We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect City Break, Perfect Location”
Review of Al Canto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Canto
Ranked #122 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We arrived in Florence at the start of a short period of fairly high temperatures - between 34 and 38 degrees - which lasted throughout our three night stay. After a day of walking in the city, Al Canto was the perfect oasis to which to return. We would not have enjoyed a location in the city itself - at the end of the tourist day, it was delightful to hop on a bus and head out to the suburbs. We were so happy with our room - the green room - spacious, immaculately clean, cool, thick walls, thoughtfully decorated and the added bonus of A/C. Breakfast of juice, cereals, yogurts, breads and fresh fruits were perfectly adequate. Nick's restaurant recommendations were excellent, especially lunch at the Gozzi Sergio. We enjoyed our evening strolls to the friendly Casa Matta for dinner and on our final morning made an early dash into the Mercato Centrale for cheese, olive oil, truffles, limoncello, etc. Certainly one of the very best B&Bs we've had the pleasure to stay at.

Room Tip: We loved returning home each afternoon to the coolness (both in terms of decor and temperature!) of...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Al Canto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 142 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed at the Al Canto B & B for 3 nights 22-24 May 2014. What a find! Linda and her son Nick were really welcoming nothing was too much trouble. As Linda is an Art Historian her knowledge of Florence and where to go and what to see is immense. Room was lovely my son was really impressed loved the rustic feel, the on suite was fabulous totally modern and best of all lots and lots of towels. We had come to Italy for my nephews wedding in Cortuna but would have loved to stay longer at Al Canto. Took the bus into Florence and ate at the restaurant Linda and Nick recommended (more on that later). Thanks to Linda we did not have to do a lot of queuing for the sights we wanted to see, she had made reservations for us at the Uffizi and gave us a great tip about going to see David. Loved the B& B loved Florence will be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms are round a courtyard ours was great.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My daughter and I got back home yesterday from a lovely three nights at the Al Canto and I feel compelled to write my first review on Tripadvisor. We usually holiday in 4 or 5 star properties so this was a bit of a gamble for us. Al Canto is a bit out of the city centre, but easily reachable on the 14 or 14A bus to Via Della Ripa, with the 5 minute walk down the Via Aretina you will be there between 20 - 30 minutes depending on where you get on the bus, and there are several buses an hour.

Linda and son Nic were lovely, nothing was too much trouble. At breakfast Linda would be giving everyone a history lesson of sites to see and also if anyone mentioned visiting anywhere or a restaurant they would like to eat in, she would pop off to either try and make a reservation or pull off information from the computer. We really enjoyed sitting in the kitchen having breakfast each morning with the other guests where everyone would chat about their day (you would not get this in any big hotel where everyone keeps to themselves). The en-suite rooms were all very spacious, yes the furniture was 'rustic', but it fitted the design and feel of the house. There was also free wifi which was a great bonus. We would definitely come back to Al Canto if we were coming back to Florence. A great tip for Florence is that they have a free wifi in the city centre which you could regularly pick up but could be a bit hit and miss depending on location. We used this to get onto tripadvisor to look at restaurant reviews.

Hello to Peter and Antoinetta, we really enjoyed meeting you and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Many thanks Linda, Nic and other son Ryan who we met on the last night, we didn't want to come home!

Room Tip: Rooms overlook a courtyard and there are a variety of types, we had a twin but we also saw a double...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda271191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Al Canto is a family-run B&B just a short and easy bus ride from the heart of Florence. It not only has wonderful rooms (all giving out on to a central courtyard) with every amenity, but the atmosphere is warm and friendly. Linda, an art historian who has lived in Florence for over twenty years, is a gold mine of information as well as a delightful hostess. Whatever you plan to do while in Florence, Linda and her two sons can assist you in making arrangements. This is the perfect place to use as a base to visit Tuscany and beyond, particularly as you will immediately feel at home there.
The rooms are tastefully decorated in keeping with the spirit of the ancient building on which the present structure stands. Most rooms can easily accommodate parents and children, and special rates are available. Better value for money would be difficult to find.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KateGoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

First, full disclosure. I met the owner of El Canto 30 years ago while working in Europe. She was great then and is great now.

This is a wonderful small B & B about 15-20 minutes from downtown Florence. It is built on an old Roman foundation with walls from the middle ages. It has been completely redone and is modern. The rooms are large, airy, and well maintained.

Having said all of the above, the best thing about Al Canto is the owner, Linda. An art historian of some note, she seemingly knows every site worth seeing in Florence and for that matter, every restaurant worth eating at. On top of this, she is a really wonderful, cheery person who is happy to assist in every way possible. She made my stay absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: They all face the court yard.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank steveboces1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great BNB, all was perfect and very clean, Nico and his lovely family are more than kind. Perfect location.
We also had good advises to visit Florence.
I m really looking to come back again very for sure...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Copinette_Fadinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I came for two nights and stayed for two weeks! This delightful B&B is a short and very convenient bus ride from the city center, yet provides the tourist with an oasis of calm after a frantic day of sightseeing. The rooms are cozy, well equipped and immaculate. The breakfast was always first rate. If one is traveling with family cooking facilities are readily available.

As others have noted, however, the best features of this B&B are Linda and her two sons, Nick and Ryan. This is an extremely warm and friendly family. The two boys are lively and helpful young men. Linda is a professional art historian and tour guide whose suggestions as to what to do, see, and where to eat are invaluable in making your stay memorable.

Room Tip: There are five bedrooms each with access to a very pleasant inner courtyard. Upstairs are five apart...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
6.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ambrosina
Hotel Villa Ambrosina
#1 of 1 in Tavarnuzze
189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Italiana Hotels Florence
Italiana Hotels Florence
#171 of 411 in Florence
1,058 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa La Massa
Villa La Massa
#1 of 1 in Candeli
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rovezzano Bed & Breakfast
Rovezzano Bed & Breakfast
#118 of 656 in Florence
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palazzo Lombardo
Palazzo Lombardo
#156 of 656 in Florence
152 reviews
4.3 mi away
Il Grillo di Firenze
Il Grillo di Firenze
#13 of 656 in Florence
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Canto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Canto

Address: Via Aretina 340, 50136, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $95 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Al Canto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing