We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, basic hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leonardo Da Vinci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leonardo Da Vinci
Ranked #356 of 421 Hotels in Florence
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great staff, basic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

I stayed here for 2 nights and was impressed - I managed to get a fantastic deal (approx 50 euros a night) and for the price I was really pleased. The staff were helpful, friendly and funny, yep the bed was a bit hard, and the breakfast basic but compared to other hotels I've stayed at in Italy it was above average. The best thing was because it is away from the main tourist drag (one of the perils of Florence in summer) it was quiet, & despite being alongside the railway track there was little external noise to be heard (not any that kept me awake and I am a really light sleeper). Ok, the area isn't the best (fairly soulless, and looks slightly intimidating) but as a lone female I had no worries at all and the walk into the centre takes less than 10 minutes. Overall if you can get a good deal (and it's worth shopping around) then I would highly recommend this hotel. Plus there are free sweeties in a bowl on the check-in desk...mmmmhhhmmm!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank localkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    145
    120
    76
    55
See reviews for
81
165
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2006

Despite the recent critics, we really liked this hotel. Upon arrival the staff were ultra efficient and gave a 5* service. They were helpful, gave great advice where to go, and were amusing to say the least! Although the staff were 5*, the hotel wasnt quite that way, although it tried its best to be. The hotel is about to under go a massive face-lift (as we were told), so I can forgive them for the little 'creases around the edges' in the rooms. The showers have been criticised, but we found them very spacious and comfortable, especially considering some of the other hotels we have stayed in in Italy!
Although the breakfast was minimal, it was typical for most hotels in Italy, and the Fish tank roof was an entertaining touch. Although there were high tables at breakfast to eat at, there were also smaller booths to sit in.
All in all I thought this hotel was extremely good value compared to many others, and the 5 minute walk to the Santa Maria Novella Station made it easily accessible to the main sites and museums.
My ownly complaint would be the car park charges that I didnt know about or were told about when I checked in.

  • Liked — Funny, helpful and charming staff
  • Disliked — The small faults in the rooms, eg small stain on carpet, wrong european plug size
  • Tips/Secrets — worth the 5 minute walk to save a few/many euros per night
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank Kevin&Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2006

Dear Readers,

Kindly take note if u need internet access during your travel/holidays. The hotel mentioned there is a WI/FI access but it not working and in the room there is a cable connection and it is not working. FYI, the hotel does not provide internet cable. You need to buy. Therefore, they would like you to pay for their internet service for Euro 2.00 for 15min at hotel lobby. Thanks u & hope u enjoy your stay with this hotel.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank beng2ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kalgoorlie, Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2006

The Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel is an ultra modern, chic hotel 10-15 minutes walk from the city center. The rooms are quite large on a European scale and are well maintained. You are close enough to the train station to not need a taxi, however we opted for a few late at night. The breakfasts were simple, just cereal and breads, but it is included in the price. The only downside was the fact that it is right on the train line. (you can see them from the window) It was quite noisy, but the trains stop running at midnight. I do think that next time we will opt for a more central location but overall a new, modern and clean hotel for a low price.

Helpful?
9 Thank OzDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2006

This is an ultra-modernist sculpture, to the point of brutalism, consisting of a set of rooms that a group of well-meaning and hard working staff are trying to convince the rest of us that this is a hotel. The single room I had was very small, consisting of a bed with just enough space to walk around the bed. The TV was small. The bathroom was a reasonable size but straight from a Bauhaus nightmare. I kept thinking of a character on Saturday Night Live created by Mike Meyers, called Deiter. He was the host of an ultra-modern talk show and always ended the show with: "And now is the time on Sprokets when we dance." Deiter would love this hotel until he fell in the shower. The shower surface was a dark slate. It was impossible to see where the wall ends and the floor begins. The bathrooms were obviously remodeled to include some basic safety features, such as a string to pull after you fall. It's going to be hard to pull the string after falling on the floor unconscious or paralyzed. There were no guard rails in the shower. The steps down to the breakfast room were also an accident waiting to happen: more black slate steps with no hand rails. This building would not meet the construction code standards in the US. On the positive side, the room was clean, the shower was hot and the air conditioning worked well. The breakfast was adequate. I don't understand why it is so difficult to make plain American coffee. Somehow I do it every day with simple equipment and no culinary training. The bar stools in the breakfast room are another testament to bad design. In contrast to other reviews, I found the staff to be friendly and available. The hotel location is not the best. It is on the outskirts of the hotels that cluster near the main attractions. However, it is within walking distance of the train station, museums and restaurants. I would not stay in this hotel again. The shower was just too dangerous and the hotel design is dark and unattractive. Modern architects should stay here just to experience the noxious environments they create.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2006

Good sized rooms, clean bathrooms all in a modernist design. 5min walk to the train station. The worst aspect was the breakfast, very average even for Italy. All in all not a bad choice in Florence where accom can be quite high.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cantchose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#218 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
San Marco
Athenaeum Hotel
Athenaeum Hotel
#209 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#171 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#129 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#173 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
San Lorenzo
B4 Astoria Firenze
B4 Astoria Firenze
#144 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Da Vinci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Da Vinci

Property: Leonardo Da Vinci
Address: Via Guido Monaco 12, 50100, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Da Vinci 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel , only 300 meters from the Santa Maria Novela train station is located in a modern palace on the borders of the historical center of Florence. The Exhibition Hall (Fortezza da Basso) and the Meeting Center (Palazzo dei Congressi) are a short 5 minute walk away. All the tourist, cultural and commercial attractions are only a 10-minute walk away. The hotel is easily be reached by car and offers parking by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Leonardo Da Vinci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Da Vinci Florence
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing