We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, comfy B&B, the bed part was good, the breakfast - not so much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Florence Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #216 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good, comfy B&B, the bed part was good, the breakfast - not so much”
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Old Florence Inn is a clean, comfortable B&B. Our room was very big and clean. The hotel is really close to the train station so if you're arriving or leaving by the train, you can save lots of money by just walking there instead of cabbing. Old Florence Inn feels more like a home than a hotel. Everything was great except the breakfast. We knew exactly what to expect thanks to many great reviews here so we knew we had to always go out for breakfast, and we did. There are tons of nice little cafes around. Florence is so small that the fact that this B&B wasn't right near the Duomo made little difference. So the only negatives I can think of would be the ready made breakfast on the tray and that the reception is open only until 7 pm. But everything else was excellent. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobLoblawsLawBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    75
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
78
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Fl
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Stayed here for 11 nights, also spent a week here in 2006. The location is excellent, just around the corner from the train station. An easy walk to any attraction in the city. Florio is an excellent host, very helpfull and nice. He would answer any questions we had and look things up on the internet for us. He reserved tickets for us at the Uffizi so we would not have to wait in line. The room is decorated nicely and has a small refrigerator that you can stock up with your own supplies. A breakfast tray with food, drinks and coffee is provided everyday. We asked Florio to recommend a restaurant and he sent us to what turned out to be our favorite place in Florence (Brincello). Good place to stay if your'e just staying overnight between cities or need a longtime base to travel the region. The street outside is noisy but with the window and shutter closed and the AC running it is no problem.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AU-GNV-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

This place oozes class with its fine furniture and deco. Florio(the owner) is ever so helpful and attentive towards his guests. Our room was lovely, spacious and clean with an en-suite bathroom(floor heating a bonus!), comfortable bed, fluffy towels, breakfast tray in the room ready for the next morning!
My only complaint would be the noise coming from the street and since the B&B is only on the 2nd floor there is no escaping from it day or night. Earplugs could be the solution!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cicamica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

We stayed at B&B Olde Florence Inn for 2 nights while on our honeymoon. We contacted the hotel directly to book and had a really great experience. Florio quickly replied to all my emails and was very helpful in making reservations for our museum tickets.

The hotel is located steps from the train station which is great for accessibility but means there is a lot of foot traffic by the building (meaning NOISY) if you have a room on the street side - which we did. I would definitely recommend getting a room on the courtyard side, even if it means forgoing a balcony.

We stayed in Room #1 which was more than spacious and very clean but is located directly across from the main entrance of the hotel. There was so much noise when other guests came in late at night. Between that and the street noise, we barely slept the 2 nights we were there. On the plus side, breakfast was nice, served right in the room and with plenty of options.

Thank god we love Florence as much as we did! It was worth the sleepless nights we spent there. We did have the chance to talk to other guests who LOVED the hotel...they also had rooms away from the main entrance and off the street.

The hotel staff was extremely professional and helpful in making recommendations for dinner, etc. Checking in and checking out was also simple. Overall, our experience was average. If we had had another (quieter) room, we would have loved this hotel.

  • Liked — Location, value, staff
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMR5122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2008

We were worried about hauling our luggage all around town until we turned the corner outside of the train station and there was our B&B. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They pointed us towards bus # 12 which ran us up to Michaelangelo's plaza where there was a beautiful overhead view of the city. We had a queen bed and a balcony. Very nice balcony were we ended up hanging our clothes to dry. We loved the blackout drapes, very nice for a quick nap. We were there in early July and it was very warm (90's). Air conditioning could have been cooler, but us american's expect it to be arctic. The air conditioning was better than the other cities we stayed in. Breakfast was on a tray in our room and included a couple small donuts/danish's and some pre-packaged toast (standard Italian breakfast). The room had a refridgerator that came in handy. There were a few drinks kept cold in there and we were charged 1 euro for a soda or water (which is cheaper than on the streets). Overall was a great convenient stay.

  • Liked — Location to train station and the rest of the city
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BoonetimeCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon for 2 nights. It was hard to find from the website we booked it on's instructions but it's very central to the train station and all the sights.

The rooms were ok and had a nice balcony to enjoy a bottle of wine and watch the people below at night. The only down point would be that the breakfast was rubbish. It was one of those trays with all the pre-wrapped rubbish on it which is already on a tray in the room when you check in ready for the next morning. I'd suggest just buying something from an eaterie somewhere instead.

The staff were very friendly and gave us all the information we needed about the things to do etc.

Overall it was a good room in an excellent location with nice staff - just the breakfast wasn't the best.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuba
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2008

this place was great, i could ask for a better location, just by the train station and close to all the sights in Florence.. The place was very clean and nicelly decorated, would definetally recomend it.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jaquelinepereira1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#178 of 421 in Florence
402 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#79 of 421 in Florence
1,007 reviews
San Lorenzo
Lombardi Hotel
Lombardi Hotel
#206 of 421 in Florence
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Angelica
Hotel Angelica
#186 of 421 in Florence
270 reviews
San Lorenzo
Affittacamere Alba
Affittacamere Alba
#193 of 659 in Florence
89 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#150 of 659 in Florence
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Florence Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Florence Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Old Florence Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 11, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Florence Inn Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Florence Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Florence Inn b&b
Old Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing