We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It made me smile...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Prosciutteria Firenze

La Prosciutteria Firenze
Ranked #44 of 2,622 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $5 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Uffizi
Description: Tipycal florentine "Vineria". La Prosciutteria (The Ham Shop) is very centraly located 30 m out from Uffizi Museum 50m far from Signoria Square 500m from PonteVecchio Old Bridge and 200m from the Dome. Is a tipycal old shop owned by a family of winemaker from Chianti Area that sell their products: wine oil and special gourmet food, especially prosciutto toscano crude ham salami finocchiona and a very special selection of "Pecorino" sheep cheese. You can take away or eat inside on old wooden table and also drink wine by glass from 1,5 euro, cost for a special and tasty sandwich with "porchetta" roasted pork is 3,5 euro, tasting menu start from 8 euro. Informal atmosphere in a very romantic original old fashioned place ideal also for a break for a glass of genuine wonderful wine or for aperitif, Open from 11am to 11 pm.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It made me smile...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Must stop in Florence..best food experience in my two week Italy/Greece trip...and the best value to boot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosy02001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,058
    1,168
    183
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect neighborhood eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

For being located in a tourist mecca, this place offers excellent local food. Posted at the counter are your meat, cheese, veggie, and sauce options. I strongly recommend the gorgonzola with anything, because it's particularly strong here. You have the option of ham or salami and frankly you can't go wrong with either, or anything on the menu, for that matter. As a nice additional touch, they offer local wine even for outdoor customers. And for the affordability, you're practically wasting a trip to Florence by not at least trying what this gem of a shop has to offer.

If you're looking for ONE streetfood experience in Florence, this is THE place to have it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Padraic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Prosciutteri... R, Proprietario at La Prosciutteria Firenze, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Padraic from the Big Apple,
you're surely an expert of the street food, coming from New York...we didn't try to copy the typical american street food concept but it was an inspiration. We wanted something more local, of course, and a place where WE would like to eat, a genuine, simple,"tuscan-filled", wanna-be restaurant!!!
And reading your positive review (and many other!) makes me feel so proud...

Thank you so much for your visit, and see ya'!!

Dario Leoncini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a great casual experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We found this location through TripAdvisor and had a wonderful evening, the price was great and the food amazing - their meats were incredible... and their house red matched up perfectly.
A great place to stop off and have a casual dinner. Try it, just don't expect anything too fancy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Prosciutteri... R, Proprietario at La Prosciutteria Firenze, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Nick,
thanks for your review! As you can see, nothing happens randomly...you were chosen to find La Prosciutteria and enjoy our genuine tuscan food! We don't wanna be fancy: we like simple, tasty food (and wine of course!).
I'm glad you liked it and I hope to meet you again soon!!

Dario Leoncini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great relaxed fun evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Great place for quality cold cuts and Chianti with a smile. A genuine smile. With no secret bread and water tax. Try the vino santo e cantucci for dessert it's a winner!

Helpful?
Thank Cam G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
La Prosciutteri... R, Proprietario at La Prosciutteria Firenze, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
My Dear Cam,
our waiters smile because they know...they know we give our best products to our customers and they love it! Waiters are not sincerely happy when they serve untasty food or plasticky dishes...
And good for you: you discovered the best dessert ever, even if it was quite easy to find ("vino santo" means "holy wine")!
I hope to see you again soon,

Dario Leoncini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Meat and cheese fest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you want light lunch and love meat and cheese this is for you. 7 of us ate, had a big board full of meats and cheeses with bread. Cost 10 euros a head without drinks. It's honest food and not a fancy restaurant, we were sat in the old loos at the back with a door for a table. Really enjoyed it. Not many seats but worth a trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Prosciutteria Firenze also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Prosciutteria Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing