We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ideally located to view the sites of Florance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #50 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ideally located to view the sites of Florance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Hotel reception is situated on the second floor you can either use the small open cage lift or the stairs. Miriam & Robert are really helpful and make you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door. The room was modest but very clean and tidy with a wonderful view through our opening shuttered window of the Duomo and red tiled tuscany roofs. Nice clean bathroom with shower. Continental breakfast is provided which includes fruit cocktail, bread, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, fruit tart and cereal. Whilst the hotel is of a good standard its the location of the Hotel that really stands out, it is only a couple of minutes walk to the Duomo and 3 or 4 minutes walk to Academia the museum where the Statue of The David is situated. The Ponte Veccio is only about 10 minutes walk from the Hotel and the Palace Pitta around 15 minutes walk away. There are lots of good restaurants within a few minutes walk from the Hotel. We would stay here again if we return to Florance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank speedyspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    316
    37
    13
    5
See reviews for
202
425
63
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Quiet, lovely old building with a small elevator. Great location for all the sites in central Florence. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and everyone spoke English. Breakfast was included in the price. If driving, you will need GPS because the center of Florence is a restricted driving zone. The hotel has valet parking for a fee which is very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The service at Hotel Europa is what really stood out to me. The staff here are so friendly and accommodating that I would come back just to see everyone again.
We picked the balcony room which overlooks a small private garden. This turned out to be a mistake because the garden has a pond or something that is ground zero for some of the most aggressive and cunning mosquitos I've ever encountered. I can't fault Hotel Europa for this as the garden is not their property and they can't really do anything about it. I was stupid and failed to mention the problem to anyone, instead opting to kill upwards of 15 mosquitos each day in silence (I was used to Costa Rican accommodations, where mosquitos are everywhere all the time and there's nothing to be done about it). Of course once the staff found out about it they were mortified. They gave us a little plug in repeller to keep the mosquitos at bay and that worked. They were understandably mystified that I didn't say anything sooner and just let them figure it out Sherlock-style. I guess I am the suffer-in-silence type. But in any case this scenario is apparently not normal at all and is unique to that room. They also gave us a discount for our troubles which I thought was classy.
Otherwise everything was great. The room was modest but clean and comfortable. There was light breakfast each morning and fresh coffee, and the morning news in Italian. And again the staff were just so much fun to be around that the beds could be made of nails and I would go back.

Room Tip: Avoid the balcony rooms. They are exposed to a nearby private garden that is apparently a nexus for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Robert and Miriam run this hotel and are fantastic. Both are very knowledgeable as well as english speaking. The rooms are nice and well kept.You rarely hear another person from the rooms. They are in close proximity to all the best sites. As others have commented, the smell on the first floor and stairwell is not pleasant but once you go into the actual hotel, it disappears. This is minor for what you get. They are a joy and you would not be sorry to stay here! Dennis B.

Room Tip: We switched rooms midway in our stay and highly recommend both the Superior room and superior room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at the Europa in Florence for a week. It was perfect! Miriam and Robert were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Their staff was hardworking and accomodating. The hotel offered every thing I needed, and my room was as charming as the view from its window. Its location near the center of the city made it possible for us to walk everywhere we wanted to go. I would stay there again, and I will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Europa in early spring with my family. We had four rooms all together. For most of us, it was our first time traveling to another country. But despite being thousands of miles away from home, Miriam and Robert made us feel at home. Every morning Miriam was up working on breakfast for everyone, making espressos, and giving smiles. In the evening, Robert would help us make reservations at the best restaurants in town. They also helped us with things like buying tickets to museums, arranging for transportation, and even laundry.

The hotel was exactly what we wanted! It was central to just about everything in Florence, it was clean and well taken care of, the staff genuinely cared about the guests, and it was very affordable. I absolutely would stay at Hotel Europa again.

Room Tip: Nothing specific, but you might want to request a room that's away from the main doorways that l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We only spent 2 nights at the Hotel Europa but it was a highlight during our recent trip to Italy. Miriam and her staff were very helpful and warm. It almost seemed like a home away from home. The facilities were clean and neat. The location could not have been better. It's just minutes walk from the cathedral, David and tons of shopping and eating opportunities. Thanks to the Hotel Europa!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#31 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#43 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#36 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#52 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#59 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#47 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing