We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montreal
Ranked #112 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

They were so nice to contact me immediately after making the reservation that the room was on the third floor by stairs, so they wanted to give me the chance to change if needed. I was going on vacation and traveling light, so I decided to take it. It was a long way up, though totally worth it! The location was fabulous, just a couple of blocks from the train station. The staff, super friendly!

Room Tip: If you are fit, and traveling light, the third (actually the fourth in the US) is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    246
    94
    28
    13
See reviews for
115
293
70
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a budget hotel capitalizing on tourist season. I paid 200 euro for the first night for a 3rd floor walk up with a broken AC during the last week of May (worst sleeping experience through all of Italy). The rooms are gross and the beds are uncomfortable. Some staff members are friendly, some aren't- The location is prime, but that's about it.

I would never stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DDaniel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cicisbeo, Direttore at Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Sir,
we are so sorry and surprised to read your unsatisfied opinion that you didn’t explain during your 4 nights stay in our Hotel.
As explained at check in time the air conditioning on the third floor had broken down in the morning and we could not fix it because it was Saturday and you responded that there were no problems; for the inconvenience we were sorry, we included breakfast (otherwise extra) and with the promise of changing room in the morning the day after; the next morning (Sunday) we moved you on the 1st floor in room 106 (no stairs) with the air conditioning (the problem was only on the third floor because on the first and on the second floor worked without problems). During the following week we also fixed the air conditioning on the third floor and still now it’s working in all the Hotel.
The first day we assigned you a room on the third floor because you reserved the room in our Dependance that as explained on all our sites and an our further email is located on the third floor and is not serviced by a lift.
We are sorry about the situation and we remain at your disposal for other infomations
Best regards.
The manager
Silvia Lo Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The location of this small but very pleasant hotel which gave excellent value for money can not really be beaten. It was a mere 5 mins (if that) away from Santa Maria Novella Station and a stones throw from the church of the same name. All the major sites were within walking distance, the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We had no problems whatsoever with the time we were there. It was also extremely useful to be able to leave the luggage there as well until we were ready to catch our coach to go to the airport. All in all an excellent choice and we would stay there again if we ever went back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

When we first time coming Firenze with worry and strange, the receiptor in Hotel Monteal with lovely smile and nice English, detail introduce the hotel facility,locol traffic and touring points even caculating out the necessary walking time, suddently we feel like coming back the home. You know, this is so important to guest who from faraway east countries along. After that, we spent very pleasure two days in lovely Firenze.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiongyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrara, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just minutes from the train station and with everything within walking distance this was ideally located. Staff at all times were very helpful and more than happy to pass on advice, give power adaptors, allow bags to be kept pre and post check in /out. Room was basic but large and suitably comfortable. Did not try the breakfast as we had early bookings at the galleries but at 5EUR would have been worth a try.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandmanGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had a good stay at Hotel Montreal and would consider staying here again. The proximity to the train station makes it very convenient (for a day trip to Pisa) or to catch a train for an onward journey. The room was slighlty larger than an average European hotel room and was very clean. The staff were friendly and were quite fluent in English which is always helpful. There are a few restaurants on the same street and you will find more around the Piazza di Santa Maria Novella just down the road. All in all Hotel Montreal provided good value for money

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taz2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, On
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Only a few minute walk from the train station and a 10-15 minute walk from the Duomo. Due to how compact Florence is, this hotel is in a great spot for seeing the attractions.

We had a quad room on the 3rd floor. It was a bit of a walk (2 flights of stairs and down a hallway), but not an issue for us. The room is fairly basic, but was clean and had everything needed for our stay. Room was fairly large for our family.

Staff was good, especially Erica who was extremely friendly and helpful.

Did not include breakfast, but you could pay 5 euro pp. The breakfast was basic, but adequate and a decent value for 5 euro.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamielidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#89 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#86 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#115 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#83 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#74 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#110 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montreal

Property: Hotel Montreal
Address: Via della Scala 43, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in Florence
#153 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montreal 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Montreal is a cozy family-run hotel located in the heart of Florence, a short walk from Santa Maria Novella Station and close to the main tourist attractions of the city. Here you will find a comfortable atmosphere and a friendly and caring staff, ready to help you organizing a memorable stay in Florence. The rooms, decorated in typical Florentine style, are newly renovated and come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, soundproofed windows and walls and LCD screens. Some of the rooms are reachable only by stairs (no elevator). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing