We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice kitchen/living room area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Bargello B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Bargello B&B
Ranked #76 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice kitchen/living room area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

We will give 4.5 stars to Il Bargello (Tripadvisor does not allow half star).

Gabriella and Lynn communicated with us via emails before our trip. We went during low season, so the entire B&B was essentially empty (there was only 1 other girl who was staying there).

We stayed in the Michaelangelo room, which was roomy - had 2 twin beds (put together to make it a "queen" bed - but all 3 places we stayed in Italy did the same thing), a small desk, 2 nightstands, a closet, a safe, and a small ottoman. There were heaters and A/C in the room.

Pros:
1. Breakfast was simple but yummy - we had juice, breads, Nutella/jam/butter/PB, yogurt, and cereal. The cappuccino machine was not working on our first day, but Lynn fixed it on the 2nd day.
2. We really liked the kitchen and living room area. We helped ourselves to juice/tea/coffee in the kitchen during the day, and there was a microwave that we could use (but never needed to). There were tons of books that guests could borrow/read in the living room. I read one of the books on Uffizi prior to visiting the museum and found it quite helpful. There was a laptop in the living room area that's free for guests to use. There was also free WiFi for guests.
3. we were too busy to relaxed/enjoyed views from the terrace, but it looked like it would have been lovely to sip tea/coffee there.
4. Food/restaurant recs from Lynn

Neutral:
1. Street noise: tolerable, but it's not during tourist peak season. Although it's on the 3rd floor and it's next to a smaller alley, street noise still reached our room (but it seemed to be a common "problem" in Italy since most buildings were older and have thinner walls/windows).
2. Stairs: we figured it's a good way to burn the calories that we consumed from eating so much gelato/pasta/pizzas.
3. Location: it's about 10-min walk to most major attractions and there were many restaurants nearby. However, Florence is really small, so chances are no matter where you stay, it will be relatively close to everything.

Cons:
1. Water pressure from shower was weak
2. No shampoo/soap provided
3. Although our reservation emails said check-in was before 2pm, it turned out no one would normally sit at the reception desk unless you notified them otherwise. There was a change to our itinerary so we arrived 2.5 hrs earlier than expected. I did email Gabriella the evening prior to notify her of the change, and I figured since we would arrive before check-in time, there should be no problem. However, when we arrived, Gabriella said that we were lucky that she happened to be home early that day, otherwise we would have waited for 2.5 hrs on the street w our luggage.

Room Tip: Michaelangelo room was at the end of the hallway and was roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymousnerak74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    92
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
227
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Was pleasantly surprised by Florence and blown away by Il Bargello. Very comfortable, very convenient to just about everything we wanted to see. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer. Outstanding value.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a nice clean B&B that is decorated like a home. There is a rooftop terrace, a kitchen, and a living room that you can use at anytime. Lynn was very helpful in recommending places to go and eat.

It is centrally located. A short walk you are at the Uffizi Museum or other attractions. Due to its location you may get some minor noise issue from the "alley" down below. You also need to climb 3 levels up to the B&B, which is fine by me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier. First, its in Florence...my favorite European city. Second, its beautifully remodeled and comfortable...including the beds. Third, its got a tremendous location between the Duomo and the Uffizi.....about as good as it gets. Finally, Gabriella and Lynn were great. No complaints. I'd go back again. P.S. the stairs: if you aren't in shape when you arrive you will be when you leave but I really appreciated being well above street level for a quieter stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Valley, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

This is the perfect B&B! My husband and I were on a trip through Italy and got caught in the Cinque Terre flash flood and almost died. We escaped to florence. The only reason we stayed in italy is because this place was so fabulous!
The beds were actually soft and big. We had gotten a room upgrade for free, which is always a bonus! So our room had an outside terrace (where we set out our boots to dry after the flood). There was a computer and internet for everyone to use, good breakfast with a very friendly staff (who spoke english).
They had gotten museum reservations for us. And had great dinner suggestions and got us reservations there as well.
It was the greatest place to stay! The only thing that is would say is that if you physically can't do stairs this might not be the spot for you because it is on the 3rd floor with no elevator. But trust me, it is totally worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We recently stayed at Il Bargello for the third time. We know what to expect (the stairs!!) and are ready for the daily climbs up and down! While it is certainly true that Gabriella, now that she has 2 small children, cannot be on hand the way she was when we first stayed with her 4 years ago, we were very contented with her assistant, Lynn ; we found her to be very outgoing with everyone at breakfast, and more importantly, very knowledgeable about the city and museums. We have stayed in many B&B's in Italy and Spain, but this one is special because of its fantastic location, its common living room and terrace, and also its kitchen which is made open to guests for making tea, snacks, reheating carry-out, etc. These accommodations really help make you feel like you are at home.

Room Tip: I would advise asking for a room on the inside of the old palazzo (that is, not on the street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanapapa-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bargello, Assistant at Il Bargello B&B, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
We really enjoy having you! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are always happy when people feel at home here - a little home away from home - and you rock the cappucci!

See you again soon!

Gabriella and Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

When we booked it was suggested that we park at Royal Parking and have an attendant there drive us to the B & B. Once we finally got to the garage it was an easy and scenic drive to the B & B. When we arrived we were surprised at the amount of stairs to get to the "3rd floor." Worthwhile once you are there! Rooms are small but clean and adequate along with nice bathrooms. A cute kitchen and sitting room (a continental type breakfast and coffee and juice was served in the morning) and a small balcony on top of the B & B provided a beautiful view of the rooftops of Florence along with a peek of the Duomo nearby. Though offers were made to make dinner reservations for us at a number of recommended restaurants we chose to buy food and wine for a light dinner and enjoy it on the balcony.

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are good. We were in the DaVinci room and although there isn't a view fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bargello, Assistant at Il Bargello B&B, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Wine on the balcony - il dolce vita! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is nice to be able to fix a little something for yourself instead of having to always eat out - it gives you a little down time during a hectic day and allows you to really enjoy Florence.

We hope to see you next time you are here!

Gabriella and Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
#240 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Duomo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
#168 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#91 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Badia Fiorentina Bed and Breakfast
Duomo
Hotel del Corso
Hotel del Corso
#28 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#11 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Bargello B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Bargello B&B

Property: Il Bargello B&B
Address: Via De' Pandolfini 33, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Bargello B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of Florence's newest gems situated in a 15th century building in the very heart of downtown Florence. Our cosy, completely NON-smoking home was entirely renovated in 2004. All the rooms have their own private en-suite bathroom with shower, air conditioning, hair dryer, telephone and free wireless internet connection. Also accessible to all of our guests, is a roof-top terrace with a spectacular view of downtown Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Bargello B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargello Hotel Florence
Il Bargello Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing