We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and very close to the city centre”
Review of Hotel Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Montreal
Ranked #176 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Swansea, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service and very close to the city centre”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Hotel is literally a 5 minute walk from the railway station and the city's main squares and attractions, so we were literally able to drop off our bags and go out and explore. Erika couldn't have been more helpful throughout the stay and provided lots of tips and advice. We had a spacious family 'dependence' room on the 3rd floor, which was fine for our one night stay. Our only wish was that we had spent another night in Florence - one day/one night was not enough!

Room Tip: Don't choose a dependence room on the 3rd floor if you have mobility issues or lots of luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swansea61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    272
    105
    30
    20
See reviews for
125
326
77
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is very well located, it's close to the main railway station and you can easily walk to the main attractions of the city. The room was quite neat and comfortable, although a bit small. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinicius_RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

good location, right next to the station. ten mintues from all main sites, (ten minutes walk with PRAM!). we stayed with our five month old, and had a warm and friendly reception staff (esp Erica!) they provided alot of info and help regarding moving around florence and even to pisa. they book tickets for uffizzi gallery as well as the academia for no extra cost except for the official prebooking charge. breakfast is repetitive and could have been better, it is vegetarian. shower is very small. highly reccomend this for family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnyaneshLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We travelled in late June and stayed for 3 nights in a triple sharing room. Room was big and we did not feel squeezed at all. It was also very very clean and comfortable. Toilet was also big and clean with excellent shower. What impressed us the most was the superb service of this reception staff, Erika. She was the first person we saw when we checked in and gave us the loviest smile throughout our stay which made us felt very welcome. We wanted help with tickets to Accadamia and Ufizi and also about making a day trip to Pisa and she helped us very expeditiously on it. She also told us that the hotel has a special rate for lunch and dinner with a restaurant just a few units away. As half of our money was stolen earlier when we were in Lucerne, the deal of Euro 9 per person which included a first course, a second course and a dessert was really helpful. The food was good too which was a bonus. On our last day, we wanted to get rid of our coins so we gave it to Erika to pay for our hotel bill. It was actually 5 cents short but we didn't realised. Without telling us, Erika dipped into her own pocket to come out with the five cents so that she didn't have to return us the coins we wanted to rid off. When we realised what she has done, we were really touched! This was really top notch excellent service which came straight from the heart. We left Florence with fond memories of our stay in Hotel Montreal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was a decent price and location next to airport bus shuttle and SMN stations, which is very convenient. Staff was friendly and helpful. Somehow I got a large room for a single (full bed) which was quiet from street noise and dark to avoid daylight. As others mentioned, the elevator serves the first floor but there are 3 rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors which will require you to carrry your luggage up steps. It was not a huge deal for me, but could be for others. Several restaurants, coffee shops, gelaterias nearby. Plus: free inernet. Minus: awkward shower and noisy air conditioning, limited elevator. Would stay again

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank sc120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I spent 4 nights in this rahther small hotel in the center of Florence. It is just around the corner of the main station and a few minutes walk to all main attractions. There is also a very nice restaurant just beside the hotel.
The staff is very friendly and you always get help and advise. The rooms and bathrooms are nothing special but comfortable and very clean. The only negtaive points were that my single room was just beside the elavator which meant a lot of noise and the breakfast (which is included in the price) was not very diversified.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at the Hotel Montreal at the end of June.

The Good Points:
The hotel is in a really convinient location, about a 5 minute walk from the train station (which we used to get from Pisa Airport to Florence and back very easily and cheaply!). It is also in a very convinient location to all the sights in Florence, although Florence is a very small and easily navigable city.

The room itself had a TV (no English channels but 'The Cosby Show' in Italian was on regularly!) and was clean. Towels were replaced on a daily basis and the room was cleaned daily.

We personally found the staff on the front desk to be very helpful and friendly. Particularly the young girl who was on the desk most daytimes, we asked her the location of something and she was able to give us a map, showing where lots of things were and the bus routes - very helpful!

The Not So Good Points:

The room was quite small and dark and was in need of re-decoration. Nothing major I suppose you get what you pay for.

The room smelled quite musky. I used the shower on one of the first evenings, it was a sort of wet room set up, and after a short shower came out and the carpet outside the bathroom had got very wet. The wooden door of the bathroom was all rotten at the bottom and this led me to believe I was not the first person to have done this! After it dried (a few days) there was a really, really strong mould smell (probably where others had done this before us) it was not pleasant and something I'd really recommend they sort out...put in shower cubicles, put a seal round the door...something!

Conclusion:

All in all this is a cheap and cheerful hotel in the heart of the city. You get what you pay for and don't expect 5 star luxury. The hotel is clean and in a fantastic location so if that's what is important to you then I would reccommend.

A few points about Florence:
Be prepared for beggars. They are everywhere, persistent and a real problem. I am a young girl and at the train station as I was loading my bag on, men took it from me and my partner quickly, put it near a seat and held out their hands for money...beware!

Be prepared to budget more than you expect...food is quite expensive as are entry fees.

Keep your tickets to museums, sometimes this gives you cheaper entry to other museums.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#89 of 412 in Florence
756 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#219 of 412 in Florence
491 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#117 of 412 in Florence
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#156 of 412 in Florence
270 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#124 of 412 in Florence
120 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#260 of 412 in Florence
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montreal

Property: Hotel Montreal
Address: Via della Scala 43, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in Florence
#153 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montreal 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Montreal is a cozy family-run hotel located in the heart of Florence, a short walk from Santa Maria Novella Station and close to the main tourist attractions of the city. Here you will find a comfortable atmosphere and a friendly and caring staff, ready to help you organizing a memorable stay in Florence. The rooms, decorated in typical Florentine style, are newly renovated and come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, soundproofed windows and walls and LCD screens. Some of the rooms are reachable only by stairs (no elevator). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing