We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Al Canto
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Olmi Firenze(Bagno a Ripoli)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Morghen(Settignano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gavinana(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
106
36
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
36
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart historianprivate courtyardbuy bus ticketsb ba short bus ridemuseum ticketsour night staycontinental breakfastplace to stayfacilitiesgalleryaccommodationsuffizi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 149 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My daughter and I got back home yesterday from a lovely three nights at the Al Canto and I feel compelled to write my first review on Tripadvisor. We usually holiday in 4 or 5 star properties so this was a bit of a gamble for us. Al Canto is a bit out of the city centre, but easily reachable on the 14 or 14A bus to Via Della Ripa, with the 5 minute walk down the Via Aretina you will be there between 20 - 30 minutes depending on where you get on the bus, and there are several buses an hour.

Linda and son Nic were lovely, nothing was too much trouble. At breakfast Linda would be giving everyone a history lesson of sites to see and also if anyone mentioned visiting anywhere or a restaurant they would like to eat in, she would pop off to either try and make a reservation or pull off information from the computer. We really enjoyed sitting in the kitchen having breakfast each morning with the other guests where everyone would chat about their day (you would not get this in any big hotel where everyone keeps to themselves). The en-suite rooms were all very spacious, yes the furniture was 'rustic', but it fitted the design and feel of the house. There was also free wifi which was a great bonus. We would definitely come back to Al Canto if we were coming back to Florence. A great tip for Florence is that they have a free wifi in the city centre which you could regularly pick up but could be a bit hit and miss depending on location. We used this to get onto tripadvisor to look at restaurant reviews.

Hello to Peter and Antoinetta, we really enjoyed meeting you and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Many thanks Linda, Nic and other son Ryan who we met on the last night, we didn't want to come home!

Room Tip: Rooms overlook a courtyard and there are a variety of types, we had a twin but we also saw a double and a family room double and single, all were of an excellent size.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda271191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Al Canto is a family-run B&B just a short and easy bus ride from the heart of Florence. It not only has wonderful rooms (all giving out on to a central courtyard) with every amenity, but the atmosphere is warm and friendly. Linda, an art historian who has lived in Florence for over twenty years, is a gold mine of information as well as a delightful hostess. Whatever you plan to do while in Florence, Linda and her two sons can assist you in making arrangements. This is the perfect place to use as a base to visit Tuscany and beyond, particularly as you will immediately feel at home there.
The rooms are tastefully decorated in keeping with the spirit of the ancient building on which the present structure stands. Most rooms can easily accommodate parents and children, and special rates are available. Better value for money would be difficult to find.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KateGoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

First, full disclosure. I met the owner of El Canto 30 years ago while working in Europe. She was great then and is great now.

This is a wonderful small B & B about 15-20 minutes from downtown Florence. It is built on an old Roman foundation with walls from the middle ages. It has been completely redone and is modern. The rooms are large, airy, and well maintained.

Having said all of the above, the best thing about Al Canto is the owner, Linda. An art historian of some note, she seemingly knows every site worth seeing in Florence and for that matter, every restaurant worth eating at. On top of this, she is a really wonderful, cheery person who is happy to assist in every way possible. She made my stay absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: They all face the court yard.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank steveboces1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great BNB, all was perfect and very clean, Nico and his lovely family are more than kind. Perfect location.
We also had good advises to visit Florence.
I m really looking to come back again very for sure...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Copinette_Fadinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I came for two nights and stayed for two weeks! This delightful B&B is a short and very convenient bus ride from the city center, yet provides the tourist with an oasis of calm after a frantic day of sightseeing. The rooms are cozy, well equipped and immaculate. The breakfast was always first rate. If one is traveling with family cooking facilities are readily available.

As others have noted, however, the best features of this B&B are Linda and her two sons, Nick and Ryan. This is an extremely warm and friendly family. The two boys are lively and helpful young men. Linda is a professional art historian and tour guide whose suggestions as to what to do, see, and where to eat are invaluable in making your stay memorable.

Room Tip: There are five bedrooms each with access to a very pleasant inner courtyard. Upstairs are five apartments, some available for longer stays.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews