We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal”
Review of Peking

Peking
Ranked #1,261 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
ryde i o wight
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This restaurant was close to where we were staying, we read the reviews and decided to try it. My partner loves Tofu, and she was not disappointed. There was a good selection to choose from. I had the crispy beef, Carole had the Tofu, we shared a very large portion of excellent egg fried rice, mixed vegetables and two half litres of lager. Total price of 34 euros, we enjoyed every mouthful, and came away very satisfied. Carole & Steve.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    41
    18
    3
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,576 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,119 helpful votes
“Good and Inexpensive”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We ordered the noodles with seafood on a hot plate and beef with mushrooms. We also asked for a carafe of white wine. All the food was quite good. The carafe of white wine was quite big and generous. We enjoyed our meal there and the price was only about 22 euros. We went back 3 more times because we enjoyed the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food We've Ever Had!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Best Chinese food we've ever had and we live in San Francisco where there's no shortage of asian cuisine. Chinese food in Florence? Absolutely. After eating pasta and pizza for 3 weeks, we were happy but wary to find a Chinese restaurant near our hotel right in the historic heart of Florence. We ate here two nights in a row and everything we had was fantastic and very reasonably priced. But the sizzling, crispy rice shrimp dish was truly unbelievable. We have had the sizzling crispy rice in soup but this was in a shrimp dish and we were fighting over the chunks of tasty, crispy rice. Check it out; just down the street from the Medici Chapel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother...”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Had just gotten back from Cinque Terre and I was craving me some plain old white rice. So we walked around and found Peking Restaurant and satisfy my craving. It was late so decided to order 2 items, we ordered Pork with Chinese Vegetable that tasted a bit to vinegary and the vegetable was not recognizable. I'm thinking maybe some kind of picked vegetable in a jar that you'd find in a Chinatown. Our second dish was "Chinese Style Fried Chicken" - so I thought! It was heavily breaded like a pancake batter. It was just that! No sauce and no flavor! At least I got my plain old white rice to fill me up and a nice cold Chinese BEER. To sum it up, BAD and will not go back. I have pictures to prove it....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Duck Ever”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We rented a flat in the building next to the Peking. We really didn't plan to eat much Chinese in Florence but the first night in the city we gave it a try because of it's location. After that, we ate there every day. Amazing that we had to go to Italy to find the best Chinese food we've ever had. Our kids still talk about the duck and the spring rolls.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leetonia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peking also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Peking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing