We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect location in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #35 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We´ve been 2 nights in Hotel Europa in Florence las July. The first at all: it´s a 2 stars hotel. Knowing this, I have to say that it´s a very good hotel: comfortable, clean and very well located, because it´s very close to the Duomo in one side, very close to the Academia in the other side. The owners are very nice, helpful and polite people. I advice this hotel even though I think that it´s a little expensive for being a 2 stars hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PABLO I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    311
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
199
412
62
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hotel Europa is located ideally near the Accademia and the Duomo and walking distance to most of the sites tourists want to visit. The staff is warm and very helpful. Breakfast is generous. Our room was very quiet and reasonably comfortable.

Unfortunately, when we stayed, the entry way into the building had an unpleasant odor. Our room was large, but oddly laid out. The main bathroom light was on a 2 minute timer and the sensor was aimed across the entrance and did not take in the toilet or shower areas of the room. This naturally was surprising initially and fortunately, there was another light one can put on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a great location. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.
The staff was very helpful and it was nice to have breakfast included. When we arrived in Florence, it was the middle of our 2 1/2 vacation so we were in need of a laundromat. The hotel made arrangements for our laundry to be picked and washed so we did not have to sit at a laundromat for a few hours. That was a wonderful perk that was worth the extra price we payed to have it done that way. We stayed for one night on the top floor room. It was a beautiful big room but the only downfall was that the wifi did not work up there. Not a huge problem but my husband had to do some work so he just walked downstairs and did some work in the lobby. If we ever make it back to Florence we wouldn't think twice about staying there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rachdjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a quaint hotel centrally located. Just a few minutes walk to all of the major attractions. Miriam and Robert are wonderful proprietors. Breakfast is fresh and plentiful. Old world charm. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryLou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff/owners were very friendly and helpful! Our room was great with a view of the Duomo! The breakfast was excellent with a variety of choices and the rooms were air-conditioned (a must in the month of July!). I would've given it a 5 rating if it weren't for our room not getting hot water in the evenings....had to take cold shower one night; the next night they did allow us to use a vacant room to shower in. They were very apologetic though and did give us a discount for our discomfort. We had an excellent referral to this wonderful restaurant, ZaZa's.....we ate there every night! I highly recommend this hotel (and the restaurant!). You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaLovey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

And it could not have been better. 1.5 blocks from the Dome, sleeping in a building once owned by the Medici family. Great food, great company. Cooking classes, tours, the Market, safe and clean streets. Wow.
Robert and Miriam played a large part in making us feel welcome. Miriam helped in arranging tours, Robert in culinary suggestions. But being able to talk to someone interested in our travels at breakfast, or when we came in at night...the innkeepers made the Inn.
If you are looking for the Four Seasons, keep clicking. Clean rooms, breakfast and smiling faces in the morning, awesome location. I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

MIRIAM and her staff make your stay in down town FLorence a bliss. A small walk from the train station. A quiet oasi after a long day in the city of art. Good breackfast, hot shower, air conditioning, a refrigeretor in the room. The feeling of being in the time ofthe Medici Florence by the view from window. I am coming back from my fifth year. I sent here my Canedian friends, my A merican friends, all have had perfect stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the family suite , you will feel like the renaissance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giuliana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#38 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#29 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,339 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#57 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,518 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#31 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#59 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Cavour, 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing