We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa dolce casa - how small details make a big impact”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tasso Hostel Florence
Ranked #33 of 311 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

From the moment you walk into Tasso Hostel, you enter a home away from home. Seemingly small details lend themselves to the feeling of being in a special place where people from all walks of life come together and share the incredible experience of being in Florence. A guitar and piano sitting on top of a small stage, inviting people to play them and hinting at the jam sessions that inevitably took place on many a warm summer night. A welcome drink prepared by one of the best and friendliest bartenders in town. An outdoor terrace with many places to curl up with a glass of wine or a book, surrounded by home-grown herbs and spices grown from the soil that Tuscany is famous for.

None of these details would leave as much of an impression were it not for the incredible staff who bring the hostel to life every day. Romina, Lorenzo, Lollo, and Fede are always prepared to answer questions about your stay in Florence, but more importantly, talk with you about things that interest them and that might interest you as you explore the city. In a non-intrusive way, they are all gems that offer unique views on what makes their home so special, apart from everything that's already been covered in travel guides. I was lucky enough to go on a gastronomic tour of the city with Romina, who showed our tastebuds exactly why Florence is a culinary powerhouse. (I would definitely recommend this to those who are interested.)

Along with some great friends, I've got food and travel memories that I'll keep in my pocket for a long time to come.

Grazie, cari amici del'ostello Tasso!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ami V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Tasso Hostel Florence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 151 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place is an Alladins cave, the moment you ring the doorbell and the door opens, the view is magical.
Staff were helpful and gave us very good info on local attractions around Florence and how to get there.
We stayed in a private double room, they are basic but very clean, very quiet and I had a great nights sleep.

So to conclude my review if in Florence, check it out for a stay or miss out.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indiedog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Tasso Hostel is pretty much the best hostel I've resided in during my trip to Italy. It's situated in a quiet neighbourhood, very close to the city centre, and even closer to the Boboli garden. My room was quite big and impeccably clean, as was the bathroom and the communal areas. The bar was an excellent surprise, as it offered tasty drinks at a very reasonable price (try the Tasso cocktail, you won't regret it!). There is also a great atmosphere for meeting interesting people from all over the world. I will certainly go there whenever I'm in beautiful Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hostel is very nice and clean. The location is not the best (15 min walk to city center), but it is in a nice quiet neighborhood. My general complaint is with the management. During my stay in the hostel there were a few parties that the owner had for his friends. I felt like I was intruding on a private party. However, I was not because the parties were always in the hostel common area. I think the management could have done a better job of including the guest in his events. Hostels are supposed to be a place to meet new people. Instead we were all made to feel like outsiders.

Room Tip: Get a private room. It is worth the extra money. Do not get one facing the patio area if you are a l...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superseeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorenceFlashback, General Manager at Tasso Hostel Florence, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

The last thing on earth we wish is that our clients feel out of place, the hostel is well known to be a place where Locals and travelers meet but the hostel is also run by one person at a time making it quite difficult for us to introduce all our guests to the local clients of the bar much more to each other. We assume that being the environment that it is communication come naturally without our help.

We often think that being travelers, people will dive to the opportunity in making new friends. Maybe its because our personalities are very out going and make friends immediately with the first person beside us.

Usually in a hostel environment we wait for the clients to break the ice with others as we do not like to intrude on the space and privacy of clients, being both asocial and intimate environment some clients like sitting in their peace and do their own thing. Sometimes they sit at the bar and make friends, Some just make their presence felt and interact easily with others.

We are sorry we made you feel this way, it was not of our intention, but please understand that it is so difficult to assume that a client is interested in socializing, when they do not make an initial effort of striking up a conversation to initiate some sort of interaction with the people around them. We will try better next time thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The most stunning and authentic Italian hostel of my trip.. And old elementary school transformed into the most relaxing beautiful hostel I've seen. The staff are so helpful, knowledgeable of the city and endless fun. They gave us so many tips about how to see the city like true locals. The beautiful Romina made our trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ctcoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Definitely recommend this hostel. It is clean, fun and has great staffffffff!!!! Romana is ten out of ten! Shes so welcoming, helpful and funnnnn!! The rooms are big, theres a good outdoor area and great lounge/bar. I would happily stay here again next time I'm in Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauretta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Beautifully designed, incredible staff, perfect location. They have a great bar with delicious cocktails and in the morning you'll wake up to a freshly delivered brioche, juice and a very very tasty coffee. What more could you want..

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vhouldsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#31 of 311 in Florence
383 reviews
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#20 of 311 in Florence
196 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#16 of 311 in Florence
2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#11 of 311 in Florence
392 reviews
7 Santi Hostel
#56 of 311 in Florence
487 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Ghiro
Il Ghiro
#53 of 311 in Florence
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasso Hostel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasso Hostel Florence

Address: Via Villani 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 311 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $41 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing