We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Find but Worth the Search”
Review of Burchianti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burchianti
Ranked #149 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Only a few minutes walk from the train station, we found the street easily. And then we waked up and down looking for the place until we realized there is no conventional hotel foyer. Look for the worn brass plate and yes, there is a number 8 outside but easily missed. Press the buzzer and the security gate will be opened. Up one flight of stairs and you are met by a wonderfully congenial host.

The hotel ante room is very welcoming, and our bedroom is really something else. Supersized, with the most amazingly comfortable and spacious bed. We were there in winter but needed no heating in the room, although there is both heating and sir conditioning if required.

The bedroom is wonderfully quiet and peaceful, and the wifi is a nice bonus.

We really like this hotel and if and when we are in Florence again we are definitely going to stay here.

Walking from the hotel, around the corner and 2 minutes walk is the massively impassive Duomo, and loads more just beyond.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank BruceFarquhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Burchianti
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 328 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a great location , especially if you are travelling by rail . Only blocks from the rail station . An easy walk to attractions and down to the river .
Would suggest their street identification should be better . Pay attention , their name is on their intercom system .
Also try to book a room on the inside , those tend to be quieter .
The rooms themselves are large enough , very comfortable .... and definitely "old school" , with their fresco ceilings , very charming . Breakfast is good , giving you a good start to the day . The people working thier the owners ?) are very helpful and courteous ... although the woman working one evening did not speak English . Otherwise the staff was helpful when needed and made us feel at home .
A great spot to stay in Florence .

Room Tip: get an inside room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Burchianti and we will be back next September. Our favorite hotel in Florence. Owner friendly and he provides great advice on restaurants and places to go. Entrance is through a locked gate and an elevator to the next floor up.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

room 10. Large room with vaulted ceilings and frescoes. Air conditioning worked great. Bathrooom and room were both clean and functional.

The whole place is really charming and has old-style touches that make it really feel like you are in italy. The staff was nice and helpful in making reservations for us at the museums in advance or our trip, and helping with dinner reservations during.

It is true though, the buzzer is not exactly easy to find. There is no lobby. You ring the buzzer and enter through the large gate. Then you go to up one flight and enter the hotel.

The location is ideal. Walking distance (with luggage) from SMN train station and leisurely walking distance from everything you could possible want to do in Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Finding the right button to call the front desk from the street (Via del Giglio) was the most difficult part, and only because you are distracted from being in such a new and beautiful area. The service was great the the complimentary breakfast in the morning was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Primo155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have meant to post a review for Burchianti the day after we left. As it turned out, we did not have the use of the Internet for the last leg of our European trip until I got home. We stayed with the Burchianti for 2 nights and were truly grateful for their service rendered. The gentleman and the old lady made us feel family. It's too bad that I have forgotten their names but the gentleman is probably the owner and a younger gentleman who worked nights was his son. The old lady, we were told, was not related to them. It is amazing how someone that you have met in such a short period can make a dent in your memory. The room that we have, accommodated our family of 4. 'Are we in a museum?' My younger daughter remarked when we entered our room. The ceiling was high with a fresco painted nicely in it. Spacious room, four poster beds, good breakfast, nice coffee, a safe in the room and concise information for directions and restaurant are all the pros you can expect from them. We had asked for hot tea at night and were immediately catered to. The older gentleman showed care and heart and the old lady really reminded me of my late mother. On the day we left, we took a picture with them which I will post later. Of all the places I have been to, I have to say Burchianti outrank them all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lena f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We traveled from Rome to Florence by train and had booked a room at Burchianti. The location is ideal and we were easily able to walk from the station (with luggage) to the hotel. Walking up to the gate and being buzzed into the hotel was so charming!! From Burchianti, we were able to walk absolutely everywhere. So easy!

We had booked one of the frescoed rooms that accommodated our family of four. The room was huge, with a lovely bathroom. We were traveling with our two teens and when we all walked into the room – well, we were left speechless. Our dream trip became literal at that moment. I cannot express how amazing the room was. Easily, it is the most beautiful room I have ever been in – anywhere.

That said, the kindness and professionalism of the staff equaled the room. Mario, the manager, and his son were helpful and attentive. They took time to explain the history of the building and give tips for the best use of our time. We appreciated them so much.
I am looking forward to my next stay at the Burchianti. It could not come soon enough. Thank you for being a part of our amazing European Adventure… and for providing us with unforgettable memories.

With fondness – Gwen Almeida (John, Hannah & Garrett, also!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
San Lorenzo
Hotel Art Atelier
Hotel Art Atelier
#123 of 411 in Florence
439 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#102 of 411 in Florence
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#85 of 411 in Florence
1,182 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#36 of 411 in Florence
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burchianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burchianti

Address: Via del Giglio 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Florence
#68 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $131 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burchianti 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Burchianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burchianti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing