We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant for fresh homemade pasta in Florence”
Review of Tamero'

Tamero'
Ranked #243 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $41
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Description: Tamero is the coolest restaurant in Florence in the heart of Oltrarno: piazza Santo Spirito. The restaurant is well known for the express hand made pasta. After the 11.00 p.m. Tamero is a club where you could see the best jazz and rock band play good music.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant for fresh homemade pasta in Florence”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Really nice restaurant at the heart of Santo Spirito for fresh pasta with contemporary notes.
For starters we had the Great selection of salumi and cheese with whole bread and potato gateau which was really great and it is highly recommended. For mains we had Tagliatelle with roasted porcini and also Pumpkins and potato gnocchi with sausage and gorgonzola. Both dishes were really good. The staff were helpful and friendly and the atmosphere was great. The decoration was contemporary with an underground industrial character. This restaurant offered a good value for money and I would definitely go back to it when in Florence again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marnes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    359
    120
    65
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The pasta was fresh and the atmosphere was trendy. The staff was friendly and the lobster pasta was very good, but the tortellini was better! A little pricy but it was worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbarbs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not your typical Tuscan but not Nouvelle either”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beautiful ingredients, perfectly prepared, with a touch of the modern. Headed to this restaurant after reading the excellent New York Times review. Didn't have outside seating at the time, which at first made us contemplate going someplace else since it was such a lovely afternoon but as we were walking through the restaurant we saw all these fresh pastas being made and beautiful sauces bubbling away. A change of heart and one of the best lunches I've had in Florence followed -- roasted vegetables with creamy burrata, goat cheese and spinach stuffed ravioli with a brown butter sage sauce -- helped along by a warm and caring waiter who made excellent wine suggestions. A highlight of our trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yogabear1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok starters but long waiting times”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Starters were very good especially the cheese but the waiting time for the entrees was unacceptable. Ate a pasta with polyp sauce but it was gummy so I'm pretty sure it was not fresh.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riqz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were staying in Piazza Santo Spirito which has a number of different restaurants, all of which had tables outside in the Piazza. We ate at the one next door to Tamero and had a very pleasant meal, but Tamero appeared to be very busy and the plates we saw arriving at tables looked interesting so we decided to try them. Our first attempt was unsuccessful as they said there was a 90 min wait for a table, so the following day we booked. This was not easy as their booking system seemed rather hit and miss and when we arrived they first of all didn’t recognise our name and then said they had booked us inside the restaurant although we had stipulated outside on a very warm early September night. However, eventually we got the table we wanted and from then on the service from very casual, but efficient waiting staff was excellent.

We started our meal with a shared dish of the sweetest figs with salami, presented on a wooden block. Then I had pici – a sort of thick spaghetti - with lobster sauce, which turned out to have about half a whole lobster in it and was absolutely delicious. My husband had a dish of beef fillet, which was full of flavour and beautifully cooked with a salad of fennel, peppers and rocket. All the dishes were imaginative and tasty and the meal was very reasonably priced.
Although there were a few tourists in the restaurant, it is obviously a popular place with locals. At the next table to us were a large group of young couples with children and most of the rest of the clientele were Italian. The atmosphere was lively and busy and an excellent place for observing Italian life!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jellycat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamero' also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Tamero'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing