We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magical place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Living room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Living room
Living room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Garden
Garden, seen from main bedroom
Hallway, view of The Queen Bedroom
Hallway and courtyard
The Queen Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
Hallways
Hallways
Courtyard
The Queen Bedroom
Bathroom
Small Bathroom
Hallway, entrance to Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Kitchen
Inner staircase
Studio, ground floor
Studio
Studio
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Studio
Stairs
Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Florence, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Carole S
Rockfall, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical place to stay”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Residenza Contessa Angela is an amazing home with such character. You can't help but feel this is a unique experience from the moments you enter the large doors, then the small servant door. You feel like Alice in Wonderland going from small to large! The home is beautiful and comfortable with lots of space to spread out. While staying here we felt connected to Florence's past. Wonderful to have a kitchen and laundry to catch up with during the middle of our stay. The restaurants around the property are wonderful. We never had to walk more than a 1/4 mile to find great food!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you so much! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the particular character of the place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rink2918
Avon, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is even more stunning than the pictures portray. It is like stepping back in time with all the modern conveniences. The apartment is moments away from all of the major attractions in Florence and the owners have provided a written information about the history of the apartment and local attractions. The apt. is a 5 minute walk from the bus/train station. The owners live upstairs and are readily available with any questions you may have. This is a true hidden gem in the heart of a wonderful city. We can't wait to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandM_Tra...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best location, great hosts.”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful old house is a short walk from everything you will want to visit and the station. Hosts recommended great restaurants and advice on shopping.

The apartment is elegant in an old world sense. In a city full of tourists it was blissful to walk through the door of an evening and feel the surrounding peace.

There is no noise from the street. Enjoyed the wine downstairs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynda706
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal/ restful / beautiful”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment is perfectly placed to visit all the sights you might possibly want to visit. On the Main Street but as soon as you step inside the traffic and heat are left behind and life becomes tranquil, cool and calm inside this fabulous apartment. Modern it is not! But it has everything you would need. The large rooms and corridors, full of antiques, are delightful. It is surrounded by excellent bars ( the owners bar round the corner is not to be missed), and restaurants. Julia is helpful and lives upstairs should you need advice! Take the advice, we did, and had the most marvellous time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2017
Thank you so much for your review! You perfectly described the essence of our apartment. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in Florence!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannethr...
Kennewick, Washington, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodations and location!”
Reviewed March 24, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment was perfect for us! Everything we needed... less then a five minute walk to the train station, (which we used several time during our 10 day stay. Cab pick up is also at the train station), walking distance to must sees, grocery store just down the block on the way to and from the train station, safe area. We took the train to Rome for an over night stay. It was great because we kept the apartment and just packed a backpack for the overnight stay. The apartment was our base. We walked every where and only used a cab once during our stay other then going to and from the airport. Don't hesitate, book this apartment, you won't regret it. Ciao! :0)

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tracey L
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Step into history in an amazing place in a marvellous location”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
6
people found this review helpful

It's always a bit scary making a holiday rental, because the photos can be very forgiving to a place that's got problems and even on Trip Advisor, this rental didn't have many reviews, but in this case, we picked a winner. Arriving, we followed the clear instructions to the location and found ourselves in front of a huge palazzo door. Buzzed into the large lower hall, we met the couple who own the building, who directed us up the grand staircase to a little door in the wall. As we had some 6 foot plus members in the party, they had to duck to get in, so we were relieved to find this doorway led to a wonderful suite of rooms that is significantly larger than our own house!

The apartment is part of a large palazzo and the antique furniture and fittings and many original artworks certainly made us feel as if we were getting a taste of the Florentine high life. The older elements don't mean you have to live in the past though, as the kitchen is well stocked with modern equipment to complement its antique furniture and sink. The wifi works well and has good coverage, there's a modern flat-screen tv with satellite channels, modern music player that takes iPods and disks and there is a very effective air conditioner in the main bedroom. With a well organised bathroom and second toilet, it was very comfortable for our family group of 4. It worked especially well as there is a sofa-bed in the large downstairs room that leads onto the garden courtyard, and another lovely room with queen-sized bed and an adjoining light-well large enough for a seating and table area amongst greenery. With 2 high-status rooms to choose from, there was no bickering from the two teens in the party about who had the best one, and all of us found our beds comfortable. Apart from the air conditioner, fans in various rooms served to keep the place cool in up to 36C heat, though the building itself is designed to stay fairly cool, and the light well and another open interior area (with a handy washing machine) mean that opening a few doors can quickly create a cooling breeze.

The location of the apartment is also fantastic - it's literally 5 minutes walk from the station which made it perfect for us as we arrived by train. Also, being close to the corner of Santa Maria Novella Piazza, we were just a short walk away from all the main sites and able to enjoy the rose-filled (and scented) piazza in the evenings with some excellent buskers and an even more excellent artisan ice-cream parlour on the corner. But even being in the middle of things, the construction and layout of the apartment make it quiet and peaceful. Our hosts provided great advice on places to eat and shop, and left us with some useful guides and their own notes to help us remember their top tips.

Obviously the apartment isn't set up for anyone who finds stairs difficult, and there are a few of the kind of uneven floor levels that come with older buildings. It's also not the kind of place you'd want to take boisterous youngsters, as the owners make clear, because there are a lot of things that could get broken. But if you have a group who are can make it up one flight of stair, aren't out to dance on tables, and are interested in staying in an authentic Florentine palazzo, this will provide a wonderfully memorable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience + amazingly well located.
Liked least: We didn't mind the August temperatures, but choose a different time to visit if you don't like the heat.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing