We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; perfect in every way!”
Review of B & B Cimatori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B & B Cimatori
Ranked #76 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

B&B Cimatori is perfectly located in the heart of everything. It was within walking distance to the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, and every other main attractions nearby. The B&B is located on the 3rd floor with high ceilings in every room. The rooms were decent sized for 2 people. Three things I always check upon entering the rooms: the plumbing, the air conditioning (during summer time), and the beds. The shower, although small but standard for Italy standard, worked very well. The very much needed air conditioning unit was the highlight. It cooled the room within minutes of turning on so we actually turned it off every time we left the room. We had a king sized bed. It was soft and comfy. We didn't get to sit down in the common room for breakfast but we did get to grab a yogurt, bread, and coffee to go. On our last day, the host allowed us to leave our bags behind and check out a little later until the cleaning person came, which was very helpful since we wanted to go to one more spot before our departure. Overall our stay was very pleasant at Cimatori.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lchu8517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 315 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

This B&B was the perfect solution for our large group: accommodating hosts, adjustable rooms, ample breakfast, and ideal location. You can walk anywhere in 10 minutes or less-- you are in the middle of everything with the glorious city right outside your window. Of course there are some late-night revelers in the street, but the windows close nicely if you don't want to listen. As the other reviews will remind you, don't book this place if you have trouble with stairs: they are steep and your bags get heavy after the first landing. Your hosts will book you reservations for dinner-- we ate across the street several times and loved it; definitely the best home-cooked meals of the whole trip. Dante's house is 40 steps away. The Bargello is 4 minutes. The Duomo is 6 minutes. The Uffizi is 10 minutes. You can't get closer to authentic Florence than this!

Room Tip: There are a few rooms on the first floor (second floor in the U.S.), if you can't do all the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Advantages: Clean large room. Centrally located. We booked asking for two beds for two people and got a big room with one queen and one twin room with a little cabaret table with two chairs. Late, when we returned to the room, I discovered that the small bed didn't have any sheets, just the decorative cover. I slept on top of it using blankets from the closet.
The next day, the room was made up but still no sheets.
The noise from the street is crazy loud! The bar below drags out benches and sets up an outdoor party nightly. I sleep pretty hard and yet I struggled to keep down at this location. The view is pretty poor with another building just an ally away.
Breakfast is fine. Coffee, bread, yogurt, fruit and juice was served family style with the other guests at one big table.
I was sent a survey from the hotel about a week after the stay. I stated by trouble with the sheets and noise. I was shocked to get back a rudely written note in response.
I wouldn't stay there again, I slept too poorly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madison55302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cimatori, Owner at B & B Cimatori, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

This is the answer I wrote and I didn't think to have been rude . )'m sorry ,maybe that's because my english (i'm italian) .

This is what I wrote :
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at the Cimatori because it helps to do better our job.

I'm sorry about the bed linen . I just checked your confirmation and I realize that we gave you a king size bedroom instead of a twin bedroom , as per your request. . The room where you stayed can accommodate up to 3 people so there is a 3rd bed in case of 3 people but the bed where you sleep was not prepared to sleep because we prepare the room with a king size bed for 2 people and not a king size bed plus a single bed.
I'm sorry for the misunderstanding because if you let us know about the mistake during your stay we could provide immediately to prepare the 3rd bed.

About the noise, I'm sorry but we are in the heart of Firenze and also if we are in the pedestrian are and we have the double glazes , on Saturday night much more people then usually , enjoy the city centre.

I'm sorry also because we clean your room when you asked us to not do it; maybe you told it to the housekeeping and on May the 18th, I just check, there was Dyna to clean the room, who doesn't speaks English .
It has been our greatest pleasure to host you and we truly hope that our paths will cross again so we will have the opportunity to let you change your mind about the Cimatori B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at Cimatori our last night in Italy. We were asked to arrive before 2 PM, which we did, to assure that the staff would be there. Check-in was handled by a charming lady - good English skills and very helpful. Rooms were large, bed was somewhat hard (but they are everywhere in Italy, it seems), and bathroom up-to-date and clean. Rates are reasonable. We had to leave by 5 AM the following morning to catch a flight - so no opinion on the breakfast. BUT the staff member did call the taxi service to book us a taxi, and her assurance that a taxi WOULD indeed arrive at 5 am proved to be absolutely true. Hotel is nicely located but it is on a square with two restaurants and a bar directly opposite. If you have a room with a window overlooking the square, it could be a little noisy. I had a room with a window that opened onto a different side street, and didn't have much trouble. There is no elevator--so you'll get good exercise. The WIFI computer in the breakfast room worked fine. And they seemed to have a lot of books available for the rainy day when you might just want to read. I would stay here again, absolutely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not overlook the square with two restaurants and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Located in the heart of Florence but on a slightly quieter side-street, this place is terrific. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable. Typically hard Italian beds, but two pillows. Very able and friendly staff!!! Reasonable rates. There is a very good restaurant just a few steps away. Be prepared for the usual night noise, which can be muffled some by the very good windows and the air conditioner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

http://www.cimatori.it/
Cimatori Bed and Breakfast is a perfectly located and charming B&B. Although there are a few stairs (45- you have been warned) it is worth the exercise. It is located within, literally, minutes of anything you want to see in Florence. Very nicely appointed rooms, a wonderful breakfast each morning with rolls, cereals, yogurts, juice, coffee, cappuccino, tea- beautifully served in a spacious dining room which is accessible to guests for after dinner or late night coffees. Also a computer and free wifi to stay in touch.
Domenico & Valaria are helpful and gracious hosts. They will map out your trips, call your taxis- anything to make your stay a wonderful experience.
You have everything you need within steps- a market, a number of very nice restaurants, fresh produce, paninis, etc.
The Duomo, Piazza della Repubblica, Piazza della Signoria, leather markets- all just moments away.
Meraviglioso!

Room Tip: Florence is a city that rarely sleeps and can be somewhat noisy at night. Check on room location in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Booking cancellation just because they suddenly decided not to accept specific credit card (although it's given as a payment option!), and not even possibility to pay with a bank transfer or another card.

Dear Cimatori, in a normal and friendly hotels or b&b would be offered other payment possibility BEFORE cancellation, just as a kind of respect to a guest (or at least answer on a email).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank marija s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cimatori, Owner at B & B Cimatori, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013
Google Translation

Sono dispiaciuto perché c'è stato un malinteso. La signora ha prenotato tramite Booking.com con una american express che sfortunatamente non possiamo accettare. Booking.com ha contattato la signora chiedendo di prenotare con una Visa o MasterCard. Successivamente Booking.com ci ha contattati chiedendo di accettare la cancellazione senza applicare alcuna cancellation policy perché il cliente non poteva fornire una carta diversa . Noi abbiamo acconsentito. Non abbiamo mai ricevuto alcuna mail da parte del cliente alla quale poter rispondere. Sono molto dispiaciuto che la sig.ra non abbia potuto godere della nostra ospitalità e spero di cuore che se in futuro tornerà a Firenze ci dia l'opportunità di farci conoscere . Sarà la benvenuta se durante il suo soggiorno ci passerà a salutare e magari prendere un caffè insieme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#11 of 659 in Florence
496 reviews
Uffizi
Bed and Breakfast Galileo 2000
Duomo
Il Bargello B&B
Il Bargello B&B
#82 of 659 in Florence
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
#32 of 659 in Florence
383 reviews
Piccolo Principe B&B
#44 of 659 in Florence
314 reviews
Duomo
Casa Rovai Guest House
Casa Rovai Guest House
#94 of 659 in Florence
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Cimatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Cimatori

Address: Via Dante Alighieri 14, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $93 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — B & B Cimatori 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cimatori Bed and Breakfast is an hidden gem in the heart of Florence right next to the Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio in Florence’s famous Piazza della Signoria and the Uffizi Gallery. Cimatori Bed and Breakfast is on the second floor of an historic building and it takes its name from the medieval square inwhich it is located.All major attractions are within a few minutes walking to make you feel right at home surrounded by the magic and romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your B & B Cimatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Cimatori
b & b Cimatori Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing