We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-Run hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Europa
Ranked #64 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

You feel part of the family at this hotel that has been run by the same family for 44 years. Miriam and Robert were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. The location is excellent about halfway between the duomo and the Accademia and within walking distance to the train station. Also, a Medici palace is location almost right across the street. Rooms look into an interior court, which means no view, but that's fine in this part of town which is very dense. Good value, particularly if you pay cash to get the 10% discount.

Room Tip: the hotel is on the 2nd floor (3rd floor American) and there is an elevator, but within the hotel so...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Europa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was our first stay in Italy.This a great small hotel. Miriam and Robert are the perfect hosts. They were very helpful and the family room was beautiful and roomy. Would stay with them again. They're walking close all attractions.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What Hotel Europa lacks in modern amenities, it makes up for in charm, personality and location. Robert and Miriam were wonderful hosts. One day we asked if we could bring our take out lunch into the dining room and Miriam said of course, "this is your home!" The location is ridiculously convenient to the Duomo, Accademia and the markets. There's a nice supermarket very close by. I picked up some treats for our train ride to Venice. There's also an awesome Rotisserie place a couple of blocks away that was one of the best meals I had in Italy! The elevator is typically small but it was still bigger than the one in my hotel in Rome. Our room was also quite spacious considering the size of many of the rooms in Italy. Breakfast is typical except that they also have hard boiled eggs. Overall, we had a nice stay at the Hotel Europa. Thank you Robert and Miriam!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boriqua72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just a block away from the Duomo, we were centrally located in Florence which made it easy to walk to all of the sites. The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. This is a great value considering the location. This was the largest room on our trip throughout Italy so the added space was an added bonus and our windows opened up to a nice courtyard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Hotel Europa is a ideal location when staying in Florence. It's so close to many of the attractions in Florence, the Duomo, the academy where David is located, all the museums and churches! The rooms are nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are clean and European!! It was a quiet at night and the free breakfast is basic but has great cappuccinos! would stay here again if I ever visit Florence again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbcbwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Hotel Europa, with the gracious hosts, Miriam and Roberto--and Miriam's mother Maria--made my first trip to Florence truly unforgettable. In my travel experience, it is rare that a hotel has provided such a wonderful set of memories--but the Hotel Europa certainly did. I only stayed three nights, but during my visit Miriam, Roberto, and Maria treated me as family. I booked with the Hotel Europa because I wanted an authentic European experience--I certainly had that and will return to the Hotel Europa the next time I visit Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The perfect location in Florence. Just about two blocks from the Duomo. Hotel is part of a palace once owned by composer and pianist Franz Liszt in the 1840s and across the street from the Medici palace on Via Cavour. It's nothing fancy, and that's what I like about it ... especially the antique Otis elevator to take you the hotel's main desk.

The rooms are terrific; beds are comfortable; and bathrooms acceptable. Just keep in mind that you're staying in a building that's hundreds of years old, and that more than makes up for the standup shower and the AC that takes a while to cool off the room. It's Florence, for God's sake ... You're in the city where everything we know as modern in the West today began! Count yourself blessed!!

Everyone here is very nice and works hard to please their guests. Th only suggestion I would have for improvement regards the breakfast. It's a little sparse and a little too store-bought for my tastes, but it's only a minor quibble.

Book here without any hesitation and prepare for a great visit.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank jla3bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#57 of 411 in Florence
880 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#42 of 411 in Florence
2,758 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#30 of 411 in Florence
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#78 of 411 in Florence
1,166 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,362 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#163 of 656 in Florence
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $95 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing