We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK stay, great location.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Le Stanze del Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Le Stanze del Duomo
Ranked #33 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OK stay, great location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The good: excellent location, centrally located for the area; reasonably priced; spacious clean room, the free fruit and tea/coffee in room is a nice touch.
The bad: the A/C cannot keep up as it only turns on only when you come back to your room and put your key in the slot on the wall. The refrigerator is pretty much useless as it does not keep items cold - that one must have its own circuit as it stays on but still does not get below slightly cool temperature setting. My milk spoiled after one day which was a bummer. Also the Internet worked in our room but only near the door and it was slow. The bathroom is OK, not sure why one would put a rain shower in such a cramped place - my hair got wet each time even if I did not want for them to.
The ugly: you get a breakfast ticket for a bar conveniently located nearby the B&B but the breakfast you get is truly not good. you can get a sandwich, pastry and a coffee ( with some substitutions) but the pastries are not good compared to other places and i do not know how this place manages to have such a bad coffee but it does. every day we would buy coffee all over town and it was always good so i simply do not get it. We kept trying various items but we just could not make it work. The owner is super friendly and seems really nice but the pastries and coffee is not good. We ended up going to another coffee place and just having some cold cuts from the grocery store for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EwaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    186
    41
    12
    7
See reviews for
136
278
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My Husband and I spent one night at Le Stanze del Duomo in May 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were in the first room on the left when you came in and it was spacious, over looking the street with a view of the baptistry down the way. We felt the room was clean and up to date and particularly enjoyed sitting with the window over looking the street open and watching the late-night comings and goings.

We didn't notice an noise problem in the room we stayed in, although because we were up before the sun to the Piazza Michelangelo to photograph the sunrise we missed the street sweepers and maybe the noise.

Overall I'd recommend this B&B to friends staying in Firenze.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestanzedelduomo, Responsabile reception at B&B Le Stanze del Duomo, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Jessica,
thank you so much for your nice review! It makes us extremely happy to read such nice words spent for our B&B.
We wish you would choose Le Stanze del Duomo again for your next holiday.... and looking forward to welcome you again,
Warmest regards
Federica & the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apt for two nights a few weeks ago. The apt is really nice with 1 large bedroom with an attached bathroom, but the second room is a little small and the bathroom is right opposite. However, there is a sofa cum bed/ pullout couch in the living area, so this place was perfect for 4 adults and 2 kids. It is literally a stones throw away from the duomo and a 5 minute walk from the academia. Great location!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelersIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestanzedelduomo, Responsabile reception at B&B Le Stanze del Duomo, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guests,
we would like first of all to thank you for spending your time to share your experience at Le Stanze del Duomo with other people.

Once again thank you for your kindness.

Best regards,

Federica & The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Cramped lift - The A/C wasn't working in the first room we stayed in - We were then transferred into well at first looked like a very nice room but it only took us ten minutes to realise it was falling apart. The towel rail came off the wall and hit the toilet while trying to get a towel. The hinges of the ladder were loosening and so were the hooks on the chairs. - We were then accused of something we didn't do (leaving the lift door open) twice - The sofabed was very uncomfortable - In the first room the we stayed in the view was terrible and not worth having windows there - The bath was coming apart from the wall and the plug for the bath came out and made the water in the bath not go down till I had to fix it - The staff did advise us on a good supermarket nearby called 'Conad' and were good in the way they the changed our room with no fuss at all - The Location was brilliant right next to the dome.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room nearer the top they are a bit better than the ones nearer the ground. And i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestanzedelduomo, Responsabile reception at B&B Le Stanze del Duomo, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for spending your time to write a review.

We apologize if some problems made our B&B lower than your expectations, since we always try to do our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. So when we read that we have falling apartment we feel sorry...
Besides: our guests comments, even though they are "critical" are very helpful because help us to turn our weaknesses into a best service.
We didn't accuse nobody for the lift, but to avoid any other inconvenient, we write the informations into the lift!
Yours sincerely
Federica and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights because of a recommendation from my colleagues. The room we stayed at was tiny. We cant even open our 2 luggage there. We asked for a room change but were told its all full. I asked my colleague when I was back and she told me the room she stayed at was big! Must be careful to pick the room size since they don't divide class of room by size, its by the kind of bed. Also, the air con didn't really work in our room and we couldn't sleep at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLY0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay here recently. The room we stayed in looked as though it had been newly painted and all furnishings & decor were clean & bright. Bed was comfortable, and the location was great (close to duomo & many other attractions in Florence are within walking distance)!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We really couldn't have asked for a better location. We walked all over Florence from the B&B. The breakfast location is right around the corner and the people in there were very friendly and accommodating, as we're the staff at the hotel. Do not (and you should not) expect an American style breakfast, you are in Italy. We had wonderful sandwiches, pastries and cappuccinos. They did have juices available as well. Our room was very spacious which was unexpected for being in the center of everything. It comfortably accommodated a family of four. It was also very clean. The only downside was that the lift (which we didn't use) is quite loud. As the building houses other hotels and offices we were unfortunately awakened by it around 6AM both mornings.

We did drive and called ahead regarding whether or not the hotel was located in a ZTL, or restricted zone and if we needed a permit. We were told that it was no problem. Then to our surprise it was in a restricted zone. However, when the parking service comes to pick your vehicle up they obtain the necessary authorization. Had we known that ahead of time it would have saved us a lot of stress and panic as we drove around for some time trying to avoid the zone and a hefty fine. You should also note that the hotel itself is located in a pedestrian zone so your navigation will not likely register the address. It might be helpful if the hotel would provide an accessible address to get you close. You are able to pull up within 20 meters or so of the hotel where the parking service will then take care of your vehicle. I should note too that the parking attendant was prompt and friendly. In the end it worked out just fine.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#20 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#13 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
#18 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Charme
B&B Emozioni Charme
#8 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#5 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Duomo
B&B Tourist House Ghiberti
B&B Tourist House Ghiberti
#11 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Le Stanze del Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Le Stanze del Duomo

Property: B&B Le Stanze del Duomo
Address: Via Martelli 8, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Despegar.com so you can book your B&B Le Stanze del Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing