We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, quite and spacious room but problematic location”
Review of Bed & Bed Peterson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bed & Bed Peterson
Ranked #387 of 651 Florence B&B and Inns
london
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“clean, quite and spacious room but problematic location”
Reviewed August 18, 2008

stayed for 3 nights and our overall experience was excellent except from the location.

Room was quiet, clean and very spacious - something you can only expect in standard 3 star hotels. However, the location is a bit problematic. It is close to the main train station but it is located very far from major tourism interests (they are on the other side of the train station!) especially when there was a construction work which made the road dirty and hard to follow.

A good point is, if you want to travel by bus, it is very convenient as there is a stop downstairs and several bus termination stops on the way to train station.

Lobby has tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge to share (ideally if you want simple food and chilled drink).

there are two supermarkets near the train station, both on the direction to the B&B.

  • Liked — clean, quiet and spacious
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    41
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
12
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

This is a bit old, but my friends and I stayed here last November (Nov 07) and loved it. We paid 65 euros for our triple room (with private bath) the room was very clean and so was the bathroom. Location wise it's close to the train station, though on the west end of the station (most sights are east of the station) the walk to the train station is about 5 minutes and 15 min to the San Lorenzo market. For the price we thought this place was great and even in terms of location, it's not too far. Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ayz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

The place is very close to the train station. A good choice if this is your first stop. Directions given by the owners to get there is accurate. Rooms are very clean and owners really do make sure the apartment is spotlessly clean. Love it! Good sense of deco, each room has it's own theme. Outside the rooms there's a table where you can pick up a free map, travelling books and magazine you can loan. Very thoughtful. Make sure you look inside the free map for free food coupons. We had a cheap meal at McDs with the Buy 1 free 1 coupon!

Rooms are quite eventhough it faces the main road. You can take the busses to the train stop and take another bus to the old town.

Only problem is if there was an emergency, think you'd run out of your mind. Owners only there from 9am to 11am. Really think they should install a phone where you can dial the owmers. We were fortunate to have bump into their neighbours who helped us to figure out how to open their main door. We were outside for more than 5 minutes.

I would return as the price is good, place is comvenient and clean.

  • Liked — Near to train station, cleanliness of rooms and good price
  • Disliked — Difficult to ask for assistance if you run into problems
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

My feelings about this place are mixed. The place is owned by a couple - husband is Italian and wife is American. The wife is very responsive to emails and even helped me try to make reservations for the Uffizi museum. The husband is the one that checks you in, and he's very nice although he is a little hard to understand due to his accented English. The hotel is located about 2 1/2 block away from the Florence SMN station, backtracking along the tracks. It's more like a 15 minute walk than 10. It's on the other side of where the tourist area is located, thus if you like peace and quit after a day of sightseeing, the hotel is very quiet at night. The couple took 1 floor of living space and turned it into 4 rooms, each with a theme. We stayed in the "Love" room thus there's wall decorations of pictures with hearts and the word "amore". It's a double with own bathroom, faces the street but very little street noise due to our window being shut the entire time and the area being more residential and small business so again, very quiet at night. The room is a nice size, comfortable, with functional but somewhat worn furnishing. There's a wooden closet with extra blankets, a small table along the window and 2 wooden chairs. The bed is a decent firmness, pillow’s somewhat flat. The bathroom and shower are also a nice size and very clean. Best of all, they have AC, which is necessary in hot, stuffy Florence. There's TV, but pointless for me since I don't understand Italian. Room is cleaned and refreshed everyday with clean new towels. There's a communal fridge outside in the hallway or lobby area, which is a nice touch. There's also an espresso machine w/free espresso for you to make.

While the room is clean, decent size, and comfortable, the area and the hotel was a little bit too quiet for my comfort. As I said, it's away from the tourist area thus it's very quiet at night and there's very little traffic coming through, not even buses. Even though it's residential, I didn't see a lot of light coming from the building across from us and wondered if anyone even lives there. Despite having only 4 rooms, I didn't see anyone else going in and out of this place. I would hear muffled noises, but wasn't sure if it was from another guest. I rarely heard doors open and close. I felt like we were the only couple staying at the place, felt kind of eerie. Another thing I didn't like is that the place is not staffed. The husband is only there between 9am-11am to check people out. Thus, if something had happened, I wouldn't know what to have done. I didn't see a phone in the "lobby" area, and there's no phone in our room. I would have had to run downstairs, go outside, and use a pay phone. I feel that they should at least have a phone in the lobby for people to use to either contact the owners or to call emergency. To further dampen my experience, the last night of our stay, my husband looked out the window and saw a women who appear to be a prostitute. While I can't confirm whether she is or isn't, she was dressed provocatively and she was out there by herself until 2am.

Unfortunately, I personally would not return to this place. I gave it a 3 because the room itself is very nice and comfortable, and the owners are very nice and responsive. But the location is too far of a walk for me to get to the sights, and the place is too quiet for my comfort.

  • Liked — Friendly & helpful owners, clean and comfortable room, nice size bathroom & shower
  • Disliked — location too far fro sights, no method of contact in case of emergenciesm
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed at Bed and Bed Peterson for four nights in a room with a private bathroom. Overall this place was an excellent value for the money. The rooms and bathrooms were cleaned daily. The private bathroom was a good size and had sufficient hot water. There was air conditioning in the room and there were double windows so you could not hear the traffic from the street. Breakfast is not provided here, which was made clear when we reserved however, there is a self-service coffee machine available at all times at no extra charge. The only negatives were the location, it is a bit far from everything in Florence (except the train station!) and that the inside of the rooms and building are rather sterile and stark looking. It looks like an old hospital or dentist's office rather than a warm and welcoming bed and breakfast. However, these details would not stop us from staying here again if on a tight budget.

  • Liked — The Price
  • Disliked — Bland Interior
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanddollarCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Nice and super clean rooms with A/C. Bus stop is in front of the B&B, so it's convenient for going to and from Piazza Michelangelo and train station.
However, the location is in the opposite direction of old town, so it'd be a little bit tired to walk back when finishing your full day sightseeing to Uffizi and the Accademia. But in using bus, that'd be no problem at all.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank agsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2005

A couple of blocks from the Train station and an easy walk to the major attractions. Recommended a place to eat at the Al Vecchio Carlino a couple of blocks away and was awesome. Good prices and mostly Italians eating there, forget the tourist areas for food. The place was clean and basic and price was 68 Euros per night. Only complaint was the location on a busy street and even with the double windows there was some noise from the road. Staff was nice and only there during the morning and appointed check in times.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ejworden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
#249 of 651 in Florence
135 reviews
B&B Porta San Frediano
#252 of 651 in Florence
114 reviews
Villa Aruch
#24 of 310 in Florence
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 412 in Florence
1,146 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#256 of 412 in Florence
218 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 412 in Florence
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Bed Peterson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Bed Peterson

Property: Bed & Bed Peterson
Address: Via Guido Monaco 25, 50144, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 651 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed & Bed Peterson 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bed & Bed Peterson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Bed Peterson
Bed & Bed Peterson Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing