We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel like family”
Review of Burchianti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burchianti
Ranked #150 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent location--very near train station, located on a quiet back street. You can walk to absolutely everything. The proprietors Mario and Sr. Rela make you feel like you are guests in their home. Mario speaks excellent english and will give you wonderful advice for restaurants and how to get the best deals on attractions and shopping. Unique property and history of the building. Fell asleep gazing at the frescoes and felt transported back to another time, just delightful. Only advice to hotel would be to upgrade the mattresses, otherwise, it is perfect.

Room Tip: We had a large room with a double bed plus two singles/daybeds. Extremely high ceilings with origin...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BagPackedWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Burchianti
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 327 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I booked this little hotel for the frescoes and was not disappointed! We arrived by train and it was very close to the station on a little side street. Thanks to other reviews I knew to just look for the address and buzzer to be let in. The owner was courtly and helpful and our room for 3 of us was huge with 20 feet ceilings and the promised frescoes. Despite the age of the building our bathroom was large and modern and the tub was welcoming after our climb to the Piazzale Michaelangelo. More of a B & B than hotel, the European style breakfast was served in the reception/sitting area with the owner and his son (who looks like a young Dylan McDermott) manning the Cappuccino machine. We enjoyed our 3 night stay here very much!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I and 2 friends all had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Burchianti in Florence . What a wonderful find. Not only were the rooms breathtakingly beautiful, with frescos on the ceilings and walls, but the staff were the nicest people we met in Florence. We just wanted to hang out and talk to them our whole time there! Mario and his son took such good care of our party, giving great local recommendations, arranging tickets for us to the Vatican museum in Rome for our following adventures after leaving Florence (just after the Pope resigned, which was no easy feat) and simply being very pleasant, helpful, and going out of their way to make us feel at home in their hotel. We will definitely be back to visit both Florence and Burchianti and we will make sure all of our friends do so as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannonrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Burchianti was great! They made us feel like family. Their suggestions made our trip more enjoyable. We will definitely stay there again upon returning to Florence. The accommodations were comfortable and the frescoes amazing.We were especially pleased with the location which made everything close at hand. There's a buzzer to get in that is located right outside the building. The elevator will take you up to reception.
Barbara and Aaron Miranda

Room Tip: Loved our large room with frescoes located a few steps away from the breakfast room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Miranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

What a great little Hotel the Hotel Burchianti is...super convenient location near the train station and right by San Lorenzo and the market. The proprietors, Mario and Signora Rela couldn't be more lovely and nice. Mario is super helpful and speaks very good English,he is a real local who knows Florence like the back of his hand! The rooms are comfortable and refined, some of the rooms have 18th century painted ceilings! The reception area is welcoming and comfortable, and they offer a great Continental breakfast at cute little tables. This hotel is a fantastic value and just a wonderfully comfortable and special little place. We were very comfortable, good bed, we were completely happy with everything about the Burchianti.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kippie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was a little intimidated when I finally located the entrance to this hotel...an imposing old buiding with big tightly locked doors. But the welcome I received from the hotel's extremely friendly manager Mario (and his son later on) put me at ease immediately. The room was amazingly Florentine with frescoed ceilings, the only drawback being not much natural light due to only a small above head located window. But this was no big deal for me especially with how spacious the room was...not to mention the luxurious furnishings. Location was perfect given I was intending to do plenty daytrips. A short walk to the main city sights and to the train station/bus depot. And considering the location it was still amazingly quiet in the room due to the aforementioned 'sturdy'design of the building. Breakfast was an experience with father and son (and sometimes the owner) sitting in the breakfast room on couches talking in typical animated Italian to each other, and often to guests as well. Mario was particularly helpful with advice on Florence, and daytrips. His reccomendation to goto Fiesole (the town above Florence) was a great idea (never would have thought of it)...and I actually walked the entire way (only reccomended if fit) though took the bus back. Beautiful hotel run by beautiful people in a beautiful city (my favourite European city). Oh and a couple doors down is the amazing pizzeria/resaurant "Ciro & Sons" (I think that's the name). BEST pizza I've ever had and it was full every night (and I was in Florence 7 nights!).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cdchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Only a few minutes walk from the train station, we found the street easily. And then we waked up and down looking for the place until we realized there is no conventional hotel foyer. Look for the worn brass plate and yes, there is a number 8 outside but easily missed. Press the buzzer and the security gate will be opened. Up one flight of stairs and you are met by a wonderfully congenial host.

The hotel ante room is very welcoming, and our bedroom is really something else. Supersized, with the most amazingly comfortable and spacious bed. We were there in winter but needed no heating in the room, although there is both heating and sir conditioning if required.

The bedroom is wonderfully quiet and peaceful, and the wifi is a nice bonus.

We really like this hotel and if and when we are in Florence again we are definitely going to stay here.

Walking from the hotel, around the corner and 2 minutes walk is the massively impassive Duomo, and loads more just beyond.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank BruceFarquhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
San Lorenzo
Hotel Art Atelier
Hotel Art Atelier
#124 of 411 in Florence
439 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#108 of 411 in Florence
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#51 of 411 in Florence
340 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#211 of 411 in Florence
377 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#67 of 411 in Florence
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burchianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burchianti

Address: Via del Giglio 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Florence
#68 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $137 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burchianti 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Burchianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burchianti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing