We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully wonderful !!”
Review of Burchianti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burchianti
Ranked #149 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delightfully wonderful !!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was a great find. It is an easy walk from the train station and very close to the markets. The location is perfect. It is on the second floor (elevator available) of a building that has had quite a history. The parlor is absolutely charming, the host Mario is so pleasant and welcoming. We felt very special and pampered. His staff was extremely helpful with our questions. Our room was the highlight of the trip. And again as others have said, look up. The frescoed ceiling was amazing! Don't miss the Hotel Burchianti or you'll miss a flavor of Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda and Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    108
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
82
126
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Hill, Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Terrific spot. You can walk here from the train station, be in a really nice block and walk to everything. The leahter market is a stone's throw away. There are great restuarants a few doors away, some better than others. The hotel is on the second floor and manage(maybe owned) by a wonderful gentleman, Mario. A great espresso or AMerican coffee made fresh for you in the morning, really nice common areas, lovely rugs in the halls and pleasant, comfy decor throughout. The room in which we stayed was simplicity itself, plain walls, with simple nice fiurnishings. BUTstretch out on the bed (on your back) and look up! Wow! The frescoed ceiling is a delight, a highlight of the decor. The only drawback of our stay was the problem with the climate control system which was locked in on winter settings so made our second night there uncomfortably warm.

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioning is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pellverm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is just a few minutes away from termini station. The ceiling in our room is really dashing! Beds are ok but the room is really spacious. Restaurants are everywhere so its very easy for u to eat anywhere.. Location if also very near bus station going to The Mall and other tourist spot.

Mr mario was definetly the most accommodating manager we've ever met!

The house was previously owned by the famous Castiglione (not sure of the spelling) family

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolchic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hotel Burchianti had everything I needed. The staff headed by Mario were always ready and willing to help. My room was charming, clean and well equipped with a safe, refrigerator, desk, and more. The complimentary breakfast was generous and a great way to start each day. The hotel is located within easy walking distance from both the train and bus stations. My single room overlooked a courtyard and was very quiet. There are many many hotels in Florence but for my money Hotel Burchianti is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great location between the Duomo and train station at Santa Maria Novella. Easy to restaurants and all the sites. Very welcoming staff led by Mario, who made us feel right at home. Nice breakfast and frescoed room during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The location was great! Just a 2 minute walk from the Duomo, the San Lorenzo Market and the Santa Maria Novella station. The staff was very friendly and answered all my questions, whether about the market opening hours, or how to get to the airport. There was a very cozy B&B atmosphere and of course free WiFi was available in the rooms, as well as a mini bar, TV and hair dryer, there was a small closet to hang clothes if needed, where there was also a safe.

The hotel is located on the first floor of a building with not very visible signs indicating it was there, it was a bit confusing to find. My room was very small. I booked a single room that had room for a bed and that's pretty much it. The bathroom was small as well - the shower was very close to the toilet with a folding door separating the two. The safe in my room was in the closet, that could be locked, however I found that I could actually moved the safe as it was not connected to anything, which resulted in my not using it.

I would recommend this hotel as it wasn't very expensive and the whole place had a very cozy feel to it. I could have used a larger bed but it was only two nights :)

Room Tip: single room was very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyeletI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I can only agree with everything that has already been said. This hotel in an old palazzo was perfectly located, with all the sights of Florence within walking distance. The room was clean and comfortable with a beautiful frescoed ceiling, Mario was very welcoming, and the lady who served breakfast was very sweet. There is free WiFi available. We wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
San Lorenzo
B4 Astoria Firenze
B4 Astoria Firenze
#150 of 422 in Florence
921 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#106 of 422 in Florence
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Delle Tele
Hotel Delle Tele
#220 of 422 in Florence
364 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 422 in Florence
484 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 422 in Florence
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burchianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burchianti

Property: Burchianti
Address: Via del Giglio 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Florence
#68 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Burchianti 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Burchianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burchianti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing