.
But when you look closer, it's not as attractive as it first seems... The bath thub had a lot of other guest's hair (yuk!), one A\C was almost impossible to operate and so was the hot\cold water mixture in the shower... you just couldn't get it mixed - it was either too hot or freezing cold!
When we tried to talk to the receptionist the next day about the shower, we had another problem - he didn't speak English and was rude! So we somehow managed to explain to him we had a problem with the hot water in the room and he should send someone to olle and fix it - He didn't.
There was also another receptionist (much nicer I might add) - he also didn't speak English... he gave us a pasword to a WIFI internet - it didn't work, we didn't even bother to complain.
I do want to praise a female receptionist (can't remember her name) who was very helpful to us from the moment we arrived and gave us a map and a suggestion for a walk in Florence that covered most of the city - it was amazing and we thank her for that!

So in total, not a very good hotel and not a horrible one either - choose it only if it suits your budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EladAvigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

When I booked hotel I was looking for the high speed Internet. Internet did not work in this hotel. Woman in the reception explained "all italians don';t work in the weekend that is why it is not possible to access to Wi-fi ")))So if you are looking for the Internet book another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

The residency apt block of apt is designed for travellers and I must say I was very impressed the the size of the apt. Two bedrooms living room with dining area kitchen and bathroom for €90 a night . (not per person ). Fabulous value for money. The rooms are divided by partitions rather than walls but ideal if keeping a ear out for the kids. Also curtains for privacy not doors but was fair for only two of us travelling but if sharing with mates or another couple ... could be embarrassing. Towels and shower soaps all included. There is a 24 hour reception also which for security was excellent. We arrived at 11 am from Venice and check in was 2pm. Bags all made safe and looked after at reception until check in. A walk in to old Florence takes about 40 mins if you wish which we did by following the river and into the old part where all the tourists swarmed. However team stop 5 mins away direct to train station or bus stops close by to apt. The staff were very nice and spoke thankfully good english as my Italian was not good.

The apt is a great place to stay away from the tourist area and the hassle but close enough to get to when needed.
I would highly recommend this apt as a safe location to stay for all couples and with children. I would defo stay again if I returned to Florence . Regards and enjoy your stay. Danny783

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The rooms and overall size was much larger than a hotel, and the cost was about the same (it was less than a hotel room). We were able to spread out some in the large living room and if we wanted to cook we could. We ended up not using the kitchen much, but its nice as an option if you are staying there for a week or so. The location is a bit far from the tourist attractions downtown. It was a quick 2 min walk to the metro train (or the C2, C3 bus) and you were downtown in 10 minutes total (walk + waiting for train + train ride). The GOOD thing was that its very quiet. No police cars, people yelling drunk outside etc like staying downtown. You can get a good nights sleep here no prob.

Room Tip: We booked a single room and were upgraded to a two room apartment at no cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorX_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The appartment was spacious but everything was a bit old and not very well maintained. The equipment in the kitchen was about OK, but the absorber was missing. The bathroom was big and clean, but overall I have stayed in cleaner hotels. The staff was helpful, providing all needed information and help.
There is a parking available, but you have to pay additionally 10 euro per day. It totally worth it, because it’s a real private garage, with limited access and option to stop your car within the yard or in the underground part.
The location is the best about this place. It’s only 20 minutes away from the center of the city. We’ve literaly didn’t use public transport or car at all! There is also a very nice restaurant near by – “Il Pinolo”. Even though it’s not the best place I’ve been, I still would recommend it for a tourist visit of Florence.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the street can be noicy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulyFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Magenta
Hotel Magenta
#269 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
HHB Hotel
HHB Hotel
#306 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residence Leopoldo
#45 of 279 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Quadra Key Residence
#94 of 632 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
La Luna Guest House
#67 of 632 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Porta al Prato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Porta al Prato

Property: Residence Porta al Prato
Address: Via del Ponte Alle Mosse 16, 50144, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 279 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Porta al Prato 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Porta al Prato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Porta Al Prato Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing