We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveler rating
63
178
143
87
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
178
143
87
67
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 538 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2006

Despite the recent critics, we really liked this hotel. Upon arrival the staff were ultra efficient and gave a 5* service. They were helpful, gave great advice where to go, and were amusing to say the least! Although the staff were 5*, the hotel wasnt quite that way, although it tried its best to be. The hotel is about to under go a massive face-lift (as we were told), so I can forgive them for the little 'creases around the edges' in the rooms. The showers have been criticised, but we found them very spacious and comfortable, especially considering some of the other hotels we have stayed in in Italy!
Although the breakfast was minimal, it was typical for most hotels in Italy, and the Fish tank roof was an entertaining touch. Although there were high tables at breakfast to eat at, there were also smaller booths to sit in.
All in all I thought this hotel was extremely good value compared to many others, and the 5 minute walk to the Santa Maria Novella Station made it easily accessible to the main sites and museums.
My ownly complaint would be the car park charges that I didnt know about or were told about when I checked in.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank Curiosity802717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2006

Dear Readers,

Kindly take note if u need internet access during your travel/holidays. The hotel mentioned there is a WI/FI access but it not working and in the room there is a cable connection and it is not working. FYI, the hotel does not provide internet cable. You need to buy. Therefore, they would like you to pay for their internet service for Euro 2.00 for 15min at hotel lobby. Thanks u & hope u enjoy your stay with this hotel.

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank beng2ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2006

The Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel is an ultra modern, chic hotel 10-15 minutes walk from the city center. The rooms are quite large on a European scale and are well maintained. You are close enough to the train station to not need a taxi, however we opted for a few late at night. The breakfasts were simple, just cereal and breads, but it is included in the price. The only downside was the fact that it is right on the train line. (you can see them from the window) It was quite noisy, but the trains stop running at midnight. I do think that next time we will opt for a more central location but overall a new, modern and clean hotel for a low price.

9  Thank OzDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2006

This is an ultra-modernist sculpture, to the point of brutalism, consisting of a set of rooms that a group of well-meaning and hard working staff are trying to convince the rest of us that this is a hotel. The single room I had was very small, consisting of a bed with just enough space to walk around the bed. The TV was small. The bathroom was a reasonable size but straight from a Bauhaus nightmare. I kept thinking of a character on Saturday Night Live created by Mike Meyers, called Deiter. He was the host of an ultra-modern talk show and always ended the show with: "And now is the time on Sprokets when we dance." Deiter would love this hotel until he fell in the shower. The shower surface was a dark slate. It was impossible to see where the wall ends and the floor begins. The bathrooms were obviously remodeled to include some basic safety features, such as a string to pull after you fall. It's going to be hard to pull the string after falling on the floor unconscious or paralyzed. There were no guard rails in the shower. The steps down to the breakfast room were also an accident waiting to happen: more black slate steps with no hand rails. This building would not meet the construction code standards in the US. On the positive side, the room was clean, the shower was hot and the air conditioning worked well. The breakfast was adequate. I don't understand why it is so difficult to make plain American coffee. Somehow I do it every day with simple equipment and no culinary training. The bar stools in the breakfast room are another testament to bad design. In contrast to other reviews, I found the staff to be friendly and available. The hotel location is not the best. It is on the outskirts of the hotels that cluster near the main attractions. However, it is within walking distance of the train station, museums and restaurants. I would not stay in this hotel again. The shower was just too dangerous and the hotel design is dark and unattractive. Modern architects should stay here just to experience the noxious environments they create.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2006

Good sized rooms, clean bathrooms all in a modernist design. 5min walk to the train station. The worst aspect was the breakfast, very average even for Italy. All in all not a bad choice in Florence where accom can be quite high.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cantchose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews