We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Central to most sights in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #54 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Central to most sights in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

In Florence, we stayed at the Hotel Europa on Via Cavour, located walking distance between San Marco Plaza / Academmia with statue of David to the north, and the Duomo and Uffizi museum to the south. We boarded a 4’ by 4’ old cage elevator (two passengers and two suitcases can just squeeze in) to reception on the second floor, where we met the owner, Miriam. She and her husband Robert are the most pleasant of hosts, fluent in several languages, informative regarding the city sights, and ensuring our stay in Florence would be one to remember. Our room was small but adequate, with a window opening to a courtyard and a view of the Basilica Dome, and set back away from the traffic noise of the busy street. Breakfast is included and provided by Miriam and two assistants, with delicious coffee brewed from an espresso machine. It was Miriam who insisted that we make time to walk past the Uffizi and across the river bridge to the Michelangelo Plaza, a high point with a beautiful view of the entire Florence skyline. Our stay WAS one to remember.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2009Benjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    312
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
200
416
62
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our flight arrived pretty late and Miriam was so nice about waiting around for us. She even showed us around our room and show us sites on a map. Her and her charming hotel helped make our trip to Florence wonderful. Our room was huge and our private balcony had a grand view of the garden courtyard and the duomo. We spent most of our time in on room on the homey balcony. The hotel is just a couple blocks from el duomo, but it is pretty easy to walk to everything anyway since Florence is a pretty small city. The breakfast is complimentary, the espresso was clutch for all of the serious site-seeing. I will stay here on my next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KelleyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Located close to central train station and short walk to all major historic sites. Extremely helpful and courteous staff provide a great breakfast spread. Rooms were ample and the A/C worked flawlessly. Best restaurant, Firenze Barbeque and Bar, just across the street serves a fantastic array of Mediterranean dishes as well as an impressive list of health drinks. Quaint but tiny elevator helps to get luggage to your floor. Loved our stay and recommend it highly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RCT63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed at the Europa for 3 nights in October 2013, whilst on a business trip. I was so pleased and lucky to stay at the hotel. The Europa is located right in the centre of the city, but I didn't here any street noise from my spotless, spacious and well appointed room. I had a double with an inward looking courtyard balcony. The balcony was a great little place to sit and drink coffee in the morning, surrounded by wonderful pot plants, citrus fruit and pepper plants. Breakfast is excellent and the staff, Robert (Roberto) and Miriam do their utmost to make you feel welcome and at home. I can honestly say that this hotel is the best 2* hotel I have ever stayed in. I often stay in 3* & 4* hotels in major cities that don't come close to the level of service you receive at the Europa. I will be re-visiting Florence in the spring with my wife and 4 kids, and I will look no further than this hotel. Book with confidence.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I first stayed here in 2006. We decided to stay in one of the newly renovated suites, and we were not disappointed in the least. We returned to Italy this summer with our daughters. We stayed in suite 39. The 2 rooms were huge with a mosaic ceiling. Lots of space to relax and spread out (when we were actually in the room). The only draw back to this suite is that it faces rue Cavour so there is traffic noise, although again we did not spend a lot of time in the room. At breakfast Miriam is always there to greet you by name and she makes an excellent cappuccino! The location is within easy walking distance to all of the major historic sites. This is our second stay and we will stay again on our next trip.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Whereismypassport06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, USA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

You feel part of the family at this hotel that has been run by the same family for 44 years. Miriam and Robert were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. The location is excellent about halfway between the duomo and the Accademia and within walking distance to the train station. Also, a Medici palace is location almost right across the street. Rooms look into an interior court, which means no view, but that's fine in this part of town which is very dense. Good value, particularly if you pay cash to get the 10% discount.

Room Tip: the hotel is on the 2nd floor (3rd floor American) and there is an elevator, but within the hotel so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

It was our first stay in Italy.This a great small hotel. Miriam and Robert are the perfect hosts. They were very helpful and the family room was beautiful and roomy. Would stay with them again. They're walking close all attractions.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,409 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,624 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#23 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,080 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing