We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the center of Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Stanze di Santa Croce
Ranked #251 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room was pleasant with a little balcony. The b and b itself, is situated between two streets, so although we were at the room at the back of the house, it was right on the back street. It was quite noisy, either from the people outside in the nearby square (the square by the church of Santa Croce) or from the people setting up the breakfast area (one day they started at 4:30 a.m.), another day other guests (maybe) were trying all the doors, including ours at 2 in the morning. In spite of those problems, I would highly recommend this place. The bed was firm, and the pillows comfortable. The bathroom had a great shower with high power, there was also a hair dryer. The breakfasts, which I understand are made by Mariangela, the host, were plentiful. They consisted of a focaccia (the best one was raisans and grapes), fruit (including the wonderful tuscan cantelope that was in season), toast and her homemade jams (the orange marmalade was awesome), and some sort of cake. There was also cereal, juice, yogurt and of course, plentiful coffee. She was friendly and helpful to us every morning. The location was very central and we could walk just about anywhere in the Florence area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbinvista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Le Stanze di Santa Croce
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2010

Excellent B & B. Just off Piazza Santa Croce in the historic area of Florence. Nice room with balcony. Home made cake & jams at breakfast with good coffee. Marieangela the owner is very friendly and helpful.Hope to revisit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casablanca33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Mariangela and her son were very welcoming and took the time to make sure we had everything we needed and gave the sort of local information you value. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon0101010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We had a great stay in Marie-Angela's charming guest house.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommy1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I travelled along and the small airline lost my luggage. I got to Florence without a thing. Tired and overwhelmed, I just crashed the first night. But the next morning changed my experience.

I met the inn owners Mariangela and her son the next morning. They were warm, low-key and sweet. For example, she called the airline all day trying to locate my luggage. When I asked, she would point me to places outside of guide books but were outstandingly beautiful. I enjoyed our daily short but friendly interactions.

In terms of the B&B itself, although it is not as posh as many in the US, it is sweetly decorated, calm and roomy indeed. For breakfast, Mariangela and Rafael offered yummy local cheeses, meats, jam, coffee and bread in a nice vine-covered cozy terrace. The B&B is nested in a short alley connecting Casa Buonarrati and the Basilica of Santa Croce (where Michelangelo lived and was entombed). Location wise, it is really convenient to everywhere else (5 min walk to the Uffizi, 10 to the Duomo, etc).

I highly recommend Le Stanze di Santa Croce. Also a hint, Mariangela offers cooking lessons where you'll go shop in a local market in the morning and cook that evening together, but you have to book with her by email or on site with enough notice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

very central and handy to almost everything one requires in Florence; the cooking classes are a must. Rooms and ambience just great. Kay and Peter, Queensland, Australia, July '09

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterSQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Stayed at Le Stanze di Santa Corce for three nights. The property is a beautiful townhouse that's nicely decorated. There're several restaurants and night joints in the immediate vicinity that seem quite popular. The owner Mariangela was quite friendly and personable, very organized and attentive to details. Our room and bathroom were both spacious and contained everything we needed.

Pros: Nice location (though you need a taxi from train station and back for 8-10 euros), super clean, on a quiet side street, AC, lots of books about the area, computer with internet (a bit slow but does the job), wi-fi if you bring your laptop

Cons: Door to terrrace is left open all the time --> had mosquitoes in our room, felt a bit unsafe (because of door to terrace open all night), no TV to catch up on news, etc.

Breakfast: a major disappointment, the very same cake was offered three mornings in a row, all there was is 3 jars of jam and yogurt, cheese sliced so thin that it was almost invisible on the plate (same goes for a plate of cherries), no cereal, no milk. Poor quality and quantity (when you're paying 160 Euros per night you expect a better breakfast).

Customer service: Mariangela received payment on morning 2, didn't show up on morning 3 (our departure morning), didn't tell that she wasn't going to stop by tomorrow, and didn't even leave a good bye note with her assistant.

Although we really liked the property, we would only recommend it if above mentioned concerns are addressed.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fasttrackDxB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
B&b Casa di Dante
B&b Casa di Dante
#419 of 656 in Florence
65 reviews
Santa Croce
La Maison du Sage
La Maison du Sage
#7 of 656 in Florence
209 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
La Campanella
La Campanella
#463 of 656 in Florence
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Venere
Soggiorno Venere
#444 of 656 in Florence
45 reviews
Santa Croce
De' Benci Bed and Breakfast in Firenze
A Beautiful Florence
#443 of 656 in Florence
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Stanze di Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Stanze di Santa Croce

Address: Via delle Pinzochere 6 | Santa Croce, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $86 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Le Stanze di Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing