We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint B&B with a lot of stairs”
Review of Il Bargello B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Bargello B&B
Ranked #76 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint B&B with a lot of stairs”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Great little B&B in the heart of Firenze. We walked from the train station to Il Bargello - about a 15 minute walk. Not so easy when you have to wheel luggage around but we wanted to save the cab fare. There are 7 very long flights of stairs to get to the place. By the last day we were used to it. The rooms are large, clean, and the staff is very friendly. They have great recommendations for tours, food, and anything else you may need. We spent every night on the roof top terrace with a bottle of wine watching the sun set over Firenze. Beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManishaKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    94
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
230
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Perfect place, perfect location. The place is about 10 min walking from the train station and only blocks from the Duomo. Perfect location. Right in the middle of everything, yet quiet and comfortable. And Gabriella and her staff were so accommodating and helpful. The only challenge to this place are the seven flights of stairs - no lift. It's technically on the 3rd floor, but it's really seven flights. However, you get amazingly used to it! We were a family of 8 adults travelling Italy for two weeks, with a 5 night stay in Florence. All the rooms are on one level, with a communal kitchen in the centre. There is also a small living room with a computer for anyone to use. The rooms all have A/C and private bathrooms. It was all very cozy. There is also a tight flight of stairs up to the rooftop patio, which was priceless. This is where the family could get together after a long, hot day and hang out with wine and stories from the day. Then after a good, hard sleep, we all met in the kitchen for coffee and a lovely continental breakfast. This B&B is also a very good value, and you get a discount for paying cash. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The room on the end with the 4 poster bed and balcony is the biggest and has the biggest bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelhound51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Gabrielle does such a great job making you feel at home. Our room was clean and quiet. I felt like I could socialize with other guests but didn't feel pressured to when my husband and I wanted time alone. The little terrace was an added bonus! Gabrielle also gave lots of nice recommendations for places to eat nearby, tours to take, and ideas for day trips outside of Florence. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaQueenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here for five nights in June and had an excellent stay overall. We were in the only room with a private balcony which was small but nice. I thought we would sit out there more often, but there is no shelter covering it so it was way too hot to sit out in the mornings and we tended to prefer sharing the rooftop patio (which offers a table with 6 chairs and an umbrella for shelter) with other guests in the evening. Our bedroom was beautiful! It had a queen size canopy bed, armoire, desk, nightstands, safety deposit box, air conditioning, and a huge ensuite including toilet, bidet, stand-up shower, sink, and storage. There was a fair bit of noise outside but I couldn't notice it when I closed the window (and I'm a very light sleeper!). However, there was one night that we headed to bed early and the guests on the rooftop patio sounded very loud. My only complaint about the bedroom is that the bed was VERY creeky and loud (although comfortable) which led to both my husband and I waking up when one of us rolled over. If they replaced the bed or greased the joints of the bedframe, it would make the room perfect!

Breakfast was plentiful and offered yogurt, cereal, fresh breads, fresh fruit, and cappuccino. My only complaint about breakfast is that the only decaf coffee option was instant coffee. It would be nice if they offered decaf cappuccino or at least fresh coffee.

A few extras: Laptop with internet available for guest use; book exchange; guest fridge available to store snacks (limited room though); instant coffee and tea always available; many flights of stairs to the B&B which is on the top floor; fantastic central location for walkers (not those with vehicles).

Service: I have to be honest and say that I didn't think the service was that great. We weren't greeted very warmly (i.e. we were 1.5hrs late arriving due to transportation issues and the staff scolded us for this several times. I'm not sure why it was a big deal to them because they didn't wait for our arrival, and we weren't upset that they weren't there right away...we knew we would connect at some point that day. It wasn't a great start!, but thankfully got much better). The primary staff person available during week days was not that friendly and I always felt like I was bothering her and that she thought my questions were stupid. On the other hand, Gabriella was available on the weekend and she was very helpful and shared stories of the B&B over breakfast.

Overall, my complaints are small as we loved this place and would return in a heartbeat! It was a comfortable atmosphere that was beautifully decorated and inviting. We’ll definitely stay here again on our next trip to Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of B&B so you're not bothered by people walking past your room at all h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scholarjae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights the first week of July. It is a great place and a wonderful location! After hiking up all the stairs (it helps work off the gelato!), we were greeted by Lynn. She is a very friendly California girl! She answered all of our questions about the area and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. I HIGHLY recommend that you go to Birreria Centrale. (Thanks Lynn!) There are cards by the desk at the B&B. Great food and service and it's just a couple blocks from the hotel.
Our room was very pretty, comfortable and clean. There is hanging storage and a full length mirror (yea!). The bathroom was very nice, the a/c worked great and the bed was comfortable enough. The only downside to the room is the noise, both outside and from the hallway. The windows do not keep much out so you may want to bring earplugs.
Breakfast is served at a communal table in the kitchen and we really enjoyed meeting the other guests and sharing trip stories. Lynn makes great cappuccinos and sets out a beautiful spread. They offer cereal, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, breads, pastries, juice, and nutella (yum!).
The B&B is very comfortable. There is a cozy living room with a computer that guests can use. There is also a lovely rooftop terrace.
To sum it up, B&B Bargello is a wonderful place to stay! We would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamaicagirlnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We chose this B abd B as it was central ,had a roof top terrace and good reviews. We would return on our next visit. The room was large enough, quiet and comfortable with a good shower. The breakfast was excellent and suggestions for eating out were perfect for us. We had a huge thunder storm one night and enjoyed meeting all the other guests in the sitting room as wehung out waiting for the rain to stop.
Thanks Gabrielle .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roscoeBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We just got back from our honeymoon and the Il Bargello B&B was our first stop. It was our favorite B&B we stayed at while in Italy! It is at a great location and the breakfast that is served in the morning was the best. You do have to climb about 70 steps to reach the B&B but it is so worth it. We had a room with a private terrance and it was so nice just to sit outside with a bottle of wine. I highly recommend Il Bargello B&B!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobaugo0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
#286 of 675 in Florence
87 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#82 of 675 in Florence
297 reviews
Duomo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
#210 of 675 in Florence
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
#57 of 675 in Florence
310 reviews
Duomo
B&B Residenza della Signoria
B&B Residenza della Signoria
#71 of 675 in Florence
344 reviews
San Lorenzo
Guest House Bel Duomo
Guest House Bel Duomo
#45 of 675 in Florence
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Bargello B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Bargello B&B

Property: Il Bargello B&B
Address: Via de Pandolfini 33, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Bargello B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of Florence's newest gems situated in a 15th century building in the very heart of downtown Florence. Our cosy, completely NON-smoking home was entirely renovated in 2004. All the rooms have their own private en-suite bathroom with shower, air conditioning, hair dryer, telephone and free wireless internet connection. Also accessible to all of our guests, is a roof-top terrace with a spectacular view of downtown Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Il Bargello B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargello Bed And Breakfast
Il Bargello Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing