We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and security were issues. Location is great.”
Review of Hotel Accademia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Accademia
Ranked #226 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We are from the US and have been traveling Europe for a couple weeks. This hotel is in a great location with nice cafe and gelatarias on the same street. Easy access to the train station too in order to take bus tours (that meet outside the terminal), or take the train to Chinque Terra, or other locations for day trips.

There is no one working the night shift however. They leave a skeleton key in the front lobby door, I guess in the case someone needs to leave at night/ before 7am? They also ask that guests leave their hotel key at the front desk, which is easily accessible by anyone if the front desk person wasn't sitting there (happened often). I hung up our room key several times on my own, and took it back as well, as the front desk person was nowhere to be found.

On the morning we checked out, I had to track down the front desk lady. She then scribbled some bill together, and then proceeded to to tell me the credit card machine has been down for two days, and that I had to pay cash. I then was forced to run several blocks to an ATM to pay for the bill. I then asked her about the "cash discount" she initially offered, and she said it was already included in the bill?

This woman also recommended a wine tour in Tuscany, from brochures at the front desk. We went on one, and it included one arrogant vineyard, and a tasting in the basement of a liquor store. Terrible.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraveler864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 302 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel was on a lovely street (Faenza) that lit with restaurants and wine bars in the evening. It close to the main train station, and close to the main street of attractions. The front desk spoke English to help us get around and make reservations for the galleries. There was a little terrace in the center of the hotel to have a glass of wine or picnic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked this hotel by mistake since we thought we were booking a hotel in venice for two nights.

We arrived in Venice at 11pm with a small 7 month baby only to realize we didn't have a place to stay. My wife called hotel Accademia in tears asking for a refund. The staff were absolutely unforgiving and even rude.

We did this booking at the last minute and there were plenty of rooms free so there is no way we would have represented any loss of money to the hotel.

Clearly Hotel Accademia is in the right according to (questionable) no-refund policies but this was clearly a mistake and this is unacceptable money grabbing unethical behaviour.

booking.com was actually willing to give us a refund, but they contacted the hotel which told them there would be no refund, even for the second night !?!?

While hotel Accademia is clearly right according to small print stating that no-refunds would be accepted, judge for yourself if you want to be dealing with these people.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Dinisov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've stayed here at least 5 times over the last 10 or so years, and love it every time. The location cannot be beat, steps from the San Lorenzo market, minutes to the Duomo. There were 3 family groups of us, and we got rooms surrounding a small courtyard, where we had our own private wine & cheese hour every night. The rooms are very comfortable, good size. Breakfast is quite substantial, coffee great. Almost the best part is how kind and helpful the staff are. Truly wonderful people. You'd have a difficult time finding a better accommodation for the price anywhere in Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location of Accademia can't be beat. It is a 10 minute walk to the Duomo, 15 minute walk from the train station and within 5 minutes of great restaurants. The staff is nice and the feel of the hotel is comfortable. The rooms are very basic...no frills. The breakfast is continental but substantial. Good value for a basic room with a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindazw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this unique hotel! It is obviously converted from an older home since it twists and turns around lovely little courtyards. Our room was huge and comfortable. Very clean and tidy! The bathroom was huge and the large tub was a welcome change of pace although the shower was great too. Great location for getting around Florence. The breakfast was tasty and we were pleased with our stay although we heard some complaints from others on upper floors about the inconvenience of so many stairs from the entrance to their rooms so the main floor is a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summerfun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The reviews that say the beds are a little hard and the furnishings are a little dated are true. But we were still really, really glad we stayed here. We were in Room 6, which they had turned into a quad room with two twins and a queen---ideal for our family of four and much cheaper than the alternatives we explored. That room has an ensuite bathroom that is just fine. The ceilings in the room were high, which makes it especially roomy feeling. Free wifi, which was nice. The location was exceptionally convenient for our arrival by train and nice and close to the Duomo, lots of shopping and restaurants. The museums and bridge were 10-15 minutes of walking, tops. Very safe, very charming, and Thea could not be nicer. She prearranged museum reservations for us so we avoided long lines and went straight in. The stairs may be troublesome for people with loads of luggage, but we didn't mind them. Breakfast was plentiful and although not gourmet, higher quality than we expected from the reviews. We have visited Florence before but this was substantially better value and location than we've enjoyed in the past.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coupleofjoneses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#196 of 409 in Florence
706 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#166 of 409 in Florence
439 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#56 of 409 in Florence
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#125 of 409 in Florence
470 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fedora
Hotel Fedora
#240 of 409 in Florence
225 reviews
San Lorenzo
italhotels san lorenzo
italhotels san lorenzo
#331 of 409 in Florence
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Accademia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Accademia

Address: Via Faenza 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $380 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Accademia 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Accademia - Florence, Italy.Your cheap accommodation in Florence historical center...We provide you the easiest way to reserve your vacation in Florence city center. The Hotel Accademia gives you an opportunity to choose a splendid and strategical location for your stay in Florence. Book online with us, save money with our special last minute offers and enjoy everything Florence has to offer! Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Accademia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accademia Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing