We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveler rating
163
273
92
30
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
273
92
30
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the train stationfamous paintingsformer monasterybedroom doorconvenient locationwalking distancewould stay here againsmall hotelquiet streetdowntown florenceair conditionerexcellent locationtwo blockssmall roomcharming hotelfree breakfastpiazza della signoria
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 566 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just a few steps from the railway station, not much further to central Florence, we found the hotel well located, accessible and very comfortable. Facilities were as expected, clean, comfortable and above all safe and secure.

Room Tip: Simply reserve early to obtain a good room, though we suspect all rooms are of equal quality.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is located centrally in Florence with easy access to the main attractions. It is located close to the train station, so it is relatively easy to get the luggage to the hotel.

Pros:
Convenient Location
Good breakfast – pastries, cold cuts, cereals, juices + you can order freshly made espresso coffee
Free in-room wifi
Good services from the front desk
The room and the bathroom is clean

Cons:
The bed is a little harder compared to the other hotels
Noises from the traffic – you can hear the traffic from the streets below, but you can mask the noises once you turn the air-conditioning (or furnace) on
The shower in the bathroom is a little small (I am 5’5” and I just barely fit into the shower)

Overall this is a pretty good hotel and I love the location it is in. I got a pretty good deal on the rate, so I am giving it a 4 stars. If not for the special rate, I would probably give it a 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirius_Padfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you arrive in Florence by train then the position of Vasari Palace is hard to beat.
The centre with all of its attractions is only 15 minutes walk and restaurants abound.
The hotel is a little tired but clean and pleasant enough.
The reception staff are outstanding, with nothing to much trouble.
The only down side for me was the noise from the road outside, weekends are particularly bad and sleep was difficult. Double glazing would help but may not be in keeping with the originality of the old hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear away from the roads are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at the Vasari Palace for two nights in mid-April. The hotel is about a five-minute walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station, but is well removed from the attendant hustle and bustle, fast-food outlets, etc. However, the street on which it is located is open to vehicular traffic, which could pose a noise problem for street-facing rooms. (I was given a room facing an interior courtyard, which proved to be quite tranquil.) The doors of the rooms feature rather arresting life-size portraits of 17th- / 18th-century aristocratic ladies. Room decor was spartan and somewhat old-fashioned, although the bathroom and its fixtures were modern. It did not appear that my room was equipped with air conditioning, which could be an issue in warmer weather. Front-desk staff was always courteous and hospitable. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martymorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Like other reviewers, we thought that with such unbeatable rates in a city like Florence, we could not expect much. We were pleasantly surprised for the two nights we stayed. The hotel is comfortable, in an excellent location - 5 minutes from the railroad station and within walking distance of all the sights of Florence. A nice breakfast is served each morning and the staff is helpful and welcoming. While the rooms are more or less no frills, and the bathrooms rather small, the beds were comfortable and we slept very well. The hotel well serves its purpose as a pleasant place to sleep after enjoying the pleasures of Florence during the day. (One does not come to Florence to stay in a hotel room.) The value for the money is excellent. I would come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2011NewYorkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews