We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Prosciutteria Firenze

La Prosciutteria Firenze
Ranked #49 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $5 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Uffizi
Description: Tipycal florentine "Vineria". La Prosciutteria (The Ham Shop) is very centraly located 30 m out from Uffizi Museum 50m far from Signoria Square 500m from PonteVecchio Old Bridge and 200m from the Dome. Is a tipycal old shop owned by a family of winemaker from Chianti Area that sell their products: wine oil and special gourmet food, especially prosciutto toscano crude ham salami finocchiona and a very special selection of "Pecorino" sheep cheese. You can take away or eat inside on old wooden table and also drink wine by glass from 1,5 euro, cost for a special and tasty sandwich with "porchetta" roasted pork is 3,5 euro, tasting menu start from 8 euro. Informal atmosphere in a very romantic original old fashioned place ideal also for a break for a glass of genuine wonderful wine or for aperitif, Open from 11am to 11 pm.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

A little off the beaten path but we kept looking until we found it and it was worth it. Cute but small snack spot. Wine was awesome and food sampler plates were amazing. Wish they had one of these back home. One of our favorite little drink and snack spots in Italy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelinWith4Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,141
    1,220
    193
    38
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for a lunch that's affordable and good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Having seen the queue at the "number 1" spot, we tried the Prosciutteria. It's a lovely small place with. Lot of character and really friendly staff. The meats are great and you won't feel hungry after a sandwich....at only €5 ! There are a few tables in the little room and the self service adds to the rustic environment. If you're on a tight budget, you can have free water to go with your sandwich, which we found we could even share if the pick the right fillings. To be honest there wasn't much between the Prosciutteria and the number 1, except maybe that their bread was a little better.....but that would really be being picky. If you want more than a sandwich I would recommend the mix platters.....very nice and at €10 for a medium one, a good deal. Last point to make is, I would get there between 12 and 1230...it gets busy and you won't get tables.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fezz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Visited twice on a recent stay in Florence. The young lady explained they had no restaurant licence as such and everything had to be "self service".
Go to the back, select a bottle of wine, pay for it and drink it. The water jugs are self service as well.
On both nights we had the cheese and pickles with about half a loaf of bread for 4.5 euros after dining elsewhere.
There is also a good selection of beers and soft drinks in the fridge by the bar.
Great atmosphere and busy on both occasions.
Make sure you visit

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davo1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best place that I have ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I love Prosciutto, and Italy is the place to get it. I had read about how great this place is, and had very high expectations. I had no idea that it would exceed them so substantially. I ordered a prosciutto sandwich and got to hand pick the leg that it was carved from after choosing what bread I wanted it on. They PILED on the prosciutto (which was VERY high quality), then added condiments and charged me right around 5 Euro. I felt that I was robbing them at that price. The sandwich was one of the best that I've ever eaten, and for the quality of ingredients and the price, you can't go wrong. Ranked as one of the best spots in Florence for a reason!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

On the basis of other TripAdvisor reviews we visited this lovely place and were not disappointed. What an amazing experience and fabulous food. It's tiny and they don't have a menu - you just point at which of the hundreds of cuts of meat and cheeses they have on display. Or you point at what someone else has got - that's what we did. You order your own food from the counter and the 2 cheery servers help you choose and then bring it to your table. It's a shop as well - with people coming in to get sandwiches so don't expect speedy service - just sit back and soak up the atmosphere. There aren't many tables and we ended up on bar stools but we had such a great time. Cheap as chips too - thankfully none are served here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank v0dkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Prosciutteria Firenze also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Prosciutteria Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing