We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel not hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
Ranked #258 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

As soon as you enter the building you know this is not going to be good, a very small rickety lift takes you to reception on the second floor and only goes as far as the fourth floor so if you have large bags you have to carry them up to the fifth floor if that is were you are staying. Our room still had the dirty linen from the previous occupants on the floor outside as we arrived, the room was grubby and had the smallest shower imaginable, hardly room to move (and I am of average size). During the night we were inundated with mosquitoes we killed at least 20 and therefore had very little sleep in the morning there were still 15-20 on the ceiling. At breakfast there was a large party of schoolchildren dominating the dining area which did not make for a relaxing time.
We paid a100 euros for this awful place and the only good thing about it is the view.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for commenting.
You have found dirty linen on the floor of the corridor at your arrival, because we allowed you to enter the room before the check in time, thought it as a favour, instead of letting you wait the 2 pm.
Unfortunately we have mosquitos in the hotel, as well as all in Florence. This is why we provide electric emanators for killing them, customers have only to plug in the electric device to kill the mosquitos.
As for the hostel, I'm wonder why you don't have mention the wonderful private patio you had in your room...We are ready to get bad fair comments, not bad unfair ones.
According to locals laws we are a fair 3 star hotel.
In your room the shower is 80x80, not that big, your are right, but not that small either.
Lifts in the city centre, since it is a very ancient town with ancient buildings, are often small, we have a 4 people elevator, and , believe me or not, not one of the smallest in town.
It reaches only the fourth floor because there is not enough room for the engine on the fifth floor, You had a free upgrade to a room with view, though you had to climb few steps, if you weren't glad we could provide you a standard no view room at a lower floor, again we thought to do a favour, as you didn't say anything; I remember very well I offered my help to bring your luggages and you kindly refused.

Kind regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 582 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here in April and after reading mostly positive reviews on the hotel we decided to go ahead and book in for 4 nights.

The hotel itself is situated in a decent location around 15-20min walk from the Duomo with many shops and eateries around for convenience plus close to a couple of bus stops. The hotel appears to be in an apartment type building, use either the stairs or the lift to get to reception on the second floor, the lift is quite tight if you have large bags so maybe consider the stairs.

The staff are friendly and kindly upgraded our room to a panoramic view of the Duomo which was a nice touch. The room however was in need of a touch up on the paintwork, many cracks and scuffs along with general updating and cleaning, there was a bit of mould on the wall above the shower and a fair bit of dust build up in the air con unit which could cause a problem in the summer for anyone suffering bad chests or throat.

The hotel advertises itself in a welcome card as being environmentally conscious so don't be alarmed if your tv doesn't switch on, as you will need to plug it in, save electricity! Also there are ornaments in the room made from recycled plastic bottles which was weird to begin with but you get used to the quirky nature of the place.

Nice comfy bed and a generous amount of pillows were a welcome change to many 3-star hotels I've stayed in, the only other gripe in the room was the lack of soundproofing, you can clearly hear your neighbour taking a shower or a shi.....you know what I mean.

We didn't take breakfast at the hotel due to very early starts on the trip but it was included, the WI-FI comes via a code available at reception.

Overall the hotel could do with some updating and a good scrub but other than that if you are a budget traveller in need of a comfy bed during off-peak tourist season this hotel isn't a bad option for the price.

Room Tip: The panoramic room's with a view are worth going for
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for commenting!
It happen that the remote control can't switch off the tv when it need new batteries...it's not something made on purpose, obviously.
You have got the spirit of the place: it's unusual, we admit it! Someone like it, someone doesn't.
BTW you haven't mention the great view from your room, hope you have enjoyed!
Ciao
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We recently stayed here April 6th. It's a neat little place that was well worth the money we spent. Well within walking distance of just about everything there is to see. The rooms were clean and well kept. Nice bathrooms. The breakfast was great in the morning. Juice, coffee, pastries, jam, cereal. The entire staff was very helpful in opening wine for us, giving directions, helping with the internet. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The owner Christina is just a sweetheart. It's not The Breakers in Palm Beach, but it's not supposed to be. It's just a well maintained small hotel in the heart of an ancient city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you!!! Though your stay was short we all remember you and we send you all our wishes!
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A lovely hotel run by sisters. Most of the staff are woman and all are unfailingly helpful. The location is close to the city centre,, right by San Marco museum, (well worth a visit for the first floor frescoes.)
Rooms are pleasant, breakfast more than adequate, atmosphere warm and welcoming. The only slight downs are a twitchy WiFi, (fine once you do get connected) and the lack of a kettle in the bedroom. Otherwise I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 335KenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your comment! And since we are near the 8th of March, let me cheers all the women of hospitality field and also the travelling women :)
Have future great trips!
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed 4 nights here and were very satisfied with our choice; good location, decent sized room, bed comfortable, good choice at breakfast with fantastic views from the breakfast room. Some good restaurants within easy walking distance - try Via delle Ruote. Staff were friendly and the room was clean. For the price we paid it surpassed our expectations and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for commenting!
We always offer competitive rates, though prices depend on season.
Kind regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Location of the hotel is very good...short walking distance from major sites and ample food options around the area. also supermarket open till 11pm 3 minutes walk from the hotel. price of the hotel is of the cheapest you can find in florence and for the price you pay its good. staff were very helpful. rooms clean with very old furniture. wifi free available too. recommended for those on a budget and want a decent room with private bathroom close to the center of florence.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for commenting!
Wish you nice trips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Here for three nights its in a decent location only about 10-15 mins walk to most of the , major sights, good sized rooms and helpful staff. The breakfast area is lovely with great views over the city, room is warm but it just feels overly sterile (not like super clean but almost as if it used to be ahospital and isnt any more) there just seems to be a flat atmosphere... other than that its very nice.
On a side note at the time im staying here the swimming pool is deffinatly not able to be used... about 6 inches of water that it a very dark green and think there are a few dead birds in it... maybe the clean it up for summer but yeah.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for commenting!
Just a note: unfortunately the swimming pool doesn't belong to us. It's a private property.
Have nice new trips,
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Panama
#238 of 411 in Florence
420 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#143 of 411 in Florence
723 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enza
Hotel Enza
#223 of 411 in Florence
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florent
#171 of 411 in Florence
175 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#271 of 411 in Florence
583 reviews
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#289 of 411 in Florence
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 60, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#100 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $80 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Panorama is a 2 star budget hotel in the center of Florence with a marvellous panoramic view of the city. We are located close to the Accademia Art Gallery, the Cathedral and the Convention Centre and only at 15 minutes walking distance from the main railway station. All rooms have private facilities and private telephone - a satellite tv set is at guest's disposal in the Reception Hall as well as some safety boxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing