We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A relaxing lunch with great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Canova

La Canova
Reserve with
La Canova is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #529 of 2,588 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Duomo
Description: The delicious corner of Gustavino. "La Canova di Gustavino" zupperia and taste delights. A beautifull corner Adjoining Gustavino's is Canova's: a cosy atmosphere and excellent Tuscan dishes. Pappa al pomodoro Peposo ribollita, trippa e baccala. All the wines from Azienda agricola Lanciola. With a tasty selection of Italian cheeses, the best salami from Siena, Italian and Spanish hams, bread and croutons. Your place of choice for a lunchtime snack or an after theatre meal.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A relaxing lunch with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place is nearby piazza Signore and only a few steps from our hotel. Every time we passed by, it was very quiet and slow and we were hesitated to try until today that we were so tired and did not want to go far for lunch! The restaurant is a pleasant surprise offering interesting menu, different from the traditional tourist menu! We ordered grilled octopus and pasta with sea urchin, both are very good, highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wang_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    89
    23
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Supper in the Zupperia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family of 5 had a great evening here - there are two options - one the Zupperia where we ate - which is rustic wooden tables amongst the racks of wine from their vineyard near Florence. The other option is a smarter restaurant next door run by the same family.
We had local cheeses and meats as an appetiser followed by crespoline, lasagne, salads etc. 21 euros per head including some sparkling wine and a class of red. The staff were friendly and attentive and gave me a lovely complimentary bottle of Virgin Olive Oil from the estate when we left!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wine and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Easily the best restaurant we visited on our trip to Florence and the Naples area this summer. The food is delicious and since they serve traditional Tuscan plates you have an excellent way to try them out: 'cause they are at a great price! Same can be said for the wine and they have a wide selection and staff willing to help you pick it (It is an Enoteca after all). Staff is super friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed. Just watch out that you don't go into the fancier looking "brother" restaurant. Check for the entrance with number 29.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RodoDEMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“If you would like somewhere special to eat in Florence try this restuarant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was the last night we spent in Italy and we had really had enough pasta and pizza for a while!
This is perhaps for a special occasion as it is not cheap, but the food is outstanding.
Some really different dishes, well presented and cooked to perfection.
Some special touches, like the complementary sparkling wine as we arrived as we waited for a table and the homemade limoncello after our meal (recipe provided)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly service, tasty food and very reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just stumbled across this place about 2100 and managed to just get in without a reservation and we were welcomed with a complimentary sparkling wine while we made our choices. We shared a nice crepe then I followed this with Tripe something I haven't eaten in years and it was tender, tasty and just enough. My husband had the beef in wine with peppercorns which was very tender and yummy and quite a large serve. We had this as main with a Cypriot salad which was full of goodies. The half litre of house red was quite drinkable. A the end of the meal having requested the bill we were given a complimentary liqueur and were then surprised by a total bill of only 45 euro.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Canova also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Canova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing