We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
Ranked #262 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Was excited about the hotel having rooms with private bathrooms, air conditioning and the option of a gluten free breakfast. There was no problem checking in and getting to our room (good few flights of stairs)although the girl at the desk seemed shocked that we were staying 7 nights. the room itself was nice, ag ood size and clean. The floor of our terrace was covered in a plastic tarpaulin that had stagnant water pooling on it. There was also a empty pack of cigarettes out there that remained there for the duration of our stay. We had paid extra for the 'romance package' to include a bottle of prossecco an a breakfast in our room. We had ask for these and never recieved breakfast in our room. The air conditioning was ser at 24 degrees and can only be turned up not down because, as we were told by the man at reception, its an 'eco hotel' and that 24 was cool enough anyway. 24 was far too hot, considering it was 35+ outside. Not that I think our room actually got as low as 24. The hotel website claims that they offer a gluten free breakfast option, so I e-mailed ahead to inform them of our requirements. On arrival the receptionist was unaware of this request as there was no note on our booking. When I asked the staff serving breakfast they simply said they didn't know what I meant and walked back into the kitchen. Rather disappointed, since a gluten free breakfast is hard to come by in Italy and it was one of my reasons for booking.
Sorry but wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your comment!
We apologize for the plastic on the balcony floor, unfortunately the heavy rain of the last month have passed through the floor, and we had to cover it with plastic waiting for the fixing. Since your long stay, we thought you could enjoy anyway a larger room with balcony, though not in its better days.
Anyway, we just have to apologise, since we have missed in welcome you properly: first forgetting the romantic packages ( put in your room after your arrival and not before) and secondary for the gluten free breakfast. The lady at the breakfast didn't understand, we had bought the gluten free stuff for you just the day before your arrival!
About the breakfast served in the room, we don't dare to enter in the morning in the room unless you don't order the breakfast, you never call us ordering the breakfast in the room.

We are an eco friendly hotel and we consider that could be a good deal put the temperature down of 11 degrees when outside is 35 degrees and contribute to keep the environment better. We have setted the minimum at 24 degrees according to experts and technicians.

Sorry again for all we have missed with you.
Kind regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 592 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

The location of the hotel is a drawback, don't try walking to it from the train station. Hire a cab. The people at the hotel including the cleaning staff, receptionist, etc are very friendly and helpful. The room sizes are good. We were traveling with two kids, they had made the necessary arrangements. It was pretty warm in the room as it was April, but the air conditioner wasn't on, some government rule was cited for it. The breakfast served was good and had various options and was very satisfying.
Another drawback is that they don't check you in before 2pm, as we had arrived at 11am, we were asked to wait at the reception, which can be trying, but the staff lets you use the facilities like wash room, wifi etc and can get you coffee too.
We dropped the luggage at the reception and went for the Pisa tour, on getting back we found our luggage had bee transferred to the clean rooms.. It was a great relief.
If you are used to large bathrooms then it will be a problem. The bathrooms don't have enough space to take a turn inside. They are very small.
Otherwise it's a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to reach after 2 pm as they don't check you in before that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pushpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for commenting! We are glad you liked us :) . About the walking, if you come to Florence you will walk a lot. The city is small enough to have a walkable city centre, beside is not allowed to drive in.
Warm regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel isn't for those with walking difficulty as on my floors. The receptionist was very friendly and the room was fine for one or two nights for the price as having read reviews previously we were pleased with our choice. Good view from the breakfast room. The breakfast was disappointing as all the ingredients were of below average quality - pity as it was a good place and fairly central.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy if opening the windows as main road for buses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoganini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your comment!

We are sorry you haven't appreciate our breakfast. Can't understand actually what you didn't like since we offer many things. Jams are made with the 50% of fruit, that is much more the average industrial confetures. Milk is fresh, from Italy. Coffee is either fresh (for Italian expresso and cappuccino) or podwer, anyway bothof the best quality we have found (Caffè Pellini- Rating 1 from Dun & Bradstreet agency on 2004), croissants and brad are Le Tre Marie, one of the best and renowed brand of Italy.Salt and sweet cakes are baked by ourselves. Fresh fruit depend on season, sometimes tastes better than other times.
We provide also fresh egg and butter.
Juices are not fresh, maybe you can consider this as low quality. This is for organisation reasons.
Maybe you haven't like some and (hopefully) like some others things.
Kind regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was scared to stay here after reading recent reviews of the mold and bug problem, however I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness. Our view was wonderful from the bathroom and the bathroom was fairly large. We even had a tv in our room. There was a wide variety of choices for breakfast. There was one very friendly lady at the front desk and another not so friendly one. Everything was in walking distance. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verno87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank your for commenting! We had mold problem, since was so wet and cold as ever in this late spring. Sometimes problems rise, but we are ready to face them ( and fix things)!
We apologize if someone wasn't kind with you.
Kind regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

First of all, very perfect welcome from the staff. Very good breakfast and cleaness of the room, and at the and the position near the centre of the City. Very nice handcraft made by Cristina for Easter period, that we found on the table for breakfast.......Very magic idea!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: our room was perfect for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vincenzo0458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you! It's very nice hear you've appreciate my little Easter Chicken :) !
Kind regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

As a young couple we have stayed here for a night in March. Hence can't comment on mosquito issue.The view from our room -had to pay a premium for that- was probably the only good thing to talk about this hotel. And the location is very central. But I don't agree this is a 3 star hotel, it is rather a hostel with private bathrooms -as another traveler quite rightly pointed out-, for young people, maybe mostly for backpackers. However, the staff was polite and helpful. though we did not have much of an interaction nor any request. So, yes, it may be an OK place to stay for some and not so OK for others. Best to have a look before you pay - with many alternatives around, you will not have a major problem finding another place..

Room Tip: pay for a premium and go to a higher room with magnificent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brotherjacklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for commenting! Hotel Panorama is a 3 stars hotels because it provides all the services required to be a 3 star hotel according to our local laws, and actually something more:
reception 24 hours; bar; bathroom, hair dryier, fridge, A/C, TV, WIFI, in every room; That said, you can still don't like our hotel, of course, but for other reasons.
Kind regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

iiillucky1iii is harsh but, all in all, her view of Hotel Panorama is more along the lines of what we experienced as opposed to all these 4 and 5 star ratings out there. Don't pre-pay for this place. You are far better served arriving in Florence and looking at rooms BEFORE shelling out the cash. There is not a chance we'd have stayed at the this place if we'd been given a tour before laying down the cheddar. That said, it might be a reasonable selection for some. Just look at it first. Don't freak out that you won't find lodging. You will. Trust me. We did when we left before our stay ended here because we couldn't take it anymore. It was the smartest decision we made over 19 wonderful days in Europe.

All disclaimers aside, here are the facts:

It should not be advertised as a 3 star facility (in fact, I believe on some sites it's listed as a 2 star facility.) This is a HOSTEL w/private bathrooms.

There are tons of mosquitos. The problem could be EASILY remedied by the installation of summer screens on the windows. We were told the "infamous" bug zappers were toxic; literally, they told us to not be in the room when we ran the machine. Toxic. Verbatim. The rooms cannot be manually temperature controlled, meaning it got HOT if the windows weren't open. When the windows were open, the mosquito feast began. My wife woke up with welts all over her face from the bites. I am a colder sleeper, so I was wrapped into a little blanket casing; I was spared the bites, but only because the only exposed skin was my nose, eyes, and mouth.

The floors/walls/furniture/lights/paint/etc is all.....old. dingy. depressing. dirty. We stayed in the economy room, so we can't speak for the other rooms, but I know that their upgraded rooms were more expensive than the 4 star hotel we stayed at after leaving. Why would I pay that much to even risk it?

The bathroom was adequate, however, the shower stall (again, economy room) was literally for humans that are 90 lbs and 4 feet tall. I'm not joking. Again, someone from the hotel will likely respond saying that we should have gotten an "upgraded" room, but, at the upgrade price, there are a million better options in Florence. Also, we did ask to see one. There were none available.

I won't give it one star because it is an economic option in a European city. My wife and I are now self aware enough to understand that we might be more needy than the average European traveler, so I can't rightfully say this is downright as bad as it gets. Unfortunately, I'm inclined to say it's pretty darn close.

Again, you'll likely see a response from the owner answering most of the questions, but my one and only piece of advice is to not pre-pay and see it first. If that's not an option, and you're even on the fence, look elsewhere.

Thanks for reading. Cheers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoJeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your comment. As I can read our place it's not your cup of tea. We are sorry we have disappointed you; some appreciate, some, as you, don't. You are right: better be aware about the place you are going to choose. We have real pictures on several website, we have shooted also the older bathroom, not only the newest; the smaller rooms, not only the larger.
About mosquito, window screens can work at home, not in a public place where some care and some don't. We provide killer tablets that are not dangerous for human being, just for mosquitos. I myself use the same at home.
Kind regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
B&B Hotel Firenze City Center
#274 of 410 in Florence
670 reviews
Hotel Masaccio
#268 of 410 in Florence
178 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#156 of 410 in Florence
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#117 of 410 in Florence
462 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#303 of 410 in Florence
245 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#129 of 410 in Florence
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 60, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#100 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $55 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Panorama is a 2 star budget hotel in the center of Florence with a marvellous panoramic view of the city. We are located close to the Accademia Art Gallery, the Cathedral and the Convention Centre and only at 15 minutes walking distance from the main railway station. All rooms have private facilities and private telephone - a satellite tv set is at guest's disposal in the Reception Hall as well as some safety boxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing