We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place!”

La Prosciutteria Firenze
Ranked #52 of 2,712 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $6 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Uffizi
Description: Tipycal florentine "Vineria". La Prosciutteria (The Ham Shop) is very centraly located 30 m out from Uffizi Museum 50m far from Signoria Square 500m from PonteVecchio Old Bridge and 200m from the Dome. Is a tipycal old shop owned by a family of winemaker from Chianti Area that sell their products: wine oil and special gourmet food, especially prosciutto toscano crude ham salami finocchiona and a very special selection of "Pecorino" sheep cheese. You can take away or eat inside on old wooden table and also drink wine by glass from 1,5 euro, cost for a special and tasty sandwich with "porchetta" roasted pork is 3,5 euro, tasting menu start from 8 euro. Informal atmosphere in a very romantic original old fashioned place ideal also for a break for a glass of genuine wonderful wine or for aperitif, Open from 11am to 11 pm.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Such a great place to eat great meat/cheese and drink wine. The staff are incredibly friendly (particularly if your Italian isn't great-which mine isn't- they were really patient/helpful). Came back multiple times over our stay in Florence and had a great time every visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PMBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,217
    1,253
    200
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Definite muse for meat plate lovers”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you like your meat, this is a place for you. For 30EUR we got a plate which was enough for 3 hungry bellies after a day of walking around town. Don't let the sunglass wearing wild boar put you off, just walk right in.

The plate (actually a piece a wood plank) has 5 kinds of meat, 2 kinds of cheese, olives and some kind of pickles. You can also try other plates of different combinations and sizes. Bread is plenty and free. You can also get as much filtered tap water for free as you want.

When we were there the place was full, so we were sat in a back room, which though nice, was a bit dirty and tacky, which is the only things wrong with this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stumbled upon La Prosciutteria while trying to pass some time before our dinner reservation at Vini e Vecchi. We stopped at several places during our time in Florence to have a glass of wine and take in the sights and sounds, but La Prosciutteria was by far the best in terms of both atmosphere and wine. We didn't have anything to eat as we were waiting for dinner, but all the delicious looking plates around us of salami, cheese, and sandwiches almost made us cancel our reservations!

I would definitely recommend dropping in if you are anywhere in the Florence area!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denwaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Another beauty ”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Another great sandwich place with fabulous wine!
Doesn't get a 5 as I was asked to move tables!
But still you must go here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emmabo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was on my honeymoon in Florence last week and this was our first stop. We asked the friendly woman behind the counter to make us something she would recommend and……it was the….. BEST. SANDWICH. EVER. It was the one place we had to visit twice in our short stay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Prosciutteria Firenze also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Prosciutteria Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing