We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot in Florence”
Review of Il Bargello B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Bargello B&B
Ranked #81 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved staying at Il Bargello B&B! We were able to walk from the train station easily enough and had no problem finding it. It is centrally located and within walking distance of all the best sights in Florence. Lynn and Gabriella were extremely helpful (I can't emphasize this enough) and were most willing to share their knowledge and recommendations. Lynn pointed us in the direction of the market as soon as we arrived and made dinner reservations for us. Gabriella was a life-saver when we needed to make last-minute reservations for accommodations in Siena. If you don't like stairs, this may not be the place for you, but we looked at it as taking the place of a mini-workout on the stairmaster every day! Lynn and Gabriella also highly recommended the 3-day Florence Pass - we bought them and are glad we did. It saves time not having to stand in line and allows use of public transportation. If you can, take the bus to Fiesole for the afternoon. Wonderful views and Roman ruins await you at this hillside town about 1/2 hour outside of Florence. Another great asset of Il Bargello is the rooftop terrace. We took our lunch there to relax for a mid-day break almost every day and enjoyed a bottle of wine every evening while taking in the evening lights and spectacular views from the top of the B&B. I would return to Il Bargello in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Choose a room with bathroom en suite if it matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bargello, Public Relations Manager at Il Bargello B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you so much for the review! There is always so much to do here and so many great places to eat. From fruit stands to gelatto Florence is a gastronomic delight.

We are glad that we could help make your stay here a memorable one and hope you come back again soon!

Gabriella and Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 413 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Gabriella and Lynn were the perfect hosts, made us feel welcome and were a wealth of information. The terrace was a fabulous place to enjoy a little wine and the company of fellow travelers. The use of the kitchen facilities in the evening was a nice extra. WiFi was great. The only downside was that the room was very small with just a bed and a small table in the room. We could have used a chair. We think we may have just ended up in the smallest of their 5 or 6 rooms. The Il Bargello is in a great location, an easy walk to most everything. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twovagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location, so close to everything in the middle of Florence! Really nice place to stay, awesome rooftop and lounge area so you don't have to just hang out in your room when you're at the hotel. Wifi access was great. Lynn and Gabriella were very helpful during our stay, arranging museum and dinner reservations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ecamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Il Bargello B&B! Perfect location, clean, everything we look for when traveling. Kitchen access was a great asset; loved the fresh fruit! Wireless access was terrific. The rooftop terrace was beautiful. Thanks to Gabriella and Lynn for your warmth and hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlborth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Yes the stairs are a challenge, but you can't beat the location in this beautiful old building. Gabrielle & Lynn were very welcoming & helpful with restaurant & taxi reservations, etc. Breakfast was great & a nice time to meet the other guests.Rooms were clean. The terrace was also a plus...we highly recommend...

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank espomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The IL Bargello Bed and Breakfast embodied for us the spirit of Florence. This family owned property is managed with pride and care. The hospitality of Gabriella and her team was outstanding. They are warm and welcoming and have a wealth of knowledge and provide very reliable restaurant recommendations (thanks Lynn!). Our room was lovely and spotless.It is very conveniently located within the core of the museum area. In the morning you have a nice array of breakfast items to select from and they are ready to make you a delicious espresso or cappaccino - what more could you want? My husband and I had a wonderful experience staying at this bed and breakfast and were fortunate to have a lovely room with its own private balcony.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I visited Florence for 4 days with my sister, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Il Bargello. The location is convenient to the historic center of Florence. We had early morning reservations to the area museums so we missed breakfast each day, but we took full advantage of the rooftop terrace. It was a great place to enjoy an evening bottle of wine, listening to the evening bells & watching the sun go down. The room we had was comfortable, and the room rates were excellent. After a few days, we were even able to make the trip up the several flights of stairs without being too winded! It was a wonderful home base for our first trip to Florence.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Kellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#228 of 409 in Florence
754 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#205 of 409 in Florence
596 reviews
Duomo
Hotel del Corso
Hotel del Corso
#22 of 659 in Florence
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#72 of 659 in Florence
314 reviews
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Charme
B&B Emozioni Charme
#8 of 659 in Florence
273 reviews
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#15 of 659 in Florence
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Bargello B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Bargello B&B

Address: Via De' Pandolfini 33, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $97 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Bargello B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your special “home away from home” in Florence. Come and enjoy the spectacular view from our roof top terrace amidst Florence’s historical Towers. In March 2004, my husband and I opened Bed & Breakfast Il Bargello. Our objective was to create a comfortable and central meeting point for travelers from all over to come together and share their experiences. Located on the 3rd floor (no elevator service) in a historical building dating back to the 1400’s, we created 6 comfortable rooms all with private in suite bathrooms. To satisfy the growing demand for groups & families, in February 2014, we added a self-contained apartment, our Executive Suite located right across the hallway from the Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Bargello B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargello Bed And Breakfast
Il Bargello Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing