We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence La Medicea
Ranked #80 of 302 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“10 out of 10”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at this apartment for 5 days and Guilia (the manager) was very kind enough to give me The Monalisa as I`d asked for a nice view. It overlooks the San Lorenzo Church and market square.
It is equipped with cooking utensils if you want to cook , a set of towels , hairdryer, has a laundry room and a rooftop terrace. Very good value for your money. Guilia was also very helpful and got us some socket converters.
It is very central to everything (attractions, supermarket, eateries)and train station 5 mins away where all tours meet up.
Florence is very safe, I had no trouble walking round the city even on my own at night.

Room Tip: Email to ask for any information or view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgal108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked the Monalisa apartment for a month, mid Sept to med Oct. This apartment is located in the San Lorenzo area which is walking distance to everything. If you like to cook, the Mercato Centrale is around the corner where you can find fresh produce, fresh pasta, fresh bread, olive oil, wine, anything you need to make a delicious meal and healthy to boot. If you do not want to cook, there are so many restaurants, it's hard to know where to go. ZaZa's was wonderful! Washing machine and dryer are available. The rooftop terrace great to have a beer or glass of vino. We enjoyed our stay immensely. Florence is a very safe city, you will love it. One drawback is the noise at night. If you are sensitive to noise, bring earplugs.

Room Tip: The MonaLisa was perfect for two people. The view from the window, wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DIANNE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I have been travelling for quite a while and this self-service studio was truly fantastic. We stayed from the 16th-21st.

The room was clean upon arrival and the rest was left up to you. Everything you could need was provided including self service laundry facilities and an amazing terrace overlooking Florence's many Churches and Duomos. The bed was sleep worthy and the bathroom was nice. There is also a lift which does not seem typical for European accommodation.

The location was also fantastic, on the same street as the leather markets and 2 minutes walk from the Duomo (center of Florence).

Room Tip: The 'David' Apartment was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This apartment is perfectly located for exploring Florence on foot. It's very close to the railway station & bus-stop so you don't need to negotiate any public transport / taxi to get there. It's right behind the Medici Chapel & some rooms have a great view of it. We had booked Primavera apartment but were upgraded to Monnalisa and had a wonderful view over San Lorenzo market and the chapel. Being located in the market area, it's a tad noisy most of the day especially in the mornings when the stalls are setting up & in the evening when they're winding down. But it gives you a great glimpse of the daily life of the vendors, the people walking about the market etc. Shutting the windows blocks out most of the noise...

The reception is open in the evenings, so time your arrival accordingly. We got there in the morning, coming in from Bologna; but the manager Giulia was quite helpful and got the reception manager to meet us and complete the check-in. Overall, the management of the apartment has been quite accommodating.

The room itself is very large; a kitchenette, a dining table looking out over the square, a living room and then the bedroom (with a window) & bathroom - all very spacious & well-appointed. Breakfast is not included and toiletries (soap, shampoo) are not provided. All other amenities in place - extra bed linen, plenty of towels, pillows; kitchenette is also equipped so you can make your own meals. There's also a refrigerator & microwave. There's a washing machine upstairs, which you can use for 2 euros for 1 load. The terrace is also very lovely for an evening drink or just to sit and read, write or dream :) Especially lovely at dusk.

It's a 5-7 min walk to the Duomo & a 10-15 min one to the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio - really perfectly situated!

Room Tip: The Monnalisa has a great view and is very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrachiJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed four nights in the Perseo and were really happy with the location and size of the apartment. It was within 5 minutes of the train station and literally right over the San Lorenzo Market (it faced the back so we weren't bothered by the sounds of the market in the morning). All the major sites were within a short walking distance.

The place was very clean and the kitchen was well equipped with all the basics for a home cooked meal. There is also a nice rooftop terrace if you want to sit outside in the evening for a glass of wine.

Our only complaint was that the bed was too soft for our taste and felt like a styrofoam bed, but if you don't care so much about that then this place is a real find!

Since the apartments are so spacious, I would certainly bring my family back when I visit Florence again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in Venere apartment on top floor. Lovely apartment overlooking the stalls of the leather market. Very close to the fabulous Central Market and San Lorenzo, and just a few minutes away from the Duomo, the Uffizi and the railway station. Lots of restaurants nearby. Giulia could not have been more helpful or welcoming. The apartment was clean, well equipped and comfortable. The roof terrace, which is shared with other apartments (although we had it to ourselves most times), has a great view of the leather market and San Lorenzo and is great for a relaxing glass of wine in the sunshine. You might find an apartment as god elsewhere in Florence but you would be pushed to find a better location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very central location, 5 minutes to SMN train station and 5 minutes to Duomo, 1 minute to great produce market; to cook own meals (try the fresh pasta made at the markets). Great apartments, well fitted out and free wi-fi. The reception is not always manned so they ask you in advance for an arrival time; otherwise you may find a locked building. Receptionist very friendly & helpful, giving us maps & suggestions for sightseeing, supermarkets & restaurants. Great roof terrace overlooking Cappelle Medicee. Lovely place to sit, relax & soak up sun & wine. The thriving street market is below the building with late finishing and early starts – great if you love ‘local colour’

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#93 of 411 in Florence
749 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 411 in Florence
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 411 in Florence
1,741 reviews
Uffizi
Palazzo Uguccioni
Palazzo Uguccioni
#45 of 302 in Florence
99 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Gamba
Palazzo Gamba
#21 of 302 in Florence
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Medicea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Medicea

Property: Residence La Medicea
Address: Via Dell'Ariento 3 Rosso, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 302 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence La Medicea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing