We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great apartment and location, shame about the noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi
Ranked #229 of 315 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, suite was exactly as pictured on website. Lovely building, apartment had tiled floors throughout, huge windows with quaint shutters and antique furniture. It was clean and comfortable, although there were about 6 lightbulbs needed replacing throughout the rooms!
The location was excellent, in less than 10 minutes we were in centre at the Dome, just following a straight road. Even from Santa Maria Novella station, it was 20 minutes walk. Everything in the centre is within walking distance, and I think this is the best way to see the sights of the cit, and saves on taxi fares!
The only problem with the apartment was the noise, it was incredible! On the Saturday night there was live music playing in the piazza outside, and every night until the early hours there was a constant noise of people passing by outside and sitting chatting in the piazza, then after the noise died down, we were awakened before 6am by the sound of the street being swept (and there always seemed to be bottles to sweep up!!) and the sound of people outside again.
Due to the noise, I would not stay here again, but would try somewhere not quite so close to the centre.
The towels were also not changed and there was no service in the apartment for the full 4 days of our stay, or on the 5th morning when we left, although this is supposed to happen every 3 days - at least there were extra towels in the wardrobe, and it was warm enough for towels to dry quite quickly when hung up.
Florence is a beautiful city, and there is plenty to see and do, I would recommend getting the Firneze Card, which gets you entry to about 30+ museums/ galleries and also allows free bus travel (local buses, not the open-top tour bus) and lasts for 72 hours, if you go to 3 or 4 museums then you cover the cost of the card, 50euros, so anything else is a bonus!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 218 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked this apartment through lastminute.com as a secret hotel. When we arrived t was a little unclear as to which door we should use. I've read some mixed reviews about this place and overall I can't understand them. Our apartment is massive. It has two double bedrooms, one en-suite. Large shuttered windows and rooms bathed in Florentine light. We paid £155 for 3 nights here on last minute which is exceptional value. I can't comment on how much it would be booking direct.
The supermarket is just down the street and it is a big market. The apartment's kitchen is well equipped and we have cooked both nights because we're a bit tired of eating out. Apartment has a laundry room, with dryer.
Apartment is centrally located, main tourist sights are about 10min walk.
We had really enjoyed it here and from our experience, the staff have been friendly and helpful, contrary to some other reviews.
We would say here again and bring friends because the place is perfect for it. I add that outside noise was minimal.

Room Tip: Ask for Dante apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courts_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked this apartment thru AA vacations. The great online pictures and amenities advertised are meant to trick unsuspecting tourists into booking these apartments. The apartment was shabby and sparsely furnished with a few pieces of dilapidated furniture. The apartment did not match the online pictures!
Many areas in the apartment did not seem to have been cleaned for a long time. The floors were dirty and got your feet black. The dishwasher was not unloaded nor were the previous occupants clothes removed from the drawers. The air-conditioning was ineffective and the apartment was hot hot hot especially at night.
The lady who showed us the apartment noted that the breakfast supplies and bath supplies were insufficient for the number of people that were booked to stay. But did not bother to follow thru on her promise of sending the needed supplies. The staff also forgot to replenish the breakfast items for two days of our stay.
According to one of their websites, there is “a safe-deposit box at the reception desk.” When I enquired about it I was abruptly informed by the receptionist that this was an apartment and not a hotel.
I would not stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for a week, and I'm unsure what kind of review to give it. I think some of your satisfaction (or lack thereof) might depend on which apartment you end up in.

Our apartment (Michelangelo I believe) was gorgeous. The rooms are HUGE, the ceilings are so high it's incredible! We had a large lounge with kitchen; a bedroom with twin beds; a bedroom with a queen and a loft area attached to that bedroom with another queen bed.

The lounge and room with twin beds were both great during the day. Two couches for sitting, a table with lots of chairs for meals - it's all good. The bedroom with two twin beds had plenty of room for moving around, and both these rooms had fabulous views over Firenze towards the mountains.

The downside with these two rooms was night time. Three floors below was a bar, which has an area of it on the street. It is SUPER noisy until about 3-4am. Around 4-5am the crazy woman comes out and starts shouting. So if you're hoping to sleep, bring earplugs. The super kind!

The other bedroom was in the middle of the apartment complex (so not on the street front). It had zero views, but also no so much noise. The problem with this room was the attached loft. The loft is to the side of the bedroom, and is essentially above the bathroom (remember, the ceilings are really high?). Unfortunately there is no window up in the loft and no air. It's hot, hot, hot and dark and no way to alleviate that. The stairs up the loft area are TINY circular stairs. I don't know how exactly you'd get a suitcase up there, it's hard enough to get yourself up there! It is basically unusable in the heat of the summer, and not very useful unless you have older kids who are happy to negotiate the stairs and won't need to get up to the toilet in the night.

Also, it is attached to the other bedroom, so you'd have to have people in there who really like each other. There is also no soundproofing between the rooms, so prepare to be woken every time someone uses the bathroom.

Which brings me to the bathrooms! There are two. One is huge and has a great bath tub and toilet. Lots of space - but it's kind of hard (at least for us Americans) to use a bath tub for cleaning. I like shower. The 2nd bathroom (attached to the other bedroom) has a shower, but it's a really tiny one, and the shower handle is constantly falling off (onto your foot!!)

The apartment was nice and clean, although they do not clean it during the week at all, so it's all up to you to take out your own trash (and out onto the street, not just within the building).

The internet is expensive, but we managed to piggy-back on a free network we were picking up from the cafe or something across the road.

The building is well situated - a little out of the real center of Firenze, but within walking distance of plenty of things. Our VERY favorite was the gorgeous market a couple of blocks away with wonderful fruits, veges, meat and cheese. There is also a "conventional" supermarket about a block away, which was really convenient.

We weren't incredibly impressed with the reception staff, but neither did we have any problems with them, so I can't really comment on that.

All in all it worked out, but we were very disappointed about the noise, and that the loft area was not usable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street (with good views) are going to be so noisy you won't be able to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EightyKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I wish they could get it together at this place because the concept is soo good, and so is the location. They have some serious problems with the receptionists: 1. the younger Italian one with glasses is really rude and condescending and I would fire her if I was managing the place (unemployable) and she says really rude things about the other receptionist who is there during the day. 2. the cleaning staff seem to always miss something like forget to leave towels or toilet paper or coffee filters or dish soap or dishwasher tablets, do not unload the dishwasher when people change apartments and lots of the pots, pans and plates are not clean or have old bits of food on them. they also open the windows and let lots of bugs in. 3. there is a bar downstairs and if you are UNLUCKY enough to have an apartment facing the street, you are screwed. I am a heavy heavy sleeper and I couldnt sleep. the other people I was with are light sleepers and had an awefull time. 4. everything seems to require updating. seems like the place where the owner would be cheap and doesnt fix or improve anything unless it has totally callopsed. 5. a note to the owner/sales and marketing: please get it together. the apartments have so much potential. you need to do something and do it fast.

Room Tip: Make sure to get one on the back side of the hotel. Do not leave the windows open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItalianLoveAffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Travel in a group of four, booked this apartment for 480 Euro for three nights.

Check in process was a bit slow but then most of the service in Italy are slow. The apartment is located in Good location. I booked a one bed room apartment, it was very clean and spacious, the sofa bed in the living room is too soft to sleep on, the air conditioner is a bit old it dried up the room very quickly, in generally it was ok.

It also has laundry room on the second floor you can use for free, you will need your own washing liquid though, many restaurant near by.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamsurfergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A comfortable apartment and had everything we needed except washer and drier which were shared. With the amount of students staying at the apartments it was hard to get a turn. But we managed. The cleanliness of the bathroom was average but it was quiet ( we were at the back) and in a great spot so we could walk to all the major sites.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cccholee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#314 of 410 in Florence
601 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#260 of 410 in Florence
714 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#190 of 410 in Florence
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#239 of 410 in Florence
561 reviews
Duomo
Strozzi Palace Hotel
Strozzi Palace Hotel
#120 of 410 in Florence
619 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
De Rose Palace Hotel
De Rose Palace Hotel
#226 of 410 in Florence
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi

Address: Piazza Dei Ciompi 18, 50100, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 315 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $78 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi formerly "Palazzo Pascolutti- Giani" is a 19th Century building composed of 21 completely renovated suite apartments. The Palazzo Dei Ciompi suite apartments was previously home to the "Accademia dei Risoluti", which gave birth to the Florence theatre named "Alfieri". On the main gate there is an engraving of the "Cavallo Sfrenato" ( the galloping horse) symbol of the "Accademia dei Risoluti" whose motto was "valoroso destrier passa e non cura", (brave horse passing without fear). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Msnsuite Apartments Palazzo Dei Ciompi Hotel Florence
Palazzo Dei Ciompi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing