We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great spacious value fironey apt in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Porta al Prato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Porta al Prato
Ranked #80 of 279 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A great spacious value fironey apt in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

The residency apt block of apt is designed for travellers and I must say I was very impressed the the size of the apt. Two bedrooms living room with dining area kitchen and bathroom for €90 a night . (not per person ). Fabulous value for money. The rooms are divided by partitions rather than walls but ideal if keeping a ear out for the kids. Also curtains for privacy not doors but was fair for only two of us travelling but if sharing with mates or another couple ... could be embarrassing. Towels and shower soaps all included. There is a 24 hour reception also which for security was excellent. We arrived at 11 am from Venice and check in was 2pm. Bags all made safe and looked after at reception until check in. A walk in to old Florence takes about 40 mins if you wish which we did by following the river and into the old part where all the tourists swarmed. However team stop 5 mins away direct to train station or bus stops close by to apt. The staff were very nice and spoke thankfully good english as my Italian was not good.

The apt is a great place to stay away from the tourist area and the hassle but close enough to get to when needed.
I would highly recommend this apt as a safe location to stay for all couples and with children. I would defo stay again if I returned to Florence . Regards and enjoy your stay. Danny783

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    60
    44
    18
    10
See reviews for
44
48
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The rooms and overall size was much larger than a hotel, and the cost was about the same (it was less than a hotel room). We were able to spread out some in the large living room and if we wanted to cook we could. We ended up not using the kitchen much, but its nice as an option if you are staying there for a week or so. The location is a bit far from the tourist attractions downtown. It was a quick 2 min walk to the metro train (or the C2, C3 bus) and you were downtown in 10 minutes total (walk + waiting for train + train ride). The GOOD thing was that its very quiet. No police cars, people yelling drunk outside etc like staying downtown. You can get a good nights sleep here no prob.

Room Tip: We booked a single room and were upgraded to a two room apartment at no cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorX_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The appartment was spacious but everything was a bit old and not very well maintained. The equipment in the kitchen was about OK, but the absorber was missing. The bathroom was big and clean, but overall I have stayed in cleaner hotels. The staff was helpful, providing all needed information and help.
There is a parking available, but you have to pay additionally 10 euro per day. It totally worth it, because it’s a real private garage, with limited access and option to stop your car within the yard or in the underground part.
The location is the best about this place. It’s only 20 minutes away from the center of the city. We’ve literaly didn’t use public transport or car at all! There is also a very nice restaurant near by – “Il Pinolo”. Even though it’s not the best place I’ve been, I still would recommend it for a tourist visit of Florence.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the street can be noicy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulyFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Went for a one week Easter holiday with my family [family of 4]. The apartment i slarge enough and is kept clean. Cleaning is carried out every day. It is only 20 min away-on foot- from the centre of Florence [the old part]. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: I think teh best rooms to choos eare those overlooking the yard, as there would be less traffic soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My sister and I stayed at Residence Porta al Prato for 5 days in May 2011 and found it very comfortable and more than adequate. The thing that impressed me most was the excellent service Sandra provided from the first email I sent from Australia enquiring about accomodation for the two of us.

The staff at the Residence were happy to assist us with the best places to shop for groceries and buy gelato!

It was a pleasant walk to the Arno River and the centre. Actually it was an easy walk to many great spots in the area. The Hop on Hop off bus is a must when you are travelling as you see places you may otherwise miss and you are able to "hop on and hop off" at various sights. Our apartment at the Residence had a bath that we could relax in after a day of sightseeing.

The bus tour to Siena, San Gimignano and Pisa was probably the best thing we did while in Florence and I would highly recommend it.

I would happily return to Residence Porta al Prato.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BittenbytheBug_LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alentejo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed in this residence for a week in July. I had my doubts when I booked it, because it could be far from the centre. But then I thought: never mind, you can walk everyday about 30 minutes in the morning is this beautiful town. Unfortunatelly, it was not so far from the centre (I was in a formazione, very near to the Santa Maria Fiore), and in 20 minutes I was at my "school", after a coffe in Santa Maria Maggiore square.
The apartmentes are ok in size and cleaning (they make it every day). The receptionists are very very helpfull. You really feel you have a house in Florence. Than there are some advantages in stayng not in the centre: you have good restaurants, at a nice price. My favourite was "Pinolo" 50 metres from the hotel. Don+t miss it. Very good food, well served. A restaurant for the middle-low class in Florence.
Just one thing: in the apartment there are really not many kitchen acessories, so it will be difficult to make your own food (of course you have dishes for everybody, but no pots or pans). No problem: you go to Pinolo or some other just around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando É
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

this hotel looks like it has the makings to be a wonderful place to stay. it's alot of DIY however. if you ask the right questions, you will get better service from the staff. it's VERY spacious! it did seem as though it needed to be aired out. it was a bit stuffy but the breeze was very nice and took care of that. this is the biggest place i have ever stayed at in europe. it's a bit of a hike to ponte vecchio and all the touristy type attractions, but it's still very old-style italy and very quaint. if you are in florence for a short stay you may want to re-think staying here for distance purposes. otherwise, i would definitely consider staying here again because it was very nice and nicely staffed. it's in close proximity to grocery stores and atms and the train station too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sridd29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Magenta
Hotel Magenta
#269 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
HHB Hotel
HHB Hotel
#306 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residence Leopoldo
#45 of 279 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Quadra Key Residence
#97 of 632 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
La Luna Guest House
#68 of 632 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Porta al Prato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Porta al Prato

Property: Residence Porta al Prato
Address: Via del Ponte Alle Mosse 16, 50144, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 279 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Porta al Prato 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Porta al Prato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Porta Al Prato Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing