We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfy retreat in the middle of busy Florence”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #57 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet comfy retreat in the middle of busy Florence”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

I stayed at Hotel Europa for 4 days, after my first night in a more expensive hotel which was way too noisy and lacked character, we were really glad to change hotels to Europa. This honestly is the best total experience hotel wise I have ever had in a a major european city, considering location, price and quality of the people who run it. You cannott overlook that aspect. Clean rooms, quiet, comfortable and close to everything. Great free wifi and coffee too. Miriam at the front desk was so nice and sincere and really wants everyone to have a good time in the city and helps you get around a busy tourist city with the most patience imaginable. I am a an American who grew up in NY, lived in Boston, New Orleans and now reside in California, so I am a total mutt. I have traveled all over the world, and know how hard it is to find a place that you can get some rest, while at the same time be near everything, and have a cool view as well. Man, that is a rarity. I had friends I was meeting in Florence
who stayed at a hotel closer to the Duomo, which was loud all night and early morning and they paid almost twice as much as me, and they complained about their expensive hotel. I hope, if you book here, you realize how lucky you are and if you do not believe me, check out other places while you are in Florence and you will see. I have never written a review before, but this hotel and the hard working people who run it are more than worth a few paragraphs of praise. Florence is a crazy, busy city, flowing with tourists, so my advice is if you have more than a backpack on, take a taxi to your hotel it will be worth it. You can get lost in the belissimo streets after you settle in. ciao!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishrover33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    321
    37
    13
    5
See reviews for
212
437
69
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

This is a very convenient hotel, with an outstandingly warm and helpful lady at the front desk. Five minutes walk from train station and walking distance from all the main sights. Surprisingy quiet for being on a main road. We got it for a very good rate as well. We had an older room and it was fine. Breakfast good as well--included cappucino and hard boiled eggs.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeirutMoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland-Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

My husband and I had a fantastic five nights at the Hotel Europa with hosts Miriam and Robert this February 2009. Everything was just perfect! From emails and telephone calls prior to arriving, plus our stay, everything went smoothly. Nothing was too much trouble. The location could not be bettered - I wrote postcards listening to the bells and looking at the Duomo! The room was great - everything we needed - plus more. All was spotless. The free wireless internet was also a great help whilst travelling. Breakfast was lovely in the traditional character dining room. Any time we wanted, Miriam or Robert would make us cappucino! We even got the tiny ironwork lift sorted in the end! It worked perfectly always, but was small with two people and luggage - not a problem - just added to the charm! All the tourist locations were within walking distance and very easy to navigate - with the help of maps and directions from our wonderful hosts. Miriam recommended a shopping tour and a Tuscany tour to us - we did both - and they were great!!! To sum up, this has to be the best place to stay in Florence. Just do hope we get a chance to return - would not consider staying anywhere else in Florence!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyssia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itlay
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Hotel Europa provided a great place for our adventure in FIrenze. Miriam and Robert called restaurants and checked on opening and closing times for us. The hotel is very close to the Duomo so we were able to come back to the room during the late afternoon to rest up for the evening.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We loved it here. When we first arrived, we were greeted with a smile. We were told our room was down stairs and we were disappointed to hear that after we had just taken our heavy bags upstairs to the front desk. But, then we saw our room. It was huge and had a great view! We could see the Duomo and hear the church bells from our room. Even the bathroom was pretty big, for Europe. We got to stay in a suite even though we had booked a basic room, but we didn't ask any questions of course. We stayed happily in that big room! We also felt safe there.
So, on our last day in Firenze, we got to the train station, and bought our train tickets to Venezia or should I say, Venice. We ended up missing that train because the time had changed and we didn't know it. In the U.S, our time changes in Spring earlier now. In Italy they do it later and we had no idea the time had moved forward by an hour.
We had checked out of the hotel an hour late! We had no idea because they are so nice that they didn't even complain about it. No one called up to our room 10 times, no one said a word at the front desk. We were not even charged for checking out late! We were walking around completely oblivious to the time change because the people who run the Hotel Europa were so gracious and wonderful. By the way, the train situation worked out. We were able to exchange the tickets for a later time with no questions asked.
So, if I had to find something we didn't like, it was that if you put the water on in the shower on high power, the bottom of the shower would fill up. But, really, who cares? If you are going to Italy to spend hours in the shower, then I don't know what to tell you. It was a great hotel and we would definitely stay again if we ever get the chance.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinfromcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Traveling with our two teenage daughters & needed three beds to keep the peace. Hotel Europa fit the bill with a big, clean, quiet room. Staff was very friendly & helpful. When you walk out the door, you have to walk about half a block before you feel surrounded by tourists, which was nice & made for easy access by taxi when we left for the train station.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2009

The Hotel Europa is a fantastic, family run, friendly hotel close to the center of Firenze. Miriam and her family made us feel completely welcome and we had an absolutely wonderful stay there. In fact we loved it so much that we changed our travel plans and returned a few weeks later to stay at this hotel again.
This is my new “home” in Firenze and we were treated like old friends. I will be back to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneintrepidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#40 of 412 in Florence
2,719 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#50 of 412 in Florence
871 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#32 of 412 in Florence
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#48 of 412 in Florence
331 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 412 in Florence
1,766 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#42 of 412 in Florence
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing